We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay and see wonderful wildlife.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay and see wonderful wildlife.”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Luxurious rooms, wonderful food, friendly and super efficient service. Our ranger, Lyson, and his tracker, Jimmy, were amazing at finding all the amazing wildlife: lots of lions, elephants, rhinos, buffalo, wild dogs, zebras, giraffes, and even a couple of leopards. The hosts had lots of surprises, all good. And all the wine, beer, and spirits you could want. It was a perfect four days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
195
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Have just returned from a two night three day trip to Ngala Lodge in the Timbavati. Please note , that in comparison to the other lodges this is AFFORDABLE- but the experience is on a par, if not better than the more expensive lodges.
Expertly managed by MammaConi, and her extremely able team- this is bush luxury with attention to the smallest detail. Our accommodation was excellent, and the food sublime. Our ranger- SIPHO is a smart, very informative, and enthusiastic guide. His passion for the bush and his knowledge of all creatures big and small is close to remarkable. Thank you again to you all.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just completed another comfortablestay with AndBeyond. My main interest is the wildlife of course, but not specifically the big five, although we did see them during our stay. I found it more intereting to learn about the other animals and birds and to be able to sit and observe their behaviour. I learned a lot about reading animal spoor from our tracker Jimmy. Lyson is a wonderful ranger, and his enthusiasm is infectious. Although it was the dry season, finding game was more challenging than other locations because of the vegetation (mopane trees and other bushes).

Food was great as usual, rooms are a little tired looking but comfortable and clean nonetheless. Warmth from other staff we met felt genuine.

Elephant, warthog, impala and several birds stopped by to visit the waterhole. It was easy to spend several hours watching all the activity.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My fiance and I spent months planning for our honeymoon (nearly as long as the wedding itself - although my now wife may disagree) & each of us wanted to start our African journey off with the iconic safari experience. After numerous itineraries and researching different safari options, we were both repeatedly drawn to Ngala and &Beyond. Thankfully we went with our gut, because Ngala exceeded all expectations! What more can be said, other than WOW! The food, the staff & the lodging were all top notch. We were lucky
to be paired with a tracker and guide who managed to find us the Big 5 on our first game drive (including a fight over a kill by 2 lions, 18 hyena and 3 different male lions). Our guide, Roy, even gave us an extra special astronomy lesson of the Southern Hemisphere stars on the return from an afternoon drive). The food, the cottages, the lodge and the staff are all truly first class! The only negative thing that my wife & I can say about Ngala... is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beakerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Well, I think the fact that I have rated Ngala Safari Lodge 5/5 on ALL aspects says it all really.

We stayed there for just one night back in February (I am embarrassed that it has taken me quite so long to get around to writing this review !!).

The drive from the main Control gate was about an hour, which did surprise me a bit, as I wasn't expecting it to be quite so long ... but for anyone reading this who is thinking of going, well, at least you now know ! We had a VW Polo, and the roads were OK - a bit bumpy in places, but perfectly accessible. And the lodge was signposted the entire way, so no worries there about getting lost at all.

We were welcomed by staff, and shown to our room ... that was the first plus. The room was large and spacious, it had a very authentic African feel to it and the most comfy kingsize bed ! A nice touch was the silver plate of fudge and dried fruit left in the room (which was replenished at turn down !! ). The bathroom was perfectly adequate - large shower, double basins, bath and WC. The room was air-conditioned too, but there was also a small covered verandah outside with a table and 2 chairs.

We went for lunch ... 2nd plus. The food was FANTASTIC !!! Buffet style, lots of choice ... and top quality.

We set off on the first game drive ... 3rd plus. Our ranger was friendly and knowledgeable, although a bit quiet until he got to know you - but hey, he found us wild dog within the hour, so I could forgive him for anything ! We sat with the dogs for nearly an hour ... you can do this at Ngala, because only they have the traversing rights on their land - so it is the vehicles from Safari Lodge and Tented Camp ONLY out on the drives.

The dinner that night was in the boma ... again, beautiful food.

Finally, this review wouldn't be the same without mentioning Connie ... the 'hostess' at Ngala. Amazing woman. Just one introduction, and she remembers your name for your entire stay, and you feel as if you have known her for years.

All in all ... it was a fabulous experience, and I was just gutted that I only had one night there. Would I recommend it to anyone ... without a doubt .... YES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Stayed here over Easter with family and it was as good as usual for this hotel chain. The area takes about 50 mins to drive to from Hoedspruit and the hotel is on a good location boarding Kruger, although the game drives take place on their private land. Rooms were nice, and are rustic although I would say on the small side with no minibar. Food excellent as usual in one of 3 venues, rangers and trackers great, management very helpful and knowledgeable and the general staff great too. Our waiter Isaac and babysitter (who clocked up about 35 hours in 4 days at a very cheap price) was great with our little boy. The hotel also has a nice big pool and a small watering hole - great for attracting the animals during the day. We saw all the big 5 a few times over and the hotel organised a fantastic bush breakfast and Easter egg hunt on Easter Sunday. There is also a tv room and computer for use, beware though we could only get a mobile signal on the game drives, not in the camp itself and activities organised for older children such as cooking. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed at Ngala for three nights in January. My partner and I had never been on safari before, but the entire experience totally exceeded our expectations. I'm not usually a fan of overly personal service, but Connie and the Ngala 'family' as they call themselves, hit just the right balance of genuine friendliness and attentive service.

The lodges are spacious and very luxurious, with lots of personal touches - the free laundry service is a nice extra. The main lodge area where food is served is charming and comfortable, and the food was fantastic, particularly the breakfast! Dinner is served in a different location every night, another thoughtful enhancement to the experience. Our 'butler' Nathanial served us our meals throughout our stay and was nicely attentive, without being over the top.

The twice-daily game drives were beyond amazing (once you get used to the 5am wake-up call!) - we saw all of the big five and much, much more. Our ranger Dyke was unbelievably knowledgeable and really made the drives what they were. The daily stop for sundowners in the bush was another nice touch!

The rest of the time, you can make use of the very nice pool area, the games room (with a surprising amount of TV channels, considering there is no mobile phone reception at the camp), or catch up on some sleep (which is what we tended to do)!

But what makes it work so well is the people - I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. If you're thinking of going on safari - consider Ngala, it really is worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
588 reviews
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
680 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing