We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, well run camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well run camp”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at Ngala Tented. It was our first visit to this camp, but not our first andBeyond camp. Like all the andBeyond properties we have stayed at, Ngala Tented is beautifully designed and fitted out. The tents are elegant, luxurious and comfortable, and include everything you could possibly need. I loved the outdoor shower even at 5.30am in the dark and cold! The meals prepared by Chef Oscar were excellent and the management of Dennis and Francois was friendly and efficient. We were looked after personally by Khibo. The safari experience was also wonderful. We loved our ranger Amy, who was not only highly competent and knowledgeable, but also a lovely person with a wide ranging interest in life and the world. Our tracker Steve was quiet (read extremely shy) but first class and showed great dedication to his job and finding the animals we wanted to see. I wont go into the game sightings (which were great) as I find this the most frustrating part of some other reviews - what one group sees on any given drive is unique to that drive and by repeating it to prospective guests only raises ridiculous expectations. Every drive is to be appreciated as there is always something new to see, hear, learn and appreciate. My one little grumble about the stay is that having read Trip Advisor I requested one of the riverfront tents. I wasn't surprised that we weren't allocated one of those tents as I assumed everyone requested them, but when I realised they weren't all actually occupied for the duration of our stay - felt a bit annoyed. Having said that, our tent (number 4) was in a lovely secluded spot, meaning no-one walking to or from their tent could see our tent. So all up a wonderful experience and definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
153
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

With 15 000 hectares, this is the biggest reserve we have ever visited. And it is definitely the best game drives we have ever been on! We saw all the big five and lots and lots of more animals. We have been on many game drives in different countries and staying in different lodges, but ranger Dylan and tracker Adam are the best guides we have ever made game drives with! They even founds us a female leopard who where making contact calls to locate her cub, and we followed them for quite a while afterwards.

There are only nine tents with space for two guests each, and the walls and ceiling consist mainly of canvas and mosquito nets. The private and well-secluded shower is outdoors under the open sky adjacent to the elegantly decorated tent. The tents have all the modern conveniences from deliciously comfortable beds to a bathtub, minibar and air condition. Meals are taken in the beautifully decorated main house, or lain tables at the refreshing swimming pool area, or perhaps in the bush cooked over an open fire. The staff loves to surprise the guests and life at the lodge is full of exciting new experiences every day. Upon arrival one is assigned to a private butler, and the whole staff is amazing at remembering guests' names and preferences. The atmosphere quickly becomes intimate and personal, and we felt like family even before the first day was over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiraWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week trip and a 4 night stay at the tented camp. It was faultless. I can only echo other reviews and say that nothing can fully capture the wonderful experience we had at this lodge. From our arrival the staff were superb, friendly, knowledgeable and keen to make our stay as memorable as possible which they succeeded in doing. Our 'tent' was magnificent and the game drives out of this world. Anyone considering a safari would have the most wonderful experience possible if you stayed here. To be honest any & Beyond Lodge appears to offer the same outstanding service, we went to Kwande 2 years ago and had the same experience. Go to South Africa and go here, you will remember it for the rest of your lives.

Room Tip: Any tented lodge is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeacherEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We knew from the literature and reviews that our 5-night stay at Ngala would be a luxurious and exotic experience but we had no idea how incredible the safari adventure would be. The twice-daily treks, guided by our amazing ranger/tracker team Lee Ann and Richard, were beyond anything we could have expected. We not only saw lots of animals every time we left camp (and sometimes while we were still in camp!), but we came to know and understand them in an intimate way. Our highlights included a stand-off between a pride of lions and a herd of giraffe, a leopard and hyena competing for a herd of impala, and a cheetah who (sob) was looking for her mother. At times we felt like we were in a National Geographic special. By the end of our stay, we found ourselves getting caught up in the drama of the bush and developing a deep love and appreciation for the animals' struggle to survive there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The most unbelievable experience ever! The "tent" was luxurious! The staff was impeccable! Everything was personalized. We were always greeted with friendly smiles, the food was gourmet, and our ranger and tracker were knowledgeable and persistent in finding the animals we were interested in.

Room Tip: All the tents are new since they were washed away in 2011. We had tent #3 but overall you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoGatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended our South African adventure with a 3 night stay at Ngala. Just when we thought the trip couldn't get any more amazing, we were blown away with our experience here.
1. Game Drives - our ranger, LeeAnne, and tracker, Richard provided us unforgettable animal sightings. We saw everything we hoped (and more) except for the elusive wild dogs. LeeAnne was so knowledgeable and passionate about her job - we learned so much from her! And if that isn't enough, the sundowners are the icing on the cake. There is nothing quite like enjoying a refreshing glass of wine in the middle of the African bush at sunset.
2. Quaintness - the camp is small (only 8 tents) so you feel very attended to, and you get to know the staff and other guests pretty well. However, if you are more of a private person and enjoy alone time, there is plenty of space to do so.
3. Accommodations - the whole camp was newly renovated when we went (Aug. 2012) so everything was brand new. Don't let the word "tents" fool you. In no way are you roughing it like camping. Our tent was a beautiful, relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen3275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From the pick up at the airstrip to the drop off after our 4 day stay, the experience was fantastic. The game drive where we sat in the vehicle almost in the middle of a small pride of lions, to the enthusiasm and determination of our ranger Liane and the quiet confidence of our tracker Richard. The bush knowledge of them both was so reassuring.They made sure that we saw and experienced as much as possibleIt was all amazing. It really was special. Richard (the other one) our butler looked after us beautifully. The meals were lovely with introduction of the menu every evening by the young chef. The decor of the public areas and of the rooms was designed to calm and please. All in all, this was one of the best times I have had. They have taken the personal service safari experience to a wonderful level. There was a spa which we didn't try out and though there was no fitness centre, there was the option of a portable gym thing if needed. (We didn't need it)
Our tents were fully kitted out and sitting at the pool and seeing a kudu come to drink or seeing a hippo at the pool area one night were memorable experiences.
If all of the &Beyond camps offer this level of service, returning to another will definitely be on the cards.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
20.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
372 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,593 reviews
7.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
324 reviews
20.6 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
668 reviews
23.1 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp
Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting sophistication and comfort, as well as the romance of canvas, the six luxurious safari tents of andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp overlook the banks of the seasonal Timbavati River. Chic and contemporary, the camp combines the simple sophistication of polished wooden decks, textured fabrics and clean lines with a true safari experience that embodies the heart and soul of the bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Tented Safari Camp Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing