We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what can I say more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, New York
1 review
“what can I say more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderful place! And what a wonderful staff! We were so lucky to stay here. If you want to go to the bush, than choose a real one. We saw the big 5 within a couple of days. The rangers really know where they are talking about and they tell you a lot about the animals.The lodge is a very friendly, warm and welcoming place with a waterhole view. Every day we saw different animals drinking there. The food, drinks and service were fantastic. The deck and the fire pit are super for after dinner. Perfect place to go with friends, family, couples and for business! This time we went with friends but I am definitely going back with my kids!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I really can't say enough good things about Monwana Game Lodge. Our stay there truly was the highlight of the trip of a lifetime. From the exciting game drives with Ryan's expertise and professionalism to Karen's hospitality and the warmth of the entire staff, every detail was amazing. The service was impeccable and the food that came out of that tiny kitchen was absolutely incredible. The whole experience truly changed me and now I want to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by all the game viewing. I have never seen so many leopard. We saw the Big Five within 2 days, which is unheard of. Also the food was amazing!!! I will definately go back, rather sooner then later!!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite or zulu
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from a 9 day trip from Monwana. Lodge was beautiful and located right on a watering hole. It was so amazing looking out my sliding glass door every morning and seeing all of the different animals. I really enjoyed meeting and spending time with the staff (Ryan, Karen & Carl) all extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Game drives were amazing everyday. Big 5 spotted and staff always able to answer all questions. We ate every meal at the lodge or Serandela and the food was outstanding, I was not expecting such great eats in SA! Look forward to a return to Monwana someday soon.

Room Tip: try to request a view of the watering hole although I think there is only one room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

An all together AMAZING experience. Stay for a few days, stay for a week, you will never be disappointed with the up close animal encounters, five star meals, and serene atmosphere. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff is kind and welcoming. I am already trying to figure out when I can return and I just got home yesterday!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the watering hole and with a quiet private porch to sit and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've just returned from a week at Monwana and was blown away by the experience. The game sightings courtesy of Ryan, Carl, Morris and Celebrate were amazing. We were placed front row on most every drive to the animals while Ryan and Carl generously offered information on the animals and patiently answered question after question from the guests. The accommodations were well appointed and the staff invisibly tidied the rooms each time you turned your head. The quality of the meals was unexpected. Each meal seemed to top the previous in both quality and quantity. I had expected camp food and was treated to fine dining at each turn. The staff was amazing and genuinely seemed to enjoy their part in making your experience the best possible. Karen seamlessly orchestrated each event from massages to meals. I highly recommend this place and cannot imagine another lodge offering a better experience. Thank you and congratulations to all involved in making this such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a seven night stay at Monwana Game Lodge in the Thornybush Reserve. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was a real treat. We had an incredible experience. The food and wine were amazing. Ryan Fulton is a real professional when it comes to the game drives/tracking and his knowledge of the bush and Karen was a superb host (warm or cool towels after games drives, accompanied by a sherry or Amarula!). Its those kind of personal touches that really made our stay at Monwana very special.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Property: Monwana Game Lodge
Address: Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a Four Star Superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic Big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monwana Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing