We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thornybush Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I actually visited Thornybush in 2008 with my mum but I cannot rate it highly enough! Absolutely amazing experience, everything was perfect, best holiday of my life. Incredible! We'd love to go back. The reserve itself, rooms and hotel location, food, staff, guides, trackers and of course the animals were amazing. Couldn't be improved!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesitsjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 371 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at Thornybush and it was better than we ever had imagined. It has basically ruined all future bush holidays for us as we don't think we will come close to the spoils that this holiday offered! The food was delicious, the accommodation spectacular and the staff were really fantastic. Our guide, Greg, and tracker, July, were awesome - and for the first time (after many bush trips) I got to see Leopard and Cheetah!

Thank you for an incredibly luxurious bush escape from the city. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the dry riverbed and they are all stunning and incredibly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_H0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I staid for three nights beginning October 15. The Lodge was everything we could have hoped it would be. All the staff were wonderful from the time we came until we left. They made us feel at home and there was nothing they wouldn't do for us. The food was excellent and available from when we awoke (5a.m.) until after dinner and the staff was very efficient. Ocean, our guide, and Ishmael, our tracker, were outstanding. The knowledge they imparted to us was amazing!! We not only saw the big five, not including the Black Rhinoceros, and Cheetahs, but many other animals as well. They were a joy to be with. We asked Ocean if he would take us on a tracking walk and it was very interesting to say the least. By the way, Ocean has a wonderful laugh. We will always remember it.

I taught Ocean and Ishmael how to "chest bump" as a way to say thank you for an incredible time. The staff got a big laugh watching Ocean and Ishmael do it.

Room Tip: We stayed in "18" which was very close to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was part of a group of 20 folks who visited the lodge for 3 days. I can safely say that everyone had a wonderful time. Seeing all the animals was amazing but to say only that would short change the experience. The staff was equally amazing. They were very accommodating in every respect. They always were pleasant and helpful from serving coffee in the cold mornings to tasty dinners late at night.
The animals certainly are the show and seeing the Big 5 within 48 hours is hard to beat. Stalking the male lion at night and hearing its roar is an experience I am unable to describe in words. Having a female lion walk up to your jeep is a heart stopping moment. Seeing the elephants outside your room munching on trees, less than 10 yards away, is an encounter you won’t forget.
The best way to describe it is to say I would get up from my desk right now and go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard410QOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great lodge situated close to Hoedspruit airport for easy access to Capetown or Johannesburg.

Very well appointed villas with outdoor and indoor shower. Large rooms with air conditioning, heating, and all conveniences. The main Lodge is the only access to wi-Fi and this drops out a lot of the time! not really an issue until the credit card can't be processed! Food was fabulous with the best Muesli home made! Their pastry chef deserves an award and they can put on the best Boma ever!!! Their guides and trackers deserve special mention for their skill, diplomacy and patience along with their genuine love of Africa's flora and fauna. thank you Christoph for your knowledge on photography and canon cameras!! Highly recommend this Lodge and would love to return.

Room Tip: room 9 and 18 are closest to pool,spa and dinning. Ask for rooms overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the time we arrived at Thornybush to the time we left, the service was amazing. The staff was very hospitable and efficient. The food was good, and there were plenty of options. They made sure that our dietary restrictions were taken care of at each meal.
The outside shower was a big hit with our daughter who was taking a shower while a giraffe was watching her from near our room. We observed many other animals on the property itself, monkeys, steinbok, elephants...On our game drives, with the help of our ranger, Jaime, and tracker, "John the Best," we saw the big five plus many more. Getting up early was not the highlight of the day; however, seeing the animals in their natural habitat was well worth it. Although, I think we saw more animals on the late afternoon/dusk drive.
This was our first trip to Africa, but we hope it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljstone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

To say that our 3-day stay at Thornybush was excellent isn't enough. We were made to feel like family by Grant, his wife, Melanie, and their incredible staff. The game drives were done professionally and safely, yet we were still able to get very close to the Big Five. To have a rhino get so close that he was scraping the car with his horn or to be able to see the freshly killed impala below the tree where two very full leopards were resting was incredible.

The food was delicious and the fancy touches were so unexpected (and appreciated). Each couple gets their own cabin with a large deck and outdoor (and indoor of course) shower. What an experience it was to have giraffe walk by while showering outside. It was truly an unforgettable experience that I would highly recommend!

1  Thank FoodiefromTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
8.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,782 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
185 reviews
3.5 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornybush Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornybush Game Lodge

Address: Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,116 - $1,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornybush Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornybush Game Lodge (Graded 5 star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa)- 18 luxury suites & 2 family suites (40 guests). Nestled in the heart of Big 5 country part of the Greater Kruger National Park, with a huge diversity of mammal and bird species, lies 14 000 hectares of pristine African Bushveld, this is the Thornybush Nature Reserve. The elegant and exclusive Thornybush Game Lodge awaits discovery by the discerning traveller. Unrivaled big game viewing is complemented by exquisite accommodation and sublime cuisine. Thornybush Game Lodge boasts 18 stylish air-conditioned luxury suites and 2 family suites, all with extensive living areas overlooking the seasonal Monwana River. From within the luxurious suites, each with full en-suite facilities and private decks, sweeping vistas can be enjoyed over the savannah and an ever-active water hole. Superb attention to detail and highly personalised service make for a memorable stay. Enjoy exciting dawn and dusk safaris in open Land Cruisers and on walking safaris, take a moment to browse in the intimate library or simply enjoy a treatment in the Beauty Spa or relax at the pool with your favourite cocktail as you bask in Africa’s glorious sunshine. An African safari can be a life-changing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Thornybush Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornybush Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing