We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Ruidoso!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Ruidoso Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Ruidoso Downs
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Austin
1 review
“Great place to stay in Ruidoso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

I have no idea what the other reviewers for this hotel are talking about. My reservation was held when I arrived and the desk clerk was very helpful when I was checking in my room. The people in line in front of me did not have a reservation and they were quickly turned down for the reason that all the rooms had been booked.

The hotel staff was very friendly as well and I thought they were more than generous. Contrary to the story mentioned in the previous review, rather than seeing somebody charged double I saw somebody receive a refund for reasons I thought were absurd. The customer at the desk wanted a refund on the room because they got in a wreck in the parking lot and the hotel staff was more than happy to oblige to help accomodate the customer's stay.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Ruidoso. It has a great location near wherever you want to go in the town.

  • Liked — Location and convenience.
  • Disliked — I had no problems.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pokey_ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    43
    59
    111
See reviews for
116
83
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

Good service, good price, perfect in between type of hotel.

  • Liked — the servie
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hdhanota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

After reading two of the three reviews I was scared to stay there, but once I got there it was truly a vacation. The front desk was so helpful and the room was very clean. I plan on staying there every chance I get. Don't let the negative reviews scare you off, I had the best sleep ever!!

  • Liked — Best Service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank camaro33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

It would appear that we encountered the same individual as the reviewer on Aug. 3, 2005. We made reservations through AmeriHost (now Ramada Inn – Ruidoso Downs) in March 2006. When we arrived, we were told that our reservation had been cancelled even though we had called 3 weeks prior to our arrival and our reservation was still there. This individual went through every scenario he could think of to bilk us into paying double for a room. Each scenario was proved false because we had a copy of the reservation with us. As a result we were given a choice; pay double the amount or leave. Due to his rudeness, arrogance and refusal to honor his agreements, we chose to leave. Since it was a Saturday and everything was booked up we had to leave Ruidoso. Based on previous reviews, it appears that the proprietor of this hotel has a history of such actions. We intend to contact Ramada (and everyone else who will listen) but would like to hopefully prevent this from happening to anyone else.

  • Disliked — Being scammed by the proprietor.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make reservations at your own risk!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank US-Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruidoso Downs hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2005

Positives: friendly staff & clean room

Neutral: nice indoor pool and hot tub (pool heater was broken and the water was cold when we were there, otherwise it would have been positve)

Negative: the free breakfast. not much selection. Try the Denny's next door.

Room Price: $79.00

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2005

I made a reservation at the AmeriHost Inn in June. When I got there, they said they didn't have my reservation and there was only ONE room left. Since it was high season in Ruidoso, I took the only room they said was available so that I would have a place to stay for the night, even though it was substandard to what I had booked. The next day I went to check out and they told me that I had two charges for two rooms. I tried to explain to the manager who was not there when I checked in the night before, that I only had one room and that the clerk the night before couldn't find my reservation. I'm not sure if it was because he didn't speak and understand English well or that was just his personality, but he got very irate, yelled and said he would be charging my credit card for two rooms. The other guests who were trying to eat breakfast, were uncomfortable watching this, but it didn't deter the manager. I told him to enjoy the $100 extra I was "bilked" and that I would never stay at any of their facilities again. As we left, another guest approached me and said that the manager was way out of line and they would never stay there again, either. I called their corporate number and they told me that the manager is the only one who can credit back a charge and/or make adjustments. I think they must really need every dollar that they can get since I am in Ruidoso at least once per month and they have lost me for good. It just seems to me that these folks treat guests like cattle and have no clue as to what true hospitality is. As I said above, you get what you pay for. Spend a little extra to stay in a nice facility in Ruidoso. It's a great village, scenic and this is the first hostile person I have ever encountered there.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso Downs
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pine Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Pine Springs Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
#4 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ruidoso Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ruidoso Downs

Property: Ramada Ruidoso Downs
Address: 26141 Highway 70 West, Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso Downs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Ruidoso Downs 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Ruidoso Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ruidoso Downs Hotel Ruidoso Downs
Ruidoso Downs Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing