We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memories for a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

we were a group of 10, who spent two nights at gomo gomo. as the chief travel planner, i zeroed in on gomo gomo after extensive web research, emails and price/facilities comparison. we set out for gomo from berg en dal restcamp, and it was a long and exhausting drive. but all our weariness vanished the moment we stepped inside, to a warm welcome in gracious interiors.
the main lodge is reminiscent of a private home of the colonial era. the atmosphere is relaxed and cozy. we had two 2 br chalets and one regular one. they were all facing the watering hole which is the USP of gomo gomo. each had a private verandah, and was the perfect place to just idle away the hours, watching the drama of visiting wildlife unfold before you.
the french doors of the main lodge open to a deck and pool, shaded by a majestic tree, with comfy armchairs scattered about.whatever you choose to do, keep your camera handy..because there is so much happening at the watering hole..elephants, deer, crocodiles, guinea fowl and wild boar drop in casually for a drink, and you dont want to miss those moments!
the food is homely and tasty. the evenings have a braii around a bonfire, and there is a decent bar too.
but the high point of gomo gomo is definitely the game drives. our ranger was johann, and he and our tracker nachti made sure we had the most unforgettable time! johann carries the soul of a cowboy..and no game was beyond his tracking and wild west car maneuvres! offroading in the jungle in a 4wd 10 seater landrover was exciting enough, but the sheer variety of game we saw at extreme proximity was incredible. we completed our big 5 at gomo gomo thanks to johann! and saw so much else- including a pack of wild dogs- a highly endangered lot. in fact by the end of it, we were happily blase about elephants and giraffes, impala and wildboar, having seen so many of them! its also a unique experience alighting in the jungle for a hot cuppa tea or coffee and munching on muffins and biscuits, which are provided by the lodge and laid out on a table complete with a jungleprint tablecloth!
if you want sybaritic luxury and spa treatments in the middle of the african jungle, then gomo gomo may not be the place for you. but if you want a truly memorable safari experience in comfortable surroundings with a hint of luxury and lots of personal care, then gomo gomo is the place.

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 3 which are family chalets have great views of the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cleo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 481 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

What can I say to sum this place up absolutely fantastic the food the atmosphere the room saw most of the big 5 thanks to ranger jo hann and tracker Jeffrey would recommend to every one so exclusive was sorry to leave dint want t go home my room was near the water hole for elephants saw them every day staff made us feel welcome couldn't do enough for us was truly wonderful well done gomo gomo

Room Tip: Try to get into room 6 you will see the elephants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123pari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Gomo Gomo was truly fantastic! It is small and personal and they treat you like good friends. We were there with our three young girls (ages 9, 5, and 2) and everyone was so nice to them. While you can arrange for babysitting for kids if you need it, the lodge allows kids of all ages to join in the game drives and the rangers were very good with the kids. The folks at the lodge were super about asking if the kids wanted different things to eat, keeping the youngest one entertained during meals, etc. What amazing memories our girls have of this trip. I would highly recommend Gomo Gomo to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the watering hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kodai-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights of our honeymoon back in September 2009. I was a little concerned due to the amazing price, certainly compared to some of the other lodges - I certainly didn't need to be! Gomo Gomo more than exceeded our expectations.
On arrival we were walked though to the deck to have a welcome drink, only to be greeted by a big herd of elephants having a drink/swim! This being our first safari we were suitably impressed!! What a great start and it continued like this until the end. Our chalet was great too. We had Johan as our Ranger and he was awesome as was Jeffrey our Tracker. It was an adventure right from the start as we saw Leopards on our first game drive! The off-roading was especially fun! Unfortunately we didn't get to see lions while were were here, but that's the nature of the game and it gives us an excuse to come back in the future! I would love the chance to return one day. We have some unforgettable, happy memories of this trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just returned from a perfect stay at Gomo Gomo. Warm welcome, beautiful views over the watering hole and rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The best thing about the place is the laid back and hospitable feel. Ivan, our ranger, looked after us so well. The game drives were exciting and productive and he went to great lengths throughout the day to make our stay fun and memorable. Already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Main lodge built on a large pond visited day and night with wide variety of animals, food reasonably good, fabulous guesthouse, staff provided safe and 100% fulfilling safari experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kestrel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have just returned from 4 days at Gomo Gomo. I cannot imagine that any other safari lodge could offer more. A small, personal lodge offering great accommodation and food. But even more important is the passion of the staff and rangers, not only did we see the big 5 but we were very close to them. A wonderful experience I will remember forever.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Kim-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
16.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,835 reviews
1 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#5 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
364 reviews
13.2 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $285 - $2,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomo Gomo Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Gomo Gomo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing