We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monwana Game Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
248
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitewatering holesouth africaexplained everythingwater holesafari driveswonderful experiencerain showerprivate deckcooked breakfasthot water bottlesthe reservehigh teaother guestsexceeded our expectationsevery mealthree days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 254 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Accomodations are indivdual structures. Each has a personal style and unique features. For example, ours included a veiw of a watering hole where giraffes and rhinos would come and take water! Each of the three we used were outstanding.
The size of the facility meant a very personal experience for every guest from individually prepared and high quality food to personalized rides. Those trail rides were exciting, comprehensive and memorable. The team of Chewy and Conwright were first-class.
I can recommend this structure and the management team without any reservation or qualification. FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY. BPO

Room Tip: N/A. The accomodations are indivdual structures. Each has a personal style and unique features. For example, ours included a view of a watering hole where giraffes and rhinos would come and take water! We used two and visited another such lodge. Each of the three were outstanding. You had a true experience of living "in the bush".
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon at Monwana Game Lodge in April 2014, and we had a world-class experience! The level of service was exceptional. The food was amazing. The safari game drives and bush walks were incredible!! Chewie is a great ranger and fun guy who shares his vast knowledge of wildlife with you as you appreciate the animals up close and personal. Conrad is an excellent tracker who sees things others don't. Monika made sure we were taken care of at all times, from hospitality to food to a surprise candle-lit dinner on our last night overlooking at the waterhole.

On the game drives, we saw the Big Five within the first two days, in addition to giraffes, a cheetah, zebras, kudu, and many other beautiful animals. Among the highlights were getting very close to an elephant herd multiple times, and watching two male lions (from 15 feet away) munch on a zebra at night. Following lion tracks and discovering recent leopard prey on foot with Chewie was also exhilarating.

The rooms are perfect - large and clean, with mosquito nets around the bed. Staff clean your room whenever you go out for drives (usually twice a day).

Regarding food, we wish we could eat at Monwana every day. Perfectly-cooked meat (including a kudu barbeque), fresh fruits and vegetables, home-cooked bread, and delicious desserts. Also, inexpensive wine and beer!

Monwana has everything you could ever want in a game lodge, or any lodge for that matter. Monwana certainly created wonderful memories for us, and we hope to go back! Thank you to the amazing Chewie, Monika, and the rest of the staff for helping to create our perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: Waterhole views are always awesome. You'll see some surprises!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripKing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family and I spent 4 days at the lodge last week. This was the experience of a lifetime!!! Anyone interested in experiencing nature at its best should stay at Monwana. The staff and accommodations far exceeded my expectations. We were in the best of hands and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Beautiful lodge in the most amazing surroundings. The food was out of this world, fantastic chef, and fabulous staff Emma and Jacques making you feel so welcome, wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone, thank you!

Room Tip: the one with the amazing view from the bath!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 724KateS252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 4 days at Monwana Game Lodge in April 2014, and it completely exceeded our expectations in every regard. We found it to be friendly, exclusive, warm, and personal, with amazing food and activities. We had great game viewing with our knowledgable guide Doug, who also took us out on bush walks. Would return to Monwana in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 have great views of the waterhole.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews