We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Ruidoso Downs
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Very disappointing stay! I was by myself and looking forward to a nice night, in a nice place. What a sorry example for Ramada. I took pics of the condition of the room, as it was pretty unbelievable. Dirty carpet, old dust and dirt built up in the corners. Tiles were broken or missing in the bathroom, and simply dirty. The window sill was disgusting!

Room Tip: Nothing good to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have stayed at a couple of places in Ruidoso, over the years. While not up to the Standards of hotels we stay at in major tourist destinations, the Ramada is generally clean and well-maintained. The breakfast is simple and the coffee, while plentiful is just "ok". However, the staff really works hard to make sure we have a good stay. We were constantly changing plans on the hotel, adding rooms, changing check t and check in dates, etc. Katy at the front desk worked very hard to make sure we were accommodated well. She ensured we had rates that worked within our budget. During the winter week, the hotel was slow, but was sold out by the weekend. There was a very noisy family down the hall, but after a call to the front desk...the probably was instantly solved. I must say that that is not often the case with hotels charging much more with more prestigious names on the door.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is not maintained well. Our kids swam in the pool and then sat in the hot tub. The bubbles in the hot tub were brown, so we told our kids to get out. The hallways were freezing cold and the manager on duty told us that was the owner's way of saving money. The first room we were in leaked water from the ceiling onto one of the beds. We were switched to an 'upgrade' that also leaked in the corners. Rooms were not cleaned well. Hair on the bathroom floor. When we checked out we almost slipped on the ice on the sidewalk because it was not iced. We were not given any type of credit for the water that leaked onto our clothes from the ceiling or for having to move to another room that only had one bed. The pull out bed was not comfortable. Owner/Manager was also rude.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

At one time it could have been a nice hotel but the owner does not maintain the hotel. Free breakfast was lacking, coffee tasted like water, hallways were freezing. Ceilings were crumbling and poorly patched. Bathtub and sink wouldn't drain. Beds were hard. Newspapers out of date. Ice on the sidewalk was treacherous. Owner was rude. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdhuert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Went online to check availability and rates, came up showing room available and the rate was $69.99, called the 800-number. They found the site at tripadvisor.com but according to the operator the room would now be at a rate of $130. + tax for one night to which I replied that the $130. a night rate was not acceptable as I was looking right at the $69.99 and that I wouldn't book it at the higher rate. She said that her computer system was not coming up and that she was sorry but that she could only book me for the higher rate to which I replied no thanks, I believe that maybe the managers of the Ramada would like to know that they may be wasting their advertising money on tripadvisor.com as this site was useless. The Ramada Inn is loosing customers for this place.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank gmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel was in a very convenient location since it was on the main highway and close to The Downs and car show. It was very clean, and the people were extremely nice and very helpful. I enjoyed my swim in the pool that was clean with tables and chairs around it. We took advantage of their free breakfast but I wouldn’t recommend it. I have never eaten cold pancakes (there was a microwave and toaster) or hard boiled eggs already peeled. The room was clean and the coffee was good. The next morning we went out for breakfast. Also, the ice machine was broken. Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsSonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed here Valentines weekend and nothing worked in the room. There was no heat in room. I asked the manager to adjust the room since we froze all night and I am still waiting to here from him. I have already left him 5 messages and he will not respond. I gues I paid for a room that was like sleeping in my vehicle at 27 degrees. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucasNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso Downs
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
#4 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ruidoso Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ruidoso Downs

Address: 26141 Highway 70 West, Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso Downs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Price Range: $66 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Ruidoso Downs 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Ruidoso Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ruidoso Downs Hotel Ruidoso Downs
Ruidoso Downs Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing