We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterbuck Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at Waterbuck mid November with friends - we had the whole place to ourselves and were looked after by Hannes, Anita, Lodrick and all the staff so well. Some of us had been on safaris a number of times before but were thrilled with all the animals we saw and Hannes' endless knowledge and enthusiasm. The food was just wonderful and always beautifully served on the deck, by the fire or in the dining room. Rehewed my enthusiasm for safaris and would definitely put Waterbuck top of the list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACL680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi ACL680,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us so much. Its great to know that we rank so highly compared to our competitors, we plan to stay at the top and improve more!


Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an incredible experience at the Waterbuck Game Lodge. Our accommodations were the perfect blend of rustic-bush and luxury, and the limited number of rooms allowed for excellent personalized service. Anita and the rest of the house staff made our stay incredibly warm and comfortable. Hannes and Vusi could not have given us better game drives - we were able to see not only the Big 5 but almost every other request we threw at them (cheetah, hyena, you name it). They truly went above and beyond to make our experience one of a kind. The time of year (end of October and early November) was perfect: the bush was not too full, so we were able to see a lot; we were able to spot several young animals; and the weather was perfect, not too hot or cold. I will highly recommend this lodge to all of my friends - next time we are renting out the entire property with a bigger group!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tidwellchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Chad,

We're really happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much and got so much out of it! Glad we could control everything and the weather even played the game... Looking forward to seeing you again with your whole group of friends!

Thank you for the great review, with guests like you we don't need the marketing team!!

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed an absolutely amazing time during our stay at Waterbuck Lodge! A truly wonderful experience! Hannes and Anita were gracious hosts and welcomed us with complete hospitality. The accommodations and dining options were first-rate. A special shout-out to Peggy, Patience and the other staff members who added to our experience. Our trip to Waterbuck Lodge was planned as a special celebration for my 50th birthday and Peggy baked me the most fabulous chocolate hazelnut cake! Hannes even brought a bottle of champagne on our morning drive on my birthday to toast the occasion...certainly a birthday celebration I will never forget!

Our game drives were absolutely amazing. Every drive provided us with a unique experience and spectacular game sighting. Hannes is an incredibly experienced and knowledgeable ranger who shared with us much information about the animals, their lives and their habits. The team of Hannes and Vusi, our tracker, were amazing! They truly have a great working relationship and respect for each other. Hannes went the extra-mile every time we sighted game in precarious and challenging locations to provide us the greatest viewing and photo opportunities.

By the time we left Waterbuck Lodge after our four-day stay, we felt like family members of the lodge and were all very sad to go! Do yourself a favor and consider a stay at Waterbuck Lodge...you will not be disappointed!

Oh, and besides the amazing hazelnut chocolate cake, Peggy also makes a mean lemon meringue pie!

Room Tip: My partner and I stayed in Room 4. This room includes an outdoor shower...you may even see a monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Jeff,

So glad you loved your 50th so much, it really is a birthday you should remember so great choice in allowing us to make it special for you. We've chatted to Peggy and relayed your sentiments which she received with a BIG smile.

Thank you for the great review, with guests like you we don't need the marketing team!!

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

we had the most amazing stay at the Waterbuck Game Lodge. We had a beautiful and very comfortable room, with a luxurious bathroom, and an outside shower. The room had a veranda, looking out over the water. On our first night there, because we were the only guests that night, our dinner was served on the veranda! Lanterns, candlelight, the works, it was so romantic!
All the meals were great and service was excellent.
The safari's we went on were the best! Our ranger, Hannes, and his colleague Lodrick did everything to spot as many animals as possible, and they are really good!
They know exactly how the animals behave and hence what to look for, so we really had an awsome experience.
I still ave a lot of places I want to travel to, but I definitely want to come back here some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Natas,

We really are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us so much. Its refreshing to know we are meeting and even sometimes exceeding our guests expectations. We're looking forward to having you back when you can return so we can show you more about the wonderful area in which we live.

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed our recent trip to Waterbuck Lodge in Thornybush.
The managers were away on vacation so it was left to Gareth and his partner to run the lodge. There was a slight "warmth" lacking in our overall experience. Kerren just appeared when we got back from a drive and did nothing else as far as we were aware (apart from give us our bill at the end!)
We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives with Gareth and Loderick (our tracker) who worked extremely well together and tried hard to find us that elusive leopard. Good sightings overall and we appreciated very much that Gareth got us very close to the wildlife and had an understanding lighting for photography.
We liked the privacy of the accommodations but felt that they needed a little TLC in places. Beds very comfy. Similarly with the main lodge area, just needs some TLC and a good clean in places. Pool very small and uninviting, as was the outdoor seating area.
Overall, we enjoyed our trip to Waterbuck but just weren't completely wowed by it.

Room Tip: ask for the one overlooking the waterhole - much the best view. We had requested it but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello FTG,

Thank you for your review, your comments have been noted and taken up with the relevant staff. All the issues you raised have been addressed and rectified. We appreciate the feedback as this allows us to better our team.

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hannes and Anita were welcoming hosts. The staff were lovely and fulfilled any wishes such as dietary restrictions. The location and size were very intimate only room for 8. We saw amazing things....leopards hunting, elephants chasing leopards,lions mating, lions roaring....not to mention the "big 5" twice in one day. Hannes (guide) and Loderick (tracker) were wonderful, never tiring of questions. Their love and passion for where they live and what they do is evident. Plan on gaining weight on this trip the food is plentiful and never ending.
One couple had dinner in their room and said it was fabulous

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We didn't want to leave -- first, the staff is very attentive and welcoming. Second, the lodge is beautiful and offers a personalized and intimate experience for small groups. Finally, the animals are amazing. We were very fortunate to see the Big Five and then some -- our guide and tracker worked really hard to make sure we had an unforgettable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Erin,

We're glad our staff saw to your needs and the lodge was to your liking. The animals are on their own schedule but we're happy we were able to find them all for you!

Thank you for your wonderful review of our lodge, we are very happy that you enjoyed it so much and hope so see you soon! Thank you for taking the time to write a review so that other potential guests can see what kind of service we provide.

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.2 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,661 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
387 reviews
9.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
242 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
8.4 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbuck Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbuck Game Lodge

Property: Waterbuck Game Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterbuck Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set on a large watering hole deep in the African bush this amazing lodge awaits your arrival. There are 4 individually set rooms spaced generously apart with a welcoming central lodge area. This area has a bar, lounge, swimming pool and a deck overlooking the waterhole. It is truly a little piece of paradise.Safari's (Game drives) are conducted morning and evening giving our guests a good chance of seeing Africa's famous "Big 5" as well as numerous other species of fauna and floura. These are conducted by extremely knowledgeable and friendly guides anxious to make your experience unforgettable.Please read the comments of our guests below, their words are the best reflection we can give on the experience. Look forward to hosting your African safari experience soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and South African Hotels so you can book your Waterbuck Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbuck Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing