We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$1,156
View deal
Hotels.com$1,156
Priceline$1,167
CheapTickets$1,156
Orbitz.com$1,156
Booking.com$1,167
Travelocity$1,156
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
507
36
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
507
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge bush experience white rhino animal sightings exceeded expectations an unforgettable experience five star three nights food was amazing out of this world orlando thornybush guide ranger tracker accommodation africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 548 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Group visit of 11. Great place and beautiful safari scenery. Great rooms and service PLUS friendly staff and rangers. The food is exceptional. Was my first time to be in the safari and it was the best. It is a must see, must feel and must visit * especially ThornyBush

Thank Thabang91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

This was the fourth time we stayed at the Nkelenga tented camp, a satellite camp of the main game lodge.
A self catering camp, ideal for family or a group of friends. The camp is fully serviced, you have to do your own cooking. We stayed for 6 days this time.
We had wonderful sightings od the big 5 and many other animals and birds.
We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We have been to many game lodges in S Africa and consider Thornybush Lodge to be good but not outstanding. The lodge itself was very nicely decorated; the food was very nice (lots of salads and vegetables); most of the staff were pleasant and professional; the game viewing was reasonable (given the 2 year drought which is affecting all of the wildlife). There was tolerably fast free wifi throughout the lodge and rooms. Apparently the rooms are being renovated but we stayed in an un-renovated room, which was very pleasant.
Having to pay for laundry and drinks (soft drinks, wine, beer) seemed mean spirited. At other 5 star lodges, laundry and drinks are included in the daily charge. The tipping policy was pushed quite forcefully.

Room tip: The rooms furthest from the lodge offer the best views
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 639wendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

We had an amazing stay at Thornybush in July. The lodge is located 40 minutes from the airport, which is very convenient.
Everything was so perfect : from the pickup to check out everybody was there to make our stay very special.
The lodge is tastefully decorated and the beautiful deck, dining area overlooking the water hole, allowed us to watch the animals while enjoying the most amazing food.

The rooms are very comfortable with an outside and inside shower and the quality of the bedding is remarkable. Each room has coffee/tea making facilities.

The guides and trackers are so professional and devoted to their guests. We learned so much about wildlife.

We had the most extravagant receptions in the bush for the wedding : Bush dinners under the starry african sky (with lions roaring in the distance), dinners around the central fireplace, sundowners with singers and dancers on beautiful bush sites.
The wedding itself was done on the most romantic spot : under canopied trees, on the river bank and the ceremony incorporated some unique African traditions. Perfect settings for a memorable wedding.
They had so many guests to entertain for 6 days! I am still amazed by what Thornybush had to offer. It was the best wedding ever, an extraordinary wedding celebration in the African bush.

We will go back anytime ! And we hope, very soon.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SibongileCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Coming to Thornybush was the last part of our South African adventure and we saved the best till last!
It was like stepping into a story book from childhood,the minute we arrived we could see wildlife surrounding the lodge.We were greeted by Catherine who made us feel very welcome and helped us start our Safari experience.
Our little house for 5 nights was simply gorgeous with amazing views.
We were very spoilt by "Advice" who looked after us at meal times,she was a delight and we all loved her.
We all felt terribly lucky to be guided by "Christoff,his enthusiasm and knowledge of wildlife was infectious,he was also very patient with our constant questions and giggles! Hendrick was our Spotter who was quiet and charming,we enjoyed their company for the whole time we were here and very lucky to have had the truck to ourselves on nearly all the drives.Chris took us on a bush walk which was fascinating seeing small things you wouldn't have otherwised even noticed.
All the food was above excellent,and so much to choose,whether we ate in the lodge,the Boma or in the river bed (now that was a truly wonderful surprise),we all had very happy tummys!
We had a very cheeky porter take us back to our rooms at night to deliver us safely and he always made us giggle, and then to find our rooms looking beautiful again with the heating turned on and the best find....an electric blanket turned on,unbelievable!! We all slept soo well ready and refreshed for the early morning call.
It was always a thrill getting up,throwing open the doors,listening to the dawn chorus of birds and monkeys and then up to the lodge being offered hot drinks and muffins,watching the sun come up ready to go out again to discover new things each and everyday.It was pure magic,thank goodness I have soo many photos to keep the memory's going.Thank you.....one day I hope we can return to this incredible place which has really touched our hearts.

Room tip: We had rooms 6/5 and 3 and they were all fantastic.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sammie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews