We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangala Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Colborne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I want to go back! My daughter & I stayed for 2 nights at Tangala as part of a safari organized by On Track Safaris,UK. Tangala was definitely a highlight of our 2 weeks in South Africa. They were so very generous and helpful when we decided that we wanted separate tents (apparently I snore!). Meals were amazing, accommodations were clean,comfortable and quiet - just the sounds of the bush to lull us to sleep after exciting game drives, delicious food and relaxing on the pool deck watching yet more wildlife. I was awe struck by the night skies we saw at Tangala, even as we sat around the wood fire enjoying our dinner by lantern,re-living our game drive experiences and learning so much more from our hosts and guides.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a flashlight, extra batteries, etc. There are limited facilities for charging dev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Public Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We provide the bush magic- you provide the magic of awe and appreciation. It was good having you here and we really hope to see you again.
May a spark of Tangala always be in your heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I shoud have written this review long ago. If you like the bush then this place is tops. Spent 2 nights (May 2013) at this bush camp and WOW was it great! So rustic, no electricity, no fenced camp, paraffin lamps and hot water by gas geyser to shower. You want to get close to big game then this is the place to come to - Saw big 5 on first night, found Hyena with cubs in her den, and so much more. Lions roamed around the camp at night - elephants paid a visit. If you want bling then go somewhere else. Louw and his staff were great and accommodating to all - even set up a candle light dinner table in the bush to celebrate my wife's birthday. Patrick provided good food and great mielie meal muffins.

Room Tip: Remember there is no electricity, take spare batteries and torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X_trail2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Public Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We are pleased that you have combined 'rustic' with a high rating for comfort - it's exactly what we aim for. We will always try to keep the Tangala experience as bush-authentic as possible.
Trust you'll be back with family and friends in tow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I enjoyed my 3 night stay at Tangala. Comfy tent, with large beds. Huge shower. Food was excellent and great to be able to sit looking at the animals at the water hole just in front, and sitting out by the pool when a Nyala came for a drink.
The game drives are great. Not rushing to see the big five ( but we saw them all ), but watcing all the African animals going about their daily life. Leopard cubs were great to see and also the tiny hyena babies. Thank you to everyone, especially Floris, our guide.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Three nights is just about the perfect amount of time to spend with us - as your experience shows. Enough time to take in all that the bush has to offer, at your leisure. So pleased to have had you here - please do keep in touch with us on Facebook and share your pictures and memories. And, of course, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We all know that bigger isn't always better, but, in the case of Tangala, it's true. Since our last visit there 2 years ago, a few of the fences have been taken down, now enlarging the reserve considerably to include a much more interesting and varied terrain/landscape. This has resulted in game viewing opportunities being better than ever - though for us it was already the best place to view African bush wildlife, even before these changes were made.

There's been a change in the management at Tangala too, and before our arrival this time we were a little concerned that some 'old magic' may have been lost. However, were wrong and this was definitely not the case. In fact we can vouch that the camp very much continues to retain it's unique, authentically charming and very comfortable feel. There have been some nice new touches made to the rooms and to the eating arrangements which have made it an even better experience for guests.

Our thanks go to Floeres and Philip who as our ranger and tracker respectively for the 2 days, managed to provide us with a magical time in the bush. We've been to a few bush camps over the years - and have a few stories to tell from each - but have never had an experience like we had this time. Normally, when the tracker goes on a walkabout, it's only for 10-15 minutes at the most. In our case, when tracking a leopard through a part of the bush where the vehicle had difficulty following, Phillip went missing for ca. 2 hours. And yes unbelievably, he found it and managed to guide us right to the spot. Quite incredible!

Our grateful thanks go to Loew as well, who apart from being an excellent host, also manages to cook a really great steak.

This was our 4th visit to Tangala - and as you'll see from previous reviews, we're great fans. So, we're very glad to report that this magical place is in good hands and if it were possible, is getting even bigger and better. So yes, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissCandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Yay - you love your visits to Tangala as much as we love having you.
We hope to see you again and again - and we'll always keep some of that bush magic bottled away just for you.
Please keep in touch on our Facebook page and share your pictures and stories with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our 3 night stay in Tangala was more then magical.
At first we where a little bit unsure about the comfort as there was no electricity in de rooms available to charge our batteries of our camera, ... . But that all did not matter. Batteries could be given to the staf to charge without any problem.
The rooms where clean, the staff was very friendly.
The area from the private camp is very cozy, well maintained, beautifull and peacefull.
The food was wonderfull and the complete setting was what it needed to be. Perfect.
The gamedrives where in one word: WAUW!!
We saw the complete big 5 and so much more.
The biggest compliment is for Hanri, our guide and driver. Hanri is very passionate about what he is doing. He know very much about animals and nature and he is more then happy to share everything. He explains the who, how and why's. He really added so much more to the game drives whe where already fantastic. Thank you Hanri and thank you Louw and staff to give us a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasmine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are so pleased that you are now part of the Tangala family and that Tangala will always have a little place in your heart. Hope you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife, two friends and myself were treated to some extraordinary wildlife experiences at Tangala camp near Kruger National Park, South Africa. The camp glistens in oil lamps, views rolling up to the Highveld and regular sightings at the adjacent waterhole.
Louw Booysen, Hanri and Phillip have a great passion for the bush. We had 'Once in a Lifetime'' sightings of a leopard wih cubs, a pride of lions and a white buffalo. Hanri our guide, was an encyclopaedia of instant knowledge on trees, tracks and insects.
Thanks for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Kind Person who runs Trip Advisor for Tangala at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Tangala is always so grateful when visitors take the time to write reviews and we welcome them all. The team at the camp really is dedicated to what they do and THEIR day is made when they are privileged enough to spend time with enthusiastic guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We took an 1 day overnight package that included high tea, afternoon/evening game drive, dinner and 1 night accommodation. Next day an early morning game drive and breakfast on return was also included. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and saw lots of animals.
It is a true safari experience travelling over rough roads by Land Rover and staying in oil lamp lit rooms. The food was exceptionally good and our host the owner was very informative and good company.
We would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see the Africa like it used to be

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin P, Social Media owner at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed the visit - what a pity it was so short. Thanks for the compliments and for relaxing enough to enjoy the South African authenticity. It's what sets Tangala apart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,686 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
350 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
246 reviews
10.6 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangala Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangala Safari Camp

Property: Tangala Safari Camp
Address: Thornybush reserve | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangala Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and personal experience awaits you at Tangala Safari Camp which is located in the heart of the world renowned Thornybush big 5 Game Reserve bordering the Greater Kruger. The camp boasts sweeping views overlooking an expansive and active waterhole, with the majestic Drakensberg Mountain Range forming an impressive backdrop. With our eco-friendly camp, great hosting, comfortable accommodation and thrilling game drives, guests are assured an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tangala Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangala Safari Camp South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing