We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'By the way there's an elephant outside your room'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'By the way there's an elephant outside your room'”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

‘By the way there’s an elephant outside your room’ said Iwan, the manager, as he showed us to our room. The rooms are lovely & spacious and ours had a patio overlooking the water hole and sure enough there was an elephant just outside having a drink.

The Lodge is beautifully situated by a water hole and has plenty of animals coming to drink from the water (2 herds of elephants usually daily) baboons in a nearby tree, Egyptian geese, a heron, ‘go away’ birds, bright kingfishers and yellow weaver birds in the trees around the Lodge. In the evenings we ate under the stars in the Boma with a big log fire in the middle. The food was good, especially the breakfast just after the first game drive in the morning, but the main focus of the stay at the lodge is the amazing 3 hour game drives in the morning (wake up call at 5:15!) and evening.

Iwan (who is also a ranger) took us on our game drives with Nyathi who was our tracker during our stay; Iwan was so attentive and so determined that we should see as much as we could whilst we were with him and we weren’t disappointed. During our 5 game drives we saw elephants, kudos, rhinos, impala, lions, zebras, warthogs, giraffes, baboons, monkeys, ground horn bills and a leopard – we were so excited as it was the first time we had seen a leopard on safari before and we were even able to take a few photos before she/he stalked out of sight.

The rangers are on hand most of the time and are there to escort us back to our rooms at night and they also gave us a walkie talkie radio for emergencies. During the stay they make sure you have enough food and drink and nothing seemed too much trouble, especially for Iwan, I can’t praise him enough for helping to make our Gomo Gomo trip so special. I would thoroughly recommend Gomo Gomo as a wonderful safari experience.

We used 2 by 2 Holidays to arrange our tailormade tour of Kruger Park and the panoramic route and we were very pleased with their service and choice of accommodation and the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KT3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    58
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
107
208
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Well I made it.... yes I returned to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge after almost a year. I was welcomed with a cool drink by Management and Staff.. Some new faces to whom I was introduced too. I had been assigned to the same hut as last year. It was just the same, so large, neat, clean, and what a view. I had no chance to put my feet up. I was ready to go. The excellency of this game lodge appeared not to have changed. I met other travellers from England, Belgium, Norway, Holland and Canada during my 10 day stay. I met up with staff I had met before, all with that Colgate smile and ever so helpful, and ready to join the fun with me. The food preparation was so healthy, and every meal gained a 'two thumbs' up sign, with a lot of other people giving the same sign. The whole lodge to me was still spick and span and always someone there, like Lizet and the two Deons to see if you needed any assistance. I met up with Caswell (tracker) again and shook hands with Ross a new guide. What a team what a pair. If "something" was hiding, it was not for long believe me. The drives were absolutely magical and wonderful, saw the big five throughout my stay. I came with my motto "expect the unexpected and you won't be disappointed", and I can assure you your never disappointed. The rates are very very reasonable. I would highly recommend this lodge and also recommend a longer stay, the animals are all here, again believe me. I have put this lodge in my Basket List for 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

If your are looking for the best lodge in africa. You just found it!

Gomo Gomo is the best lodge ive ever visited. Great food. Great staff great wild.

The staff. Ivan and Ross and Petro is great and friendly.

10/10

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at Gomo Gomo and are still sad to have left! We had a great experience, mainly due to our Ranger Dean and Tracker Dominic but also the wider Gomo Gomo team.

We were collected at the airport and transported to the lodge, we were lucky enough to see Baboons and Warthogs on the airport runway and then giraffe and buffalo on our way to the camp. Dean greeted us and provided us with a nice cool drink and showed us to the dam area to relax while we waited to check in. He then escorted us to our room, a nice spacious 2 bed (we had booked a 1 bed but this was the only free room - a bonus given we had 2 large cases!). Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.

Our game drives were excellent and a lot of fun, we were in a great group and had a good laugh (including having dung thrown at us by baboons!). Dean and Dominic worked well together to ensure we saw 4 of the big 5 and also the African Wild Dogs (one of which had an antelope's head in its mouth!). We didn't see a Leopard but Dominic and Dean did work hard to try and find us one and made up for it by finding plenty of relaxed Lions, a huge herd of buffalo in the middle of a stampede, rhino, elephants, giraffe, kudu, warthogs, lots of birds. We had a hippo in the dam and got to see it out of the water which was amazing. Dean and Dominic are very mindful of the animals and our safety, we were in good hands. The rangers across all the Klaserie reserve camps seem to work well together across the radio to ensure everyone benefits from one another's sightings.

The rangers work seriously hard at this camp, not only did they do our 5 am wake up call and our twice daily game drives, they servde at the bar, met guests, do transfers and check in etc. They work 4 am - 11 pm 28 days in a row and definitely deserve recognition for their hard work. They seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs which is nice to see.

The food was plentiful and there was a good choice, I wasn't very well due to side effects from Malarone and therefore wasn't eating but my husband was constantly eating and really enjoyed the food. The atmosphere was great, we ate at the boma on 2 nights and 1 night ate inside and the staff sang to us which was really nice.

This is a very reasonable, comfortable camp with excellent staff and game viewing, I would highly recommend it. It's a far more personal, intimate safari experience than we have had in the past and getting to see the Lion's on so many occasions was really special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited in January 2014 and as it was our first Safari we did not know what to expect but it was fantastic. The accommodation was in individual lodges which were excellent. Great welcome on arrival. We were introduced to our tracker Dominic and our guide Jonjon who we had for our 6 game drives. They could not do enough for us and their depth of knowledge extended to plants and birds as well as animals. We were fortunate to see all of the big 5 plus other animals and a pack of wild dogs. I would recommend this place to anyone the people there could not have worked harder

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We highly recommend staying in Gomo Gomo. The lodge was lovely and the game viewing was excellent, we saw all the Big 5 numerous times! The staff were fantastic as well, we will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Gomo Gomo Lodge for 5 nights in January 2014. The welcome we got when we arrived from the staff was very welcoming, our bags were taken to our room and we were offered a drink, as it was late we went straight into dinner and then escorted to our room. The room was clean and spacious and had a private balcony overlooking the water hole. The rangers Joss and John John did there best with the trackers to make sure we saw the big 5, and we did!!!.
If you want a safari lodge that is friendly, clean, with experienced rangers look no further than Gomo Gomo Lodge. The food was fresh and well presented. We highly recommend it and would like to thank them for a really magical experience and hope to return one day. John John if you read this have you spoken to godfrey about the brown zebra!!!!!.

Room Tip: Room that overlooks water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
15.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#5 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Property: Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomo Gomo Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Gomo Gomo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing