We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
531
35
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
35
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngala safari lodge game drives wild dogs cape town watering hole water hole the cottages game reserve our honeymoon attention to detail south africa three nights many choices memorable experience private pool wonderful food dining area
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 573 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2015

Beautiful, luxurious place, outstandingly skilled guides, extremely friendly staff. Top quality, highly recommended. You won't find a better animal experience anywhere on the planet, and at Ngala you do it in luxury.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mr_jonathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015

What can we say about Ngala? This was our trip of a life time and the Ngala family made it much more than that. It is an experience that will stay with us forever.

The people, the food, the accommodation and of course the animals were amazing. Mama Connie looks out for everyone as if they were her own family and our butler Marcus couldn't do enough for us and made our stay so special. Our ranger, Elliot, was absolutely amazing, taking us on many an adventure and an African massage we will never forget! His knowledge was outstanding and along with Arab our tracker they enabled us to see all the big five and many many more.

We can't wait to return - if you are thinking of going on safari don't hesitate and head to Ngala for the experience of your lives.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2015

We got to meet people from Sweden as well as Johannesburg at this camp. Our guide Dyke was an excellent tracker -- we saw leopards several times as well as wild dogs, white rhinos, and (briefly) a black rhino. The accommodations were exceptional -- breakfast in the bush was a highlight.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BonnieFerron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

I always said if I ever get to do a safari I want to stay for at least part of the trip at a luxury camp. Wow, we loved Ngala. Lots of personal attention, even had our own butler, Norman. Food was exceptional. They even surprised us one evening with dinner on our cottage patio, candles, Champaign and all. The ranger and guide we had were outstanding, offering lots of tidbits about the reserve and the animals. If we ever go back, we are heading to Ngala.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuckeyeBob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2015

For 8 years we've been waiting patiently to go back to South-Africa and enjoy a proper safari experience. The reason....our twins. If there's one thing in the world I wanted them to experience it was a safari. And as soon as they turned 8. We took of. We originally wanted to go to Phinda but as we decided only in December to go over for New Year everything was fully booked (all over South-Africa really). Anyway, the people at andBeyond were extremely helpful and found a creative solution for us. THANK YOU Cathrine !!!
Getting to South-Africa turned out to be a nightmare (Air France, I'm still waiting to hear back on the reimbursement for the many delays, the nights we spend at airport hotels and the connecting flights we had to change).
Fortunately we had Cathrine looking after us who made sure everything was adapted to the impact of the many delays. So when we finally made it to South-Africa and we arrived in Johannesburg we were treated like royalty by the rep from andBeyond.
At some point we did make it to Ngala and when we changed vehicles getting there (the van could get to the lodge) into an open jeep. We forgot about all the troubles and got immersed into what would be 5 nights of absolute heaven. All over friendly staff (Mamma Connie and Kevin, we think of you with great fondness and the picture of you with our kids has a prominent place in our family album).
The drives were awesome and the experiences overwhelming. Ranger Dan and tracker Sam got us to see not only the Big5 but even the Magnificent 7.
New Years cocktails in the open, great food in the boma, on the terrace,in the courtyard, a farewell breakfast on our last morning drive....
The team went really above and beyond to make this an unforgettable experience. Thank you. Everyone.
As these reviews are supposed to be balanced I do have to mention that the lodges are ready for some updating (apart form the family lodge). The andBeyond team is aware of that and there are plans for a very big overhaul. However, it shouldn't put anyone off. They are still very luxurious, have very amenity (and more) you can think of, and you will not be disappointed at all.
Don't hesitate, just go. We're back for over a month now and not a day goes by when I think about our stay at Ngala. And the kids....well, they only want to go there on holiday now. I have a challenge for the next holiday...

Room tip: Wifi is only available around the gift shop. If you are very desperate ask a room that's close by as it reaches some of them. But my advise is....use it once to let the home front know you arrived well and then put phones in the safe in your room till the day you leave.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews