We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornybush Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in Thornybush Main Lodge in February 2012. We had previously stayed at Tinga a few years ago. Tinga was our first safari, and we were within the Kruger National Park boundaries. We were a little apprehnsive about being within a private game reserve, as opposed to a concession within the Park. We had been concerned about thinking the animals were 'fenced in.' These worries disappeared very quickly!

We learned a HUGE amount about Africa's wildlife whilst at Thornybush. They are doing a spectcular job of trying to conserve some amazing species in very challenging times. We felt absolutely privileged to encounter rhinos, cheetah, leopard, elephant, buffalo, kudu, lions, zebra, giraffe, monkeys, silver backed jackal, numerous beatiful birds.... I could go on. We were also given the opportunity to track cheetah and rhino on foot - I was grinning from ear to ear for hours afterwards. Thornybush had just acquired the neighbouring site when we were there (Kapama/Thornybus water lodge) and were about to rip down the internal fences to open up the two sites.

Greg (ranger) and July (tracker) were so knowledgeable, friendly and generally wonderful hosts. There was never a dull moment - I cannot praise them highly enough. When we stayed at Thornybush, there had been serious flooding the week previously, meaning Greg and July had some pretty challenging conditions to deal with. Nothing seemed to phase them, and they always went about their work with smiles on their faces. Likewise, the whole lodge was running like clockwork - even though it was close to being swept away at one point!

Everyone back at the camp were excellent. The food is marvellous (bush dinner was a particular highlight), the facilities are great and the rooms/villas are beautiful. Huge, comfortable bed, outdoor shower, indoor shower, bath, large terrace.... They REALLY know how to look after people here.

It is not a cheap way to holiday and having already been on safari in 2009, we thought we would 'get it out of our system' and go again in 2012. We failed miserably. We shall definitely be back! The whole Thornybush experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TownheadHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Thornybush Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our booking was scheduled for just after the horriffic floods in the area in late January 2012 and were well prepared for the hardship which so commonly coinsides with a natural disaster.
A real suprise awaited us as there was no evidence of any shortfall in service or logistic supply chain. From the smiling reception committee to the most helpful porter seeing us to our chalet.
The accomodation is superb, the big double bed surrounded by a white mosquito net which I feel leans more to the romantic than the threat of malaria(out of Africa and other maligned naughtiness in Africa). Then the coup de grace, in the bathroom a door to the outside shower which opens on to the river and the bush and the whole of Africa.. wonderful.
The cusine is truely Africa and we had the good fortune to be treated to dinner on the runway by oil lamp and the most wonderful star canopy of an African sky.
The morning and evening game drives were fabulous and we were treated to nature at its best,the big five and a plethora of other wild life which was shown to us by the most knowledgeble guide Mr Ocean.
Added to this was the damage wrought by the floods on the roads which turned every game drive into a 4X4 rally through some very tricky situations, the guides showed their driving skills for which they must be commended, not once did we have to call for help, well done.
Overall a really magnificent stay I reccomend for all, congrats to JB and his crew.
Serengetti is just a name, "THORNYBUSH" IS the African experiance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drymen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place is amazing. It was our first safari lodge and it set a very high benchmark for those that followed. Even before checking in we were wisked off on an afternoon safari drive and the first animal we saw was a cheetah, quickly followed by buffalo, a lion, rhino, giraffe..almost the big 5 in one afternoon. It was freezing, having actual snow/sleet fall on our way from Joburg, but the vehicles were well equipped with rugs and ponchos and when we got to the lodge we were greeted with sherry to warm us in front of an open fire. Our beautiful little cabins were warm with aircon and electric blanket already turned on - a fabulous hot shower with a monkey audience in the tree outside and we were ready for the delicious dinner.
The staff and management of the lodge make it a wonderful place to base a safari trip and the abundance of animals made it a perfect introduction to Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clapnpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by a cheerful and warm staff, and when we were led to our cottage, we knew we were going to love every minute of our stay. Our cottage was a huge suite all to ourselves, sort of hidden in the woods, with wide windows opening onto the bush: great to admire the beautiful sunsets! We had wanted to go on safaris to see the Big 5, little did we know that the Lodge itself would be so comfortable and so perfect in every way from the waitstaff to the chef, to the naturalist guides and trackers... Even some of the tamer animals, unsollicited, welcomed us: a mother warthog and her two little ones were busily mowing the lawn, and the little black-faced monkeys comically observed us, hoping to steel an apple or a cookie, half given the chance.
We will never forget the experiences we were privvy to, from the leopard who had just caught a baby warthog, to the 2-year old cheetah brother and sister, on their own for the first time, to the blue head birds looking like small turkeys... Even the humans were delightful, attentive and helpful; we happen to form a group with a couple from Ottawa, Canada and honeymooners from Sao Paulo, Brazil and a neighbour (practically) as she was from Massachussetts. Everything contributed to our well-being and to or immense satisfaction.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

It is a small but luxury lodge. The owners and the stuff was extremly friedly.We stay 2 days. The food was home made.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Thornybush exceeded our expectations in every way possible. The lodge has a rustic, natural feel, yet is luxury in every aspect. The staff puts this place in a league of it's own - everyone from the host / hostess', the cleaning staff, cooking staff, waitstaff and especially the rangers and trackers go out of their way to make your staff utter perfection. Special thanks to Greg and Donna (and congratulations to the two of you!) for making our vacation extra special.
My husband and I stayed for three nights / four days at the end of Nov. 2011. The weather was good - we had a day of rain on and off and a few beautiful days where it heated up mid-day. The drives were still cool at this time as it was early morning and in the evening, be sure to bring a jacket.
Our room was fantastic - they are all private little 'huts' which have a private balcony, bath that is full windows with an outdoor shower. Bed was very comfy and you definitely feel secluded in the middle of the bush! We loved every aspect of the lodging. The meals were incredible, all very fresh and the dinners allowed for a little exploration with different meats if you so desired.
The game drives are what this is all about and they could not have been better. We saw everything - lions (male and female), a cheetah lunching on an impala, giraffe around every corner, a herd of elephant, zebra galore, water buffalo, crocs, rhinoceros, many baby animals due to the time of year, and the icing on the cake - a leopard kill! Greg has a wealth of knowledge on all the animals and has an extreme love of birds which were surprisingly so fun to see and learn about. You walk away from each drive with so much more knowledge just from his teachings - he made our trip and you should request he and July (the tracker) if you're able. G Money and July we loved you! Take an afternoon walk as well, learning about the trees and different plants, insects, etc is very interesting.
We walked away from this trip feeling fulfilled, it was relaxing, fun, informative, and we truly felt that we saw the circle of life. Everyone should experience this if they can, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BJW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Whatever it was that my wife and I expected in a photo safari trip was vastly exceeded in every possible way. We were literally "up close and personal" with the Big 5 (lion, water buffalo, leopard, rhinoceros and elephant) every day. We also saw many, many other animals daily, including the likes of cheetahs, giraffes, zebras, deer and on and on.
Thornybush provides a perfect game park experience. The lodge itself is beautiful, and is in an equally beautiful setting. the twice daily game rides are spectacular. There's no other way to describe it. There are two three-hour game rides each day. The morning ride (5:30 AM departure from the lodge) )is broken up by a stop for coffee and muffins, and the afternoon ride (4:30 PM departure) breaks for drinks, both deep in the bush. A big breakfast awaits back at the lodge after the morning ride, and a big dinner--often a surprise candlelit dinner in the bush--upon return in the evening. My wife and I, heavy travelers (nearly 70 countries) consider this the greatest travel experience of our lives.

Room Tip: Werner was our Ranger, and Orlando was our tracker. Both were incredibly good, and you might want t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
8.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,751 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#9 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
184 reviews
3.5 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornybush Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornybush Game Lodge

Address: Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,117 - $1,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornybush Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornybush Game Lodge (Graded 5 star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa)- 18 luxury suites & 2 family suites (40 guests). Nestled in the heart of Big 5 country part of the Greater Kruger National Park, with a huge diversity of mammal and bird species, lies 14 000 hectares of pristine African Bushveld, this is the Thornybush Nature Reserve. The elegant and exclusive Thornybush Game Lodge awaits discovery by the discerning traveller. Unrivaled big game viewing is complemented by exquisite accommodation and sublime cuisine. Thornybush Game Lodge boasts 18 stylish air-conditioned luxury suites and 2 family suites, all with extensive living areas overlooking the seasonal Monwana River. From within the luxurious suites, each with full en-suite facilities and private decks, sweeping vistas can be enjoyed over the savannah and an ever-active water hole. Superb attention to detail and highly personalised service make for a memorable stay. Enjoy exciting dawn and dusk safaris in open Land Cruisers and on walking safaris, take a moment to browse in the intimate library or simply enjoy a treatment in the Beauty Spa or relax at the pool with your favourite cocktail as you bask in Africa’s glorious sunshine. An African safari can be a life-changing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Thornybush Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornybush Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing