We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WildLife Experience - Simbavati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WildLife Experience - Simbavati”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An awesome Destination - The Big Five in under four hours, what an awesome experience for any photographer. My clients have never experience such excellent hospitality, drives and accommodation.
We will defenitely be back and soon, we loved the simbavati experience and the professionalism of the drivers - trackers and staff....thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Julio M

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback.

Wow - the big 5 in under four hours! That is something special. Wish I was with you on your game drives.

We are glad to hear that you will be back and we are looking forward to your visit!

See you soon,

Kind regards,

Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    73
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
180
171
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I can't say enough about this wonderful lodge and all the staff who work in it. I arrived to big smiles and open arms by managers Charlie, Hayley and Ellmarie who were wonderful during my 4 night stay. My guide and tracker (Moshie and Nicholas) were absolutely amazing. Although I gave them a hard time with the lions, I was shown so many wonderful animals and have amazing photos that will last a lifetime. My tent was beautiful and rustic and had all the comforts of home. Staff were friendly and attentive and meals were delicious, breakfast and lunch especially. I loved this place and hope to return one day soon. I'll definitely bring some friends!

Room Tip: Save yourself a 6 hour drive from Johannesburg and take the 40 min flight to Hoedspruit. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 207Laurie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi 207Laurie1

Wow! Thank you so much for the great review that you have posted!

We are so glad that you had a spectacular time.

Thanks for giving our rangers a "challenge" with regards to the lions :)

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards,

Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is a very comfortable, good value, no frills safari experience. The staff was wonderful and the focus on the animals/experience was excellent. It's the perfect location to see the animals and you won't end up driving around endlessly without seeing anything - there were leopards walking around our tent! Highly recommend this if you are looking for a true safari experience in South Africa. Great for couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Georgiana S

Thank you for your great feedback! It is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great safari experience.

It must have been amazing to have a leopard right outside your tent! I am so jealous!

Thank you for promoting our lodge and we really do hope that one day you will visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards

Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great staff and well managed safari lodge. The game drive guides and trackers ( Diff and Caswell) are awesome, they made it a truly memorable experience. The guide goes out of his way to make sure you have the best experience during the game drives. We saw quite a few animals during our game drives.

The lodge itself is very clean and exceeded our expectations. It was better than the lodge we had stayed in Sabi Sands prior.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sunny W

Thank you for your great review :)

We are so glad that we were part of your great experience!

Our team works so hard to ensure that our guests are able to make memories that will last a life time and they will be so glad to read your feedback as it makes them proud to know that they are doing an outstanding job.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge.

Keep well.

Kind regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Simbavati--the staff was incredibly friendly and the luxury tent was quite comfortable. We also enjoyed the game drives immensely and saw so many animals--thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Kristen

Thanks for the feedback.

We are glad to hear that you and your boyfriend had a great trip and that you got to see the best that mother nature has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My friends and I traveled to Simbavati in early June. We flew from Jo'burg to Hoedspruit, super easy flight. We were slightly delayed getting picked up at the airport, but the staff at the airport quickly called the lodge and they sent a driver right away. The airport was truly charming felt like you were in someone's living room! We had the best driver, he was also a guide so was able to point out the first animal sightings and gave us some great tips on spotting the animals.

Let me preface this with we are not adventure travelers, my friends were concerned that we were staying somewhere rustic, so we were thrilled when we arrived! Hayley and the staff were friendly and welcoming. We quickly checked into our room and got ready for our afternoon drive. Despite the fact that it is winter, the weather was perfect, almost 80 during the day, cool at night about 50, kept all the bugs away! Our guide Christoph and tracker Daniel were amazing! They asked our group which animals we wanted to see most and made an extra effort to get us to see the requested animals. Christoph is a serious photographer, he takes a lot of the pictures on the Simbavati Facebook page, they are gorgeous, so he was great about lining up shots for us. We went out on a early morning drive as well, 5:30 a.m. wake up call was a bit tough after a long trip! We stopped for a quick snack during each of the drives, we went out 4 times in total during our 2 night stay. We were matched up with a family, they had 3 children ages 9, 11 and 14, I think they were the prefect age to enjoy this trip. We had a ton of fun on our drives!

Our room was very nice, we had a family chalet, each room had essentially 2 twins pushed together. There was an AC all unit in each room and electric blankets on each bed which came in handy! Our first night there we were visited by a hippo, which was munching and snorting right outside our room. We also had a baboon melt down, they were on our roof screeching while a leopard walked through the middle of the camp! I slept through the entire incident with ear plugs.

The food was excellent, there was a great variety. The only extras we paid for were drinks, both sodas and alcohol. The wine was very reasonably priced. At the end of the trip we were able to add tips for the staff, guide and tracker to our credit card which was super helpful!

Overall, Simbavati was everything we could have asked for, fun, relaxing, exciting!

Room Tip: We had the buffalo chalet closest to the lobby, we had the best Wi-Fi service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxgirl414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi soxgirl414

Thank you for the awesome review, it is greatly appreciated.

I cant believe that you slept through the leopard and baboons :)

I am so glad that you had a stunning trip and that all the staff at the lodge helped to give you an amazing African safari experience.

We hope that you will come and visit us again!

Kind regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable place, very respectful and cozy treatment. The food is great. The safari games are great, mainly because the guide holds a great knowlodge about places and animals, and is always willing to explain anything at anytime. Great experience overall. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Cesar C

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timbavati Private Nature Reserve hotels
3.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
201 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
364 reviews
8.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
432 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing