We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
39
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
39
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering safari lodge dietary needs watering hole amazing experience whole team game drives martin lion accommodation bush elephants leopard meals guide knowledge tracker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 39 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2019 via mobile

Rockfig is an exceptional game lodge. The rangers and trackers were very knowledgeable and treated the animals in the wild with respect.All were welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious and varied. Accommodation luxurious and I loved the outdoor showers.I have never seen so much game at such close quarters. Some highlights were the pack of wild dogs hunting, herd of 300 buffalo, elephant close up, lion and lioness mating and a cheetah with her kill. Fantastic experiences.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank KarenGardner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

This was my fifth safari trip to South Africa, and I have now stayed at 13 different lodges over the years. All of them were amazing, but I have to say that RockFig tops them all. It is small and intimate with beautiful facilites and a top rate staff. They did an amazing job of meeting the needs of our group and the game viewing was amazing. Our guide and tracker (Almiro and Sydney) were the best. I am looking forward to planning another trip to South Africa in the next few years, and RockFig will definitley be on my itinerary. Kudos to all who made our stay there one to remember.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

We absolutely loved our stay at RockFig- from the staff, the safari guides, the rooms, the food... everything exceeded my already high expectations and created such a fantastic safari experience! I have already highly recommended the lodge to my friends and family and hope to come back again myself. We really enjoyed our safaris with Christof and Isaac- they were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all of the animals we saw. I also could not believe how fun it was when the elephants stopped by the pool! The lodge was cozy and modern, and the food was delicious and fresh. It was truly an excellent stay all around!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

This was our first visit to Southern Africa and our first Safari. Our visit to Rockfig has spoilt us for ever more. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. Martin who met us from the plane was our guide for the stay and his knowledge and experience were second to none. We managed to see the big five within 24 hours of arriving and over the 4 days saw so much wildlife it was difficult to take it all in. Along with Edwell our tracker we managed to see the Rockfig line of blue eyed leopards more than once plus others including a male next to his kill. We also saw so many more Giraffes than we could have hoped for. Every question we asked was answered in detail and we came away knowing so much more about the animals and the bush they live in. Along with bush coffees, bush breakfasts and sundowners the whole safari experience was magical.
In the lodge the standard was equally as high. The rooms are wonderfully light and airy, tastefully finished with the most comfy beds ever. Looking out into the bush, we often saw animals from the room. The shared areas are similarly tasteful and the watering hole was often visited during afternoons laying by the pool. Elephants drinking from the pool (with me in it!) was a particularly special moment.
The whole Rockfig team were excellent, always there to help, friendly and engaging providing a high level of service. There was always someone to greet us on our return wanting to know how our day had been. This was our 25th Wedding anniversary ‘big trip’ and on our last night we were surprised with the bed made up beautifully covered in flowers and our table set for private dining. It was such a special touch we won’t forget.
The food throughout the stay was plentiful and of a very high standard, far exceeding our expectations. The chefs and waiting staff were always so happy to see contented customers.
In summary we could not fault Rockfig at all and would unreservedly recommend anyone to visit. It is a place we won’t forget.
Richard & Karen

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank RShep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Rockfig for three glorious nights with friends. Martin has selected his team well....the entire experience was first class! I’ve never cried when leaving a hotel and i’ll admit I had a hard time saying goodbye to Al, Lizzy, and everyone at the lodge. You all made us feel very special and we are hopeful to visit again! Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank carolynanacortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews