We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monwana Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Thornybush Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
$1,217
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serondella Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shumbalala Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterbuck Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jackalberry Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thornybush Waterside Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The River Lodge At Thornybush(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N'kaya Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
N'kelenga Tented Camp(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
251
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitewatering holesouth africaexplained everythingwater holesafari driveswonderful experiencerain showerprivate deckcooked breakfasthot water bottlesthe reservehigh teaother guestsexceeded our expectationsevery mealthree days
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 257 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first experience in Africa and our expectations were more than exceeded. The lodge, staff, food, service, accomodations and the safari drives were all fantastic. We subsequently went to Moremi Crossing, Chobe Safari Lodge and Zambezi Sun, but can still rank the experience here at Monwana as superb. Didn't see leopard, but did see lion having lunch, cheetahs, elephants, porcupine, impala, girrafes, jackal, brown snake eagle, vulture, cape buffalo, zebras and so many other animals/creatures. Each safari drive was an adventure and going back to the lodge was always a treat, literally and figureatively speaking. Food was made to order and the menu was always creatively well prepared. Accomodations were spacious and luxiourious. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I along with friends spent two nights at Monwana and wish we could have stayed more! Karen, Ryan and Jeffery made us feel right at home. The small nature of this property is what makes it so special. There were only 9 of us the first night and 8 the next.This allows you to get to know the other guests as well as being able to chat with our hosts. Very relaxing, beautiful pool and great food. Ryan and Jeffery made our safari drives very memorable, especially when we finally found "Marvin" the male lion of the pride. We will never forget out experience at Monwana!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Monwana game lodge is situated in the Thornybush game reserve, which is a huge private game area. In 2007 we visited this reserve for the first time and after going to several other countries for game viewing, we still come back to Thornybush. We love Monwana lodge, because of the excellent hospitality. The cosy small lodge just holds up to 10 people, which gives it a nice family atmosphere. The ranger, his wife (Ryan and Karen) and the whole staff around them are so friendly, nothing is too much for them. They surround you with hospitality. The kitten prepared excellent food. Special diet requests are taken good care of. The first time we visited Monwana was may 2012 and we loved it so much that we came back again this year in oct!! And we hope to return again soon. Ofcourse we saw all the big five, even in one drive one afternoon! But also many more animals like Cheetah, black and white Rhino, giraffe, elephant family incl a 3 days old baby! Leopard tortes (on a game walk) and Ryan thought us so much more about life in de bush. Between game drives you can relax in your gorgeos romantic suite or hang around the pool deck. It is such a peacefull enviremont you completely forget what day it is. Our room had a romantic bath tub with few into the bush overlooking the waterhole, where very often all kinds of specie come to drink. Also from your king size bed you have this gorgeos view. We just love this place! Not one day is the same. Looking for an 'ones in a lifetime safari experience' this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Facing the waterhole there are 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenEemnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My daughter and I had the opportunity to visit the Monwana Lodge at Thornybush in South Africa earlier this September. What a spectacular experience. The best part was seeing the Big Five up close (within 20 feet) and observing them for 20 to 25 minutes. We constantly pinched ourselves to reassure ourselves we were seeing wild animals in their natural habitat. The cheetahs and lions feeding were definite highlights. The ability of the guides to travel off road and follow the animals made each game drive have its own drama and adventure. The guides, tracker, and staff were marvelous. They accommodated us in every fashion from the warm towels at the end of a game drive to delicious meals. Everyone was so friendly. The rooms were stunning and clean with Kudu and antelope walking freely about the grounds. The beauty of nature and the warmness of the staff made this an inspirational adventure. We would highly recommend Monwana Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaii36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Monwana Lodge and could not have asked for a better safari experience. The lodge is beautiful and we had a suite in front of the watering hole. We enjoyed sitting outside in the afternoon watching the different animals come and go. We had 6 unbelievable game drives and were very easily able to spot the big 5 (twice).

Christy and Neil are unbelievably gracious hosts. They took care of our every need and Christy was always there to welcome us back to the lodge. Celebrate and Neil did a fantastic job tracking the animals and were very patient in explaining any questions we had. Their passion for wildlife is very apparent and made our experience that much more memorable.

The food was delicious! The meals had a lot of variety and everything was made with such love and care. Thank you, Mapuli! After a month home we are still dreaming about the delicious salads we had at tea time.

Overall I cannot say enough good things about the lodge. We came as guests but left feeling like we were part of the Monwana family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terpchica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews