We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babies welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

In this reserve they are the only 1 of 28 lodges that allows babies to stay - a welcome for couples with children who want to get away to a game lodge. I really battled to find a place that accommodates babies. They even allowed my baby to go on the game drive, and it really was no big deal! We had a car seat and she enjoyed the outdoors and the open vehicle. I sadly forgot to take a hat for her, but another guest helped me out. Just fair warning the only facility they really provide is a camping cot - there is no access to a kitchen for washing of bottles or sterilising, but they did help me out when I requested. Also no changing mat or nearby place to buy things so go well-prepared.

The game drives were awesome!! Very friendly staff and a great location. I found the food average and minimal at times. Also would have preferred it if they provided bottled water in the rooms. On the whole a good stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have a water view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We very much enjoyed our time at Gomo Gomo, but their strapline of “welcome to the wild” is worth bearing in mind. The wildlife was the highlight of our stay.

The accommodation was fine for the amount of time that you spend in it – most time in the middle of the day is spent relaxing by the waterhole, keeping an eye out for visiting wildlife. As well as excellent sightings of animals and birds on the game drives, we had the rather unusual experience of wildlife excitement during two of our evening ‘boma’ meals – the first interrupted by a leopard sighted near the camp and the second by an impala running into the waterhole to escape a chasing hyena.

We didn’t find the welcome as warm as other lodges that we stayed at, the accommodation was adequate rather than luxurious, and the food was wholesome rather than refined – but this was consistent with the real focus of Gomo Gomo being the wildlife experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDnBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 5 night stay at Gomo Gomo lodge, as part of our honeymoon, we found the whole visit fantastic from start to finish and we would have loved to have stayed longer. During our stay we saw all of the BIG 5 and spent several hours on the drives amongst herds of elephant, and buffalo, Our guide Bernhard and tracker could not have been more helpful, and determined we tracked Leopards for 1 and half hours through the bush and we found two on the same night, we tracked wild dogs for over an hour and came across a pack of 11 at a waterhole having just feed from a kill. The waterhole at the venue is a jewel in the crown it attracted wildlife throughout the day and night, waking up to find a leopard, civet and many other animals have been just outside your lodge in the night was so exciting. The walks are very informative about the tracks, dung , plants and trees. Our lodge had a wonderful view of the waterhole and we had a very nice gift left for us on our last night...The food was good and there seemed to be plenty of it, the evening drives and sun downers are something special as are the animals which you only see at night, now they spot a bush baby in a tree from 300meters away I do not know, I won't forget the angry Chamelion or the baby elephant meeting the croc in a hurry, would love to be back there..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljohnpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed at Gomo Gomo for 3 nights. Our kids are 9 & 12. Its a small and intimate game lodge that had up to 20 guests while we were there. The rooms are beautiful and quite unexpected out in the middle of nowhere. We had a family room with a queen and 2 single beds in a separate room. The room is fully airconditioned and has a little verandah that overlooks the water hole.

Our kids were the only ones there and we were very conscious of them making too much noise. It didn't seem to be an issue though as everyone seemed happy. There is a lovely pool which they played in a lot. There is free wifi up in the main lodge.

The game drivers were amazing. Our guide was HJ and he went out of his way to make sure we all had a great time. We saw every animal except for the leopard but we still had an amazing experience.

The food was top class. It was not a buffet but a set menu so we had no choice what to eat. This did prove to be a problem for the kids at some meals but they were OK. Next time I would request more kid friendly meals before arrival. The game drives started at 6 am and breakfast wasn't until 9.30. This was an issue as there was only a dry biscuit to eat with our coffee before hand which is not sufficient for kids. Easily fixed though - as we asked new of the staff for a bowl of cereal. All good. The only other thing i would have said is that a fruit bowl for snacks between meals would be great.

We got washing done here for 100 rand per bag. Great price and it was back the same day.

The water hole right in front of the lodge was great. We had herds of elephant, impala, wart hog, kudu and a crocodile.

I would highly recommend Gomo Gomo lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great time here. We stayed for 2 nights and the rooms were spacious and had a patio that looked over the watering hole. The game drives with Rowan were awesome – he was very informative and tenacious about finding the animals for us to enjoy and photograph. We only had 6 people in our vehicle which ensured that everyone had a good view. The food ranged from good to OK but the main reason for going is to see the animals!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Gomo Gomo for three nights, and had a fantastic time. The lodge facilities were of a high standard, food tasty, and staff all pleasant. We had Bernard as a guide and I feel that he was really good. We got to see more animals than the other guests at the time, and he got us amazingly close to all of the animals. His knowledge was excellent, and he made every drive enjoyable, despite the fact that it was unseasonably cold, and not the best weather conditions for spotting the game. This was my first safari, but I would definitely recommend this lodge and felt that the experience surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I give this Lodge only 3 stars because of the level of accommodation and food that it offer - were I to rate the experience it is clearly much higher. I think some people will "put up with" the unusual food here but this is a bit of a warning for those looking for something a little higher drawer.

That being said I actually enjoyed every single meal - but I am 125kg and not that fussy! The rest of my family did not like it much but fortunately they had the benefit of a terrific guide - Haya - who was very knowledgable and knows his domain extremely well. Unlike the other lodges we visited on this trip (in Botswana) all the drivers here are heavily armed. I am not sure if that is because of poachers or the game!

5:30am wakeups for a 6:30 drive were bracing but incredibly fruitful. We didn't manage to see a leopard but many sightings of other wildlife made that omission just a case of bad luck, and no regrets watsoever.

In summary the activities here are great and the location overlooking a man made waterhole was lovely. Tracking beside a family of Lions with three 3 month old cubs was special. The accommodation though had very little of the charm we found elsewhere and although I may never return if you wont be put off by odd food and aluminium sliding doors on your room you will have a tremendous time here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
16.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
273 reviews
12.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $112 - $1,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomo Gomo Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Gomo Gomo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing