We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with great game viewing and staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was my second visit to Ngala but this time with my children aged 11,8 and 6yrs. The children coped with the game drives over the 5 nights we were there very well. We were spoilt by the great game viewing-all the big 5 plus wild dogs/hyenas/honey badgers. Perfect place for families with children wishing to experience the magic of wild Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rognaik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and sons just returned from four nights at Ngala Private Game Reserve and couldn't have had a better experience. The game viewing was spectacular, the accommodation luxurious and the staff awesome. We were extremely lucky to have seen three different leopards, two sightings of wild dog, one where they treed the leopard after stealing the kill, uncountable sightings of buffalo, rhino and elephant. We saw lions hunting and wild dogs hunting as well. Dylan and Fanny were an awesome game team and we learned so much from them about the ecosystem. Given, our butler, saw to our every need, met us with hot towels and drinks after the game drives and served all our fantastic meals.
I will return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bioteacher67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as part of our Honeymoon and loved every single minute of it. It's been a year and a half since we stayed here (apologies for the delayed review) but we still reminisce about returning.

The staff was just so attentive, Beatrice, our butler was great and by the end of the 4 nights, she always had my husband's drink ready for him at meals. The food was simply delicious (they feed you every 2 hours from when you get up to before you go to bed) and not only that, when I emailed Ngala for a few recipes of dishes my husband loved, the cook emailed me within a few days! Talk about wonderful service. We felt pampered the entire time during our stay and every day was better than the last. I don't want to give away any special surprises and there were quite a few!

And the animals! We really cared about the game and everything else was a bonus. The game viewing was excellent and the best we had on our trip (visited 3 other camps on this trip). Not only did we see the big 5 but we saw them close up and even saw a mother cheetah kill an impala and feed on it with her three cubs. We also saw baby hyenas (few weeks old), a pack of lions feeding on a water buffalo, rhinos, a leopard next to the jeep, wild dogs, you name it! Our guide Barney and tracker Joe worked really well together as well with the other guides out each day. They were great about ensuring that the guests saw the amazing wildlife and we never felt like we were all clumped together with the other visitors. I never had to worry about another jeep getting in the way of a photo.

I would highly recommend this place - it really is magical and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in Ngala and 4 at Dulini Lodge, we loved Dulini because for a couple the rooms are very romantic, in Ngala rooms are ok and well equipped but as lodge maybe is more for families or groups.

Anyway at Ngala we got to see lots of animals, including all the big five and in big quantities (for example got to see more than 40 elephants at a hundred meters from our vehicle), the rangers are very knowledgable and have a very good attitude.

Food is very good, actually my complain would be that they feed you very well and there´s lot of food!, they also gave us a surprise dinner on the terrace of our room and decorated it on a lovely way.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertoOchoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My 16 year old daughter and I were privileged to spend 4 nights at Ngala in April and it was an amazing experience in every way. Hospitality in S. Africa sets a very high standard anyway, but Ngala brings it to a new level! Every staff member was so warm and attentive, the setting is so beautiful, the food was excellent and never stops coming... and all this is on top of the superlative game viewing we had - leopards, lions, cheetah, our big cat adventures up close and personal were so thrilling and we also had some great experiences with wild dogs, watching them gambol and play. There was plenty of other wildlife as well, elephants, rhino, giraffes, zebra, cape buffalo, hyena etc. which is always wonderful to see but it was the experiences with the big cats that were the most amazing! As a private game reserve (vs. in Krueger Park itself) our vehicles could go off road and gave us the opportunity to find the animals where they were and observe them in close proximity - fantastic!
There is nothing that could have made our stay more perfect! There is no cell phone service or internet so some people might find that a draw-back - however when we were out on the game drives, I could get cell phone service so did have a daily opportunity to send/receive texts or make a call when we had our refreshment stop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The highlight of our recent 4 night stay was the excellent and cheerful staff who did their best to make this stay one to remember. We booked the safari suite that is much bigger than the other rooms. It had a nice porch looking over the riverbed & the best glassed in shower (you could watch the animals as you shampooed). The room was top notch with great towels and nice amenities. Thus, we had a near perfect hotel experience.
The food was also excellent with nice breakfast and lunch buffets and good dining room-type dinners alternating with BOMA (barbecue) nights. The soup was some of the best I’ve had. Our butler Marcus, who also served our meals learned our habits quickly and did a great job. We had a nice meal in our room with the Lodge African singers (staff) serenading us: a special moment. Thus, we had an excellent dining experience.
Of course you go “on safari” to see animals. Our ranger Mike and his tracker Elvis worked hard to give us an excellent selection of animals. It’s not their fault, but the lodge is pretty far away from most of the game; although quite a few animals hung out near the airstrip. We had 8 drives and 6 or 7 of then yielded nice events including a pack of wild dogs arguing with some zebras, a leopard kill and a pride of lions (only seen once and after dark). We’ve had better game viewings on our previous 2 “safaris” at other lodges. Thus, we had a good, but not great safari experience.
All told, an excellent trip which we enjoyed greatly and the place has some of the nicest people working there. Finally, the lodge was the best priced of the 3 lodges (all run by & Beyond) that we have stayed at so far providing good value for the money. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Everything about Ngala was top notch: service, setting, accomodations, swimming pool. The food was extraordinarily fine: wonderful variety, quality preparation, a gourmet delight. Game viewing was great too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madcitysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
637 reviews
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $234 - $2,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing