We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shumbalala Game Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
267
7
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
7
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarpresidential suitewatering holehigh teahighest standardgame lodgesouth africaour honeymoonwords cannot describeearlier this monthfollowing morningsafari experienceclose quartersincredible staffafrican winesa hot water bottleabsolutely everything
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 282 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A Safari was a new experience for us but definitely one to be repeated. Shumbalala was outstanding in terms of its organisation, facilities, location, service, the expertise of its staff and the general hospitality. In the course of 3 days we saw all the animals, and more, that we had ever hoped. to see as well as an large number of birds. What a really great trip! I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views over the river bed and water hole with animals passing through quite regularly.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nights here at the beginning of March in celebration of our Golden Wedding and enjoyed a wonderful stay at this magnificent Lodge. Our suite was all that we could have wished and we were extremely well looked after under the supervision of the delightful Annelle. The game viewing was exceptional. Ryan and Herman were enthusiastic and truly professional, and dedicated to providing us with a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We started our honeymoon at Shumbalala, words cannot express how amazing this was. 5 star staff and surroundings. Only can have 10 people at most staying at any one time which makes this so superior. At one stage there were only 4 of us. On game drives you stop for a breakfast treat on your first drive (approx 3 hours) and then for a sundowner drink during sunset on your next drive (usually 4 hours) was so romantic. Wiehan, Ryan and Herman took us on some amazing drives. Saw all of the big 5 including leopard cubs playing in the water and 2 cheetahs would had just made a kill - they walked right passed our 4x4! Saw so many animals up close, these guys do an amazing job of making sure you get what you pay for!
Our room/lodge was absolutely stunning, with animals who came right outside the window (can view them from your bath!) Little added touches made this so special for us - really friendly and inviting staff, very attentive yet not obtrusive. Beautiful cuisine. Ryan, Herman, Wiehan and his wife Michelle were first class. We would definelty return here. There is a waterhole for animals to come to at the lodge and a small pool for a dip when it gets hot. On our week anniversary of our marriage they treated us to dine in their wine cellar, a beautiful location. The meals were of fine dining quality. I really couldnt recommend this place enough. This was by far the best part of our honeymoon, we left with many fantastic memories.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our third time on safari to south africa and shumbalala was the best of all of them. A small lodge which results in service that is really good but not overbearing. Friendly and efficient staff who is always available.

The game viewing itself was outstandingand we saw leopard with cubs which was really specials. Also very nice cheetah sightings. Then on the one afternoon a surprise visit of the elephants to the waterhole next to the camp

Meals were also very good and they cater for special requests. Although we like to do different safari lodges on each visit this is one we will return to one day!

Thank you to everyone at Shumbalala

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went here with my brothers and sisters in law to celebrate my brothers birthday and enjoy the bush for 3 days. There's nothing I can think of to complain. Very small lodge, beautiful rooms, very friendly host, ranger and other staff. Great food as well.Ryan and Herman did a great job to show us as much as possible of the wildlife. Well done guys, will recommend for sure to everyone! Preferably I never go back to the same lodge but this time I think I will.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellysuverein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews