We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Jackalberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jackalberry Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Jackaberry was a very nice place and had nice people. It had great food and very good games,I like the talks at night before dinner, we also get a drink. We had a amazing experience. On are 6 drives we saw the whole big five and a cheetah and Hippos. It was hard trying to watch the leopard and cheetah. The leopard was moving all around. The cheetah was jogging. They treat you like guests and leave as friends. Everybody treat me like a buddy and so did I. The rooms were big and African luxury. My mom cooks a African dish almost each day at home now. I even got a great site of an impala right at my door( Impala's don't hurt you). The Hippos were unlikely to see but it was a nice sight. It was great and when you get there you will see much more..., :Jason L

Room Tip: Every room is good
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Jackalberry Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently, at the end of June, my husband and I stayed for 3 nights.......what a fab place , everyone so helpful and friendly, food amazing (send me some recipes please!!), amazing game drives every time, our guides so knowledgeable, small camp so a lovely intimate and comfy feeling, accommodation excellent, good bed ( important to me)......will def go back and highly recommend to everyone to experience this wonderful game lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Jackalberry Lodge exceeded all of my expectations! The entire experience was amazing. The lodge is beautiful and comfortable, the staff is welcoming and friendly, and the game drives were just incredible. We stayed three nights for our honeymoon in July. In our four drives we were able to see the "Big Five" and much more. The ranger and tracker were great-they were professional, friendly, and certainly great at what they do. They were able to get us right up next to each and every animal we wanted to see. On each drive we would stop have a glass of wine or coffee right in the bush, it was just amazing. I can't say enough about Jackalberry Lodge, it was the trip of a lifetime! I only hope we will be able to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was an all-around great experience for us! My son and daughter 11 and 12 years old keep talking about the great time we had. The lodge is small, which allows for high quality and attention to all details. They pay an enormous amount of attention to each guest's satisfaction. Whether it is providing your favorite beverages on safari, or altering the meal plan to suit your family's taste, the staff really do aim to please. The all-inclusive plan includes everything except a few beverages, and these are reasonably priced on par with any other local establishment (currently a good deal for foreigners due to favorable exchange rates). The internet service was complimentary- though slow and somewhat sporadic due to local conditions.

The food was extremely high in quality, and included some interesting local dishes like Kudu with Amarula sauce, which was exceptional! The massage service was particularly of use to us. There were numerous little amenities like warm towels after the game drives, and an apperitif, and hot water bottles with blankets in the vehicle for the cool morning drives. The evening meals were usually hosted by one of the rangers, where more insight into the day's sightings could be gathered.

My children enjoyed the use of the library. We played monopoly on a platform with a view of a watering hole where we could watch a constant parade of all kinds of animals.

The true highlight of our trip was the amazing game drives with some of the best rangers and trackers available at Thornybush. We were able to see lots of big cats and all of the big 5 animals relatively easily. Since we stayed for a long stay of 7 nights, we saw better and better sightings of the animals. The quality of the sightings became more important to our ranger, and he was really able to deliver ever-better sightings.

It was a real gamble booking for a whole week at the same lodge, but with the excellent ratings on Trip Advisor, I felt confident that it would be OK. It really paid off for us and we could not be happier with our experience at Jackalberry Lodge (near Hoedspruit).

Room Tip: There is one family chalet with 2 bedrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've know Jackalberry well and have stayed there more than once. The rooms are super comfortable, and the rangers professional and friendly. They ensure you get to see all the animals on your list! The reserve gives you the full African bush experience, wild and unspoiled. Evenings are spent under the starry sky in front of a roaring open fire eating top quality food. The rates are also very good for what you get, look out for specials too.

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the lodge or fire area if you want total peace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights/3 days at Jackalberry Lodge and had the most fantastic time. Thank you to our hosts, Tom and Karlien, the wonderful husband and wife team who manage the lodge. Tom is one of the most knowledgeable and experienced game rangers in South Africa, while Karlien and her friendly staff took care of our more physical needs. The rooms were clean and luxurious, and the meals were fresh and delicious. We were able to see game directly from our jacuzzi bath, as well as from our private patio. This is our second visit to Jackalberry Lodge and we plan to return with international guests soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 or 7 as they back directly onto the reserve
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Jackalberry Lodge was a wonderful place to holiday and end our vacation. We can't say enough about the accommodations, exceptional staff that was very helpful and they all really take pride in the services and food they provide. The food was incredible and nice to have a lantern lit dinner in the Boma. Out safari ranger Brad and Tracker Lucas were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable, it was a new adventure each time we went out. Our hope is to bring our children with us in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect with back decks on the reserve
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
7.7 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,753 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
366 reviews
5.3 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
238 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackalberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackalberry Lodge

Address: Guernsey Road | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $726 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackalberry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Jackalberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackalberry Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Jackalberry Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing