We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornybush Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place is the best place I have EVER stayed at!
I feel lucky to have stayed in the best place in Africa.
Contact these folks ...and stay!!!
The meals and guides are excellent!
The place is a palace. And it's amazing what you can see right from your bathtub!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was the small touches that really made the stay at Thornybush fantastic, we felt like we were really in good hands. The staff were wonderful, the food was tasty and plentiful, and the rooms lovely. I really liked the balconies on each cottage and the indoor/ outdoor bathroom, allowing a lovely view and total privacy. We travelled as 4 friends, not couples and were concerned that it may be too honeymoon-like, but the accommodation was great for either couples or friends. There was a problem with the hot water in one of our cottages, I was impressed at how quickly it was resolved. Despite wild animals walking around, I felt very safe in the accommodation area. The common areas were homely and relaxing, with a few monkeys and deer always nearby too.
The highlight of course were the game drives. July and Greg were fantastic at showing us the park, we saw so many animals, very close, it was wonderful - literally! There were 4 or 6 guests per car, meaning it was easy to see to animals and with lots of space to move around. With their great communication system, if multiple jeeps were in a particular area, it was ensured that there were only 1 or 2 vehicles at each animal at a time, which was refreshing compared to other parks! July, our tracker is very skilled, and one highlight was tracking a black rhino until we found it! The jeeps were open-top, allowing for great animal-viewing, but I still felt very safe, and rain jackets were provided if necessary. The sunsets during the game drives in the evenings were magical.
I can fully recommend a trip to Thornybush!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jess150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived at Thorny Bush Lodge to drinks on the patio. The staff were well dressed and accommodating.

The Game Ranger and Tracker who took us on our daily trips through the reserve were well spoken and filled with knowledge. Their enthusiasm and passion for their job was outstanding.

Everyday we managed to see the Big Five.

Well done to the staff and management of Thorny Bush Lodge

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I actually visited Thornybush in 2008 with my mum but I cannot rate it highly enough! Absolutely amazing experience, everything was perfect, best holiday of my life. Incredible! We'd love to go back. The reserve itself, rooms and hotel location, food, staff, guides, trackers and of course the animals were amazing. Couldn't be improved!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesitsjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at Thornybush and it was better than we ever had imagined. It has basically ruined all future bush holidays for us as we don't think we will come close to the spoils that this holiday offered! The food was delicious, the accommodation spectacular and the staff were really fantastic. Our guide, Greg, and tracker, July, were awesome - and for the first time (after many bush trips) I got to see Leopard and Cheetah!

Thank you for an incredibly luxurious bush escape from the city. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the dry riverbed and they are all stunning and incredibly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_H0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I staid for three nights beginning October 15. The Lodge was everything we could have hoped it would be. All the staff were wonderful from the time we came until we left. They made us feel at home and there was nothing they wouldn't do for us. The food was excellent and available from when we awoke (5a.m.) until after dinner and the staff was very efficient. Ocean, our guide, and Ishmael, our tracker, were outstanding. The knowledge they imparted to us was amazing!! We not only saw the big five, not including the Black Rhinoceros, and Cheetahs, but many other animals as well. They were a joy to be with. We asked Ocean if he would take us on a tracking walk and it was very interesting to say the least. By the way, Ocean has a wonderful laugh. We will always remember it.

I taught Ocean and Ishmael how to "chest bump" as a way to say thank you for an incredible time. The staff got a big laugh watching Ocean and Ishmael do it.

Room Tip: We stayed in "18" which was very close to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was part of a group of 20 folks who visited the lodge for 3 days. I can safely say that everyone had a wonderful time. Seeing all the animals was amazing but to say only that would short change the experience. The staff was equally amazing. They were very accommodating in every respect. They always were pleasant and helpful from serving coffee in the cold mornings to tasty dinners late at night.
The animals certainly are the show and seeing the Big 5 within 48 hours is hard to beat. Stalking the male lion at night and hearing its roar is an experience I am unable to describe in words. Having a female lion walk up to your jeep is a heart stopping moment. Seeing the elephants outside your room munching on trees, less than 10 yards away, is an encounter you won’t forget.
The best way to describe it is to say I would get up from my desk right now and go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard410QOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
8.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
318 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornybush Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornybush Game Lodge

Address: Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,365 - $1,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornybush Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornybush Game Lodge (Graded 5 star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa)- 18 luxury suites & 2 family suites (40 guests). Nestled in the heart of Big 5 country part of the Greater Kruger National Park, with a huge diversity of mammal and bird species, lies 14 000 hectares of pristine African Bushveld, this is the Thornybush Nature Reserve. The elegant and exclusive Thornybush Game Lodge awaits discovery by the discerning traveller. Unrivaled big game viewing is complemented by exquisite accommodation and sublime cuisine. Thornybush Game Lodge boasts 18 stylish air-conditioned luxury suites and 2 family suites, all with extensive living areas overlooking the seasonal Monwana River. From within the luxurious suites, each with full en-suite facilities and private decks, sweeping vistas can be enjoyed over the savannah and an ever-active water hole. Superb attention to detail and highly personalised service make for a memorable stay. Enjoy exciting dawn and dusk safaris in open Land Cruisers and on walking safaris, take a moment to browse in the intimate library or simply enjoy a treatment in the Beauty Spa or relax at the pool with your favourite cocktail as you bask in Africa’s glorious sunshine. An African safari can be a life-changing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Thornybush Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornybush Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing