We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Klaserie Sands River Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
$709
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanatseni Private Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
$407
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivory Wilderness(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
$570
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Africa on Foot Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
$417
$406
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
nThambo Tree Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
$488
$476
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
nDzuti Safari Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amani Safari Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angela's Safari Camp(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
389
77
26
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
77
26
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holewater holeherd of elephantsbush walkour honeymoonoff roadbreakfast and lunchstayed for nightssafari experiencewild dogsfood was greatmale lionwake up callcamp firefantastic experiencekruger national parkloved every minute
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 505 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Gomo Gomo and had the best safaris of our our trip near/in Kruger Park. The location is ideal (2 hours from Nelspruit airport, closer to Hoedspruit airport) for a family holiday. We had 4 unfforgettable safaris, from the time we got there to when we left we were taken care of by our ranger who was the most interesting and knowledgeable person about wildlife ever. Bush walks and our 4 safaris were all interesting, we saw lots of animals, the kids (12 and 10) thoroughly enjoyed it. The great thing about the Gomo Gomo rangers is that they go off-road and this is not what we had for the other safaris at a different lodge. The breaks in the middle of the wild for coffee and afternoon snack are a plus to the safaris. The rooms were very clean, in our small cottage we had a double room, bathroom with both shower and bath and separate room with 2 single beds for the kids. The food is amazing at breakfast, lunch and dinner served at the table, dinner outside around fire place. The environment, small lake, swimming pool and sunbathing area, safaris and bush walks and full board all included in the price, we compared with another lodge and the Gomo Gomo is worth every pound, believe me. Riian our ranger was incredible, he knows so much, staff in general were very kind with the kids. We saw many of the big five but the buffalos, families of lions, wild dogs, leopards very closely, rhinos, elephants. What an increadible place and if you have one place to go to go to this lodge. 2 days and 4 safaris was the perfect minimum and we then went to self drive in Kruger but I would say if you only do one lodge, min stay would be 3 nights and 6 safaris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddymarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We originally heard about Gomo Gomo from Trailfinders, the UK travel agents we use for flights, and although we booked directly, I'm so glad they mentioned this amazing place as I've no idea how I would have gone about choosing from the hundreds of options. We had 4 nights here at the end of our trip and whilst we knew it would be the highlight, we didn't realise just what a magical and exhilarating experience a safari here would be.

I won't repeat what others have said about the lodge, etc. It's all very nice. What made this so successful for us was the dedication, warmth and enthusiasm of the staff - all of them. Our ranger Ivan and tracker Dominick made sure we had the best possible chance of spotting game. We saw 4 of the big 5 on our first drive! We were apparently exceptionally lucky with sightings during our time, to the point that I said to my husband that we didn't really need to have booked 4 nights.... but then on our penultimate drive we saw a cheetah (rare) really close up devouring an impala, so we left having seen the Magnificent Seven in the end.

Speaking as someone who's not an animal lover and doesn't even have pets, I can't believe how interesting it was hearing all about the animal behaviour. Ivan knew the answer to every single question I came up with. We also learned a lot about birds and plants. The staff genuinely like meeting people from all over the world, sit with you at dinner etc and we really appreciated how much they give of themselves, talking about their country and their own lives, which opens up so much for guests. There is a very convivial and sociable atmosphere amongst guests with people coming and going all the time. I did overhear someone questioning the presence of children but that is clearly part of the ethos at Gomo Gomo and they go out of their way to make families welcome. All the children present during our stay were very well-behaved and they tend to put families together on game drives.

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. Unlike others we didn't particularly rate the food, but that is a minor point in the whole scheme of things. Thanks to everyone at the lodge for making it such a wonderful 4 days for us.

Room Tip: Family chalet 3 is very well situated.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As this was our first visit to a game reserve can't compare it against anything but will be very hard to find anything better. Everyone who worked there from cleaners to Rangers really helped to make our stay worth while....the lodge was clean and had everything we needed for our 3 day stay, food was very good and the game viewing was excellent, especially the lions..if we ever go ack to SA, will defo be back at Gomo Gomo.

Thank Ewal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything about Gomo Gomo is great: the lodge, the staff, the game safaris,the location, the food and even the cocktails (Lion Wannabe is a must try!). We had the best time there and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickymoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had what was comfortably one of the best weeks of our lives. Everything - from the rooms & food to the rangers and trackers and of course the wildlife & bush walks - was an absolute joy.

We chose this place because of (relatively) competitive pricing and the waterhole location & we're delighted we did.

Every days starts with a wake-up call at 5 am, and from that moment until bedtime (after a few post-dinner drinks with the rangers), every single minute is overwhelmingly, mind-blowingly fantastic.

Not to be missed, never to be forgotten & hopefully one day to be repeated.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews