We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
296
15
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
15
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented campoutdoor showerwild dogsdry river bedgame driveslee anneother guestsluxury tentssafari experiencehis jobamazing experienceair conditioningmagical placesabi sandslion sightingsmother naturelions roaring
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 319 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2015

This was not our first safari lodge, but it was our first tented accommodation in Africa and frankly, the best! There are only six tents - luxury tents that is - and as that only accommodates 12, there was more staff than guests, and the staff could not have been more pleasant, accommodating, charming and constantly cooking up ways to delight the guests with personal touches and surprise activities. Like a pop-up dinner in the middle of the savannah, lanterns alit, and champagne all-round, or if you happen to mention you really enjoyed the hot drink served at the end of the evening safari ride, you are likely to find a thermos of it by your bed...

From the moment we arrived, by car at the wrong lodge after traversing the wrong road and scratching our rental car all to heck on the brambles, and had to be ferrried cross country in a lodge vehicle leaving our car behind, to the moment we left, in our freshly delivered and polished not a scratch to be seen rental car, we were treated with the utmost in hospitality. But recommend you fly in as most do.

The famous tents are luxury accommodations that just happen to have canvas walls and roofs, all the better to hear the monkeys scrambling about, and the occasional howl in the night - some not so far afield. Ours had a frestanding tub, that was variously filled with bubbles or rose petals and with a full champagne bucket close b each evening. And the meals are sublimne and really almost too much starting with a hot thermos and a muffin to get you warmed up before the early morning safari ride, followed buy a monster brunch on your return at about 10:30, then another gorgeous spread at about 2:30 before the evening safari ride, and then of cousre dinner on the reurn - a different configuration/location each evening and special every time.

All that and I haven't mentioned the wildlife - talk about your big five, viewed multiple times on each safari ride twice a day for three days - marvellous guide and driver, and, yes, the trip of a lifetime! The most marvellous location, accommodation, sights, well done Ngala!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and each one is as great as the next - just go!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJsTripKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2015

Ngala Tented camp is wonderful. my husband and i spent 3 days there and had a wonderful guide, Andrew and a wonderful tracker Adam. We got to see everything we hoped for and had a great adventure. The camp itself is beautiful, the "tents" have air-conditioning and have everything you could think of that you might need. The food was delicious and the staff friendly and very helpful. andBeyond camps are well run and we will probably only go to their camps in the future. They give you your moneys worth.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nana60newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this luxurious tented safari destination along side the Kruger National Park. We had the most wonderful sightings of the big five on numerous occasions. we were privileged to see two male 18 month old Leopard cubs kill an Impala and drag it up a tree.

The ranger was excellent and very knowledgeable. Accommodation first class and the food just fantastic. very friendly staff and we were made to feel very welcome. I would be going back again!

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2015

This is a wonderful experience that I cannot rate highly enough. The accommodation is out of this world with wildlife roaming right outside. The view out to the river (or riverbed when it is dry) is amazing, with the possibility of seeing animals roaming freely. At night you listen to lions roaring from the safety of your bed. The meals are exceptional. 3 course gourmet dinners and full size lunches - but a sandwich is no problem if wanting something light. The chefs are eager to show off their skills and to please. Everyone is so friendly, right down to the security guards who escort you at night. They are there to make this a great experience for you. The game drives rangers and trackers are knowledgeable and passionate about their work - this is more than just a job, it is a lifestyle! The excitement shown by our tracker when he spotted a pangolin was infectious and genuine. Although we didn't get to go offroad (too much rain) we did get to see the Timbavati River forming - great excitement from all the staff, some of whom had seen it before but others it was a new experience - it was like a mini tsunami coming. The frogs that night kept us awake with their songs of joy! Don't be deterred by the word "tent" - this is luxury personified with all amenities included, hot showers or bath, screens on every window, comfortable king size bed, free same day laundry if required - even a well stocked mini bar (and if your preferred tipple is not there, just ask!) This is a "must do" if you're thinking of a safari holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a river frontage tent.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JoanF769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

By far the highlight of my stay in South Africa. All the staff here are brilliant, always so attentive and helpful. The staff definitely made our trip, we received packed breakfast and lunch or our day trip to Kruger National Park. They were always making sure we were comfortable and happy. The food was also amazing, many different options to try. My favorite was the ostrich burger with ostrich egg, it was fantastic to try something like this. The rooms are amazing, the beds comfy and and there was always something to do, a walk through the grounds being what we chose. There was even wifi which was a nice surprise in the main lobby. Cannot recommend this place more!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews