We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mine that tourist!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
New Mexico
1 review
“Mine that tourist!”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in Ruidoso because we were far from home and did not want to travel at night. We were happy to find a room available during the Labor Day weekend; especially since Mine That Bird was also visiting Ruidoso Downs that weekend. I knew that we would pay a premium price for the night. However, when I looked at my receipt, I was sick. The price for the room for one night was 278 dollars. Sick, there must be some mistake. The room was clean, however the coffee was bad and the faucet on the sink was very hard to turn on. The hotel was noisy, the proprietors were not personable, the breakfast was inadequate. We feel that we were ripped off!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksuesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    38
    29
    35
See reviews for
61
44
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed in Ruidoso for two nights; this was the second night. Even though it might be considered Ruidoso Downs, this motel was literally a 30 second car ride from Travelodge, where we stayed the night before, whose address is Ruidoso. This Days Inn was having roof work done, and when we checked in (late afternoon) we couldn't get to the room (it was roped off), but we knew that up front. There's a reasonably priced restaurant right next door, and when we were done with the meal we could enter our room. The room was good, except at night there was a booming sound (sounded like some machinery) and it often woke me up. We were also near the ice machine, but we shut that room's door and that problem was solved. The breakfast was fine, but nothing fancy. We weren't expecting more. The front desk apologized for the noise, and said they'd look into it. If we were staying in this area another night, I would have definitely stayed here again, but in a different room. There's ample parking. Overall, except for that booming noise, it was a good stay. This motel is very easy to find, but it's on a busy highway and if you're crossing over, it's probably better to go farther into Ruidoso Downs and turn around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 76desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed here one night. The first room they gave us looked like the carpet had not been vacuumed. There were chips and the like all over the floor. I walked back to the office and they gave us another one. I told them that the former room was filthy.

They gave us another room without any qualms, and it was an improvement but not much. The room was dark and very outdated. This is either an older property or one that was not taken care of much.

Their breakfast in the moning was pretty dismal...not up to today's standards. The people at the front desk were not really what I would call real personable.

I would definitely not recommend this one. We did get it for a cheaper price too, otherwise I would probably not have stayed there for even the single night.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruidoso Downs hotels

Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2007

What a joke! We arrived early in the afternoon so that the children in our party could go swimming, only to find out that the pool had been closed by the health department! It doesn't make you feel very good about the quality or cleanliness of the rooms, does it?

The rooms were dingy, the beds uncomfortable, and our room had a strange smell. It was a bad experience, overall. It was certainly not worth the money that we paid for the two rooms that we had booked. Stay anywhere else in Ruidoso! This place stinks. The quality level is far below what should be expected from a Days Inn.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wyattsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque Metro Area, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The pool & jacuzzi were closed by the State Inspector when we were there. We had booked that hotel specifically for the indoor pool for the kids. The TV reception was terrible. The satellite cut out every minute. The clock radio was filthy. I hated to touch it. The room had hardly any toilet paper, I had to go to the front desk to get more.

The breakfast was disappointing. The clerk was watching a movie and didn't wipe any tables, or replenish supplies. I had to ask for more waffle batter, more milk, etc. There was no bread to make toast, but there was a toaster. There was cereal, waffles & prepackaged breakfast bars and muffins. The orange juice was watery and there was no decaf coffee.

I will not stay at this Days Inn again. I had stayed at one in a different town, and was pleased, but this one was a mess.

  • Liked — On main highway, easy to find
  • Disliked — Pool & Spa closed, front desk help unhelpful
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NM_Travel_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2005

Pool & Hot Tub closed by NM Health Dept., not due to maintenance but sanitation, and had been for quite awhile. We did not know of this until check-in, though we had called the day before confirming reservations made months in advance. Satellite was a joke, movie & tv channels cut out every 2 min., could not watch anything, complained but no results. No Hot Tub, Pool or TV. Manager refunded $50 after extensive arguing, we had stayed for 3 nights. Close proximity to Race Track, Indoor Pool & Hot Tub the reasons for selecting this Hotel, we will not be back or ever give a recommendation to anyone to stay there.

Helpful?
3 Thank inchwormsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso Downs
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ruidoso Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ruidoso Downs

Property: Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
Address: 26150 Highway 70 West, Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso Downs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ruidoso Downs 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Ruidoso Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs Hotel Ruidoso Downs
Ruidoso Downs Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing