We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible from start to finish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ngala tented camp for 4 nights in November and would not have wanted to be anywhere else. We travel extensively around the world for work and play and have stayed in top hotels and eaten in the best restaurants but this is by far the best service we have ever had.

The food was incredible and there was tons of it! Gift and Oscar (the two chefs) surpassed our expectations. Oscar was king enough to give me his recipe of the best Tiramisu I have ever had (Amarula Tiramisu)!

The tents were very spacious and luxurious (the pictures do not do justice to the camp). We heard animals roaming in the camp every night (lions, buffalos, leopards) it was incredible.

The game drives were so much fun with Richard (our tracker) and Jeff (our ranger) going out of their way to find sittings that would blow our socks off. Jeff's off road driving skills in the bush were impressive. We will always remember the two lion cubs with their mother, the leopard and the 3 cheetahs!!!!

The team even surprised us with champagne and nibbles in the dry river bed at candle light on the last evening (fabulous!).

Our personal butler Wilson gave us service that surpassed any 5 star hotel service by a mile!

The manager (Desire) went out of her way to make everybody part of the family. As the camp is quite small (6 tents only) it was a key element to the success of our stay!

We would recommend this destination to anyone, even the most seasoned travellers!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MissQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night after being on the Ngala walking safari for four days. I think that I have pretty high standards and both stays were absolutely amazing. I highly recommend the walking safari too. The one thing that surprised us the most was how delicious the food was - we were not expecting such gourmet meals. The food was so fresh and the spices were delicious. The tented camp is so peaceful and relaxing. We wished we could have stayed here longer. The tents are extremely luxurious and large. The common eating and lounging areas are beautifully decorated. After our evening game drive, we came back to our room and a bubble bath and champagne were waiting for us! We weren't sure if they did this for everyone or if it was because we were on our honeymoon, but it was terrific! There also is a beautiful outdoor shower. The soaps and shampoos smelled great so we bought some in the gift shop. The game drives were amazing - in combination with the walking safari - we saw all of the big five and much more. The service also is amazing at Ngala - everyone is unbelievably nice and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. When you need something you just have to ring a bell and someone comes to your tent. The only negative thing is that when we went it was very cold at night - not the hotel's fault obviously - so it was very cold to sleep and getting up early in the morning for the morning game drive or walk. It was very warm during the day - so dress in layers. On the walking safari, we were given hot water bottles to sleep with so after a little while it was very toasty. At the tented camp, we had electric blankets and there was a heater, but it didn't work too well because there is not high powered electricity. They also gave you blankets to wrap around yourself during dinner which was so cozy. I can't say enough positive things about Ngala. It has to be one of the most amazing places on this earth. My husband and I are dying to go back or to another cc africa property.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband and I have both travelled to many places within the U.S., Europe, Asia, South America, and now Africa, and this was without a doubt the most special and spectacular place we have EVER visited. From the moment you arrive to tented camp, the staff makes you feel like part of the family. Would definately recommend staying here over the main lodge, which has 20 rooms, whereas here there are only 6 tents. Do not be fooled by the word tent because they are about as luxurious as you can get. The Ngala reserve had the most incredible game viewing we saw the entire time on our 3 week trip in Africa, and our ranger Jeff was so incredibly well educated that we enjoyed every moment of our game drives. The food was also incredible, and we cannot rave enough about this magnificient place we visited for our honeymoon.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank astan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We chose to get married at Ngala Tented Safari Camp in June, and were treated to the most amazing experience ever. The staff had gone to unbelievable efforts to ensure that our day was especially memorable. On arrival to the ceremony we were greeted by the ladies and gentlemen of the camp singing traditional African songs. The Minister made the ceremony particularly personal, in addition to presenting us with beautiful African gifts to exchange during the ceremony. The celebrations organised by the lodge were stunning, with the most delightful wedding cake, a tower of meringues, decorated with strawberries and spun sugar, presented to us during the signing of the register. Meanwhile, our room had been decorated with the most beautiful flowers and petals. Our evening ended with a magnificent dinner on our deck. All in all, it was an incredibly special experience.

The safari component of our stay was equally stunning, we could not believe how close to the animals we got. The rangers and trackers skills are extraordinary; we had a succession of animals to view throughout every game drive. Meals in the camp are exceptional; the cooking is out of this world! This camp comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

This camp was a wonderful final stay on a two week trip through Africa. The property is owned by CC Africa, which has similar properties throughout sub-Saharan Africa and is well-known for the qualities of their properties.

The accomodations were five star with the "tents" being much better than many five -star hotels I have stayed at. The service was top notch from the singing welcome upon arrival, to the gourmet cuisine with a local twist, and our guide was articulate and a virtual walking encyclopedia regarding the wildlife found in Ngala.

Besides the beautiful accomodations, your morning and evening drives will not disappoint. We saw lions, cheetah, leopards, african wildcats, jackals-- everything except for elephants, but go to Chobe to see those.

The service was very personalized and one evening they actually had coktails and hor d'ouerves set up for us on our route back to camp before the night portion of the drive (with Pimm's cocktails and champagne no less).

This was true class act alll the way around, and it is a place I will never forget-- it really was that good.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

The camp is small and has a very intimate and isolated feel. The first night we were there, in late September 2006, we were the only guests in camp. The staff greeted us with song on our arrival and then took care of our every need with tremendous cheerfulness. The game viewing was great thanks in large part to our tracker who rejoiced in the name Elvis! He had the ability to melt into the bush with nothing more than a radio and then sometime on we would get the call to come and see his find. My own favourite was a male lion with a very possesive paw draped across a zebra kill growling at a lioness who was trying to approach to feed. At the time when we were there, warm jackets for early morning and evening were a must but the days were very warm and sunny. Food is good and the tented suites are very comfortable - they are significantly larger than they look in photographs.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

Ngala does "bare luxury chic" very well. It provides an escape from "technology" for wired city dwellers and a return to "basics". You focus on the game drives, the weather, your fellow travellers for company and the food. Ngala never lets you forget that you are out in the 'wild". There are no telephone or cable lines in the tents, no television, no electric lights in the camp outside of the tents; and you are given a whilstle in your room for use in case of emergency. You also walk to and from your tent at night by torchlight in the company of a camp 'guard" as the camp is not wire-fenced and animals have been known to come into the camp.

The wonderful food and wine on offer forms a huge part of this experience. You are fed six times a day :
(1) 5am- It's pitch dark outside and you are woken up in your tent with juice and homemade flapjacks;
(2) 6am -You adjourn to the dining tent for a bite before the game drive and your pick of cereal, croissants and other danish pastries;
(3)10am- You return from your game drive and have a full English fry-up;
(4) 1pm- A light lunch of salad, kebabs and cous cous is served, and dessert comprises of lovely mango sorbet;
(5) 4pm -Afternoon tea is served with homemade cake and biscuits before you embark on another game drive;
(6) 8pm- Dinner is served after coming back from a game drive. Kingklip, impala, beef are typical main courses on offer.

(Along the way on evening game drives, the ranger will often stop for a "sundowner" with biltong to boot.)

Given the quality and quantity of food provided, do bring your yoga mat for some exercise in the tent or you'll end up feeling somewhat roly-poly at the end of your safari.

One point to note, if you are at Ngala in the wet season, waterproofs and wellies are rather useful as it gets wet and muddy on the game drives. The tent is cool and comfortable in dry season but it does flap in the heavy wind and rain. We experienced both dry and wet weather whilst we were there and rather regretted that we had not brought our wet weather gear! All in all, we enjoyed getting away from being in the city and looking up at the starry sky at night. The whole experience was incredibly beautiful in a very simple way.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
17.3 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
460 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
20.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
380 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
455 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting sophistication and comfort, as well as the romance of canvas, the six luxurious safari tents of andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp overlook the banks of the seasonal Timbavati River. Chic and contemporary, the camp combines the simple sophistication of polished wooden decks, textured fabrics and clean lines with a true safari experience that embodies the heart and soul of the bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Tented Safari Camp Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing