We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic time in the bush”
Review of Baobab Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baobab Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

excellent must go to,accomadation luxury.all the staff were very helpful.Jason was away so we had David as our guide for the stay and he was great, felt very safe with him,wow did he know the animals,he knew from a distance when it was safe and not safe.Our host nini was lovely. nothing was to much trouble for them,
it was great being able to cater for ourselves this was very relaxing, having the whole place to ourselves was great.
would go back again and again.
James and Susan

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susang55james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

For my first time in South Africa, Baobab Ridge was a superb place to be. The lodges were very spacious and clean with windows all the way round looking into the African bush.
Although we were self catering the facilites were excellent and it was great to be able to use the briaar.
The game drives were just magical and our tracker, David, was just amazing in his knowledge and understanding of the animals.
I will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kaz08_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I never knew that self-catering but otherwise fully serviced options existed, but in the future this is all I will do and I think i speak for all 18 of us that stayed at Baobab Ridge and their near neighbours Walker's River Camp in January.

You fly into Hoedspruit – or drive – and for the same sort of price you’d pay if you stayed in the Kruger and booked morning and evening game drives you get your own camp with better facilities and better guides who do exactly what you want them to when you want them to do it.

As I said we booked into Baobab Ridge and the nearby Walker's River Camp, both lodges were fantastic and to help explain the reltive pros and cons of each, I'll talk about both here.

First of all, from start to finish the service at Baobab Ridge was fantastic. You really do benefit from having the owners on site at all times and although it is self-catering, you never really have to do much. Speaking of catering, the kitchen is huge and well stocked with everything you'll need, the local Pick 'n Pay even takes orders by email and delivers them for you so that's way easier than you'd expect.
The design of Baobab Ridge is the more modern and more ‘hotely’ of the two: a big communal room with a large lounge (including DSTV), large dining room, and conference facilities is surrounded by fantastic rooms that, when the windows and doors are all opened up, feel like they are right in the bush. The bedding, towels, and toiletries are all of the level you'd expect in a hotel too.
In contrast, Walker’s River Camp is more rustic with simpler – though still fantastic – cottages and an open bar/ dining area that retains more of the charm of a traditional game farm. Where Baobab Ridge feels like a hotel, Walker’s feels like your own farm. Walker's also has a great pool, which in summer became the focal point of most our days.
The game experience with both is also fantastic. Although they’re only 15 minutes away from each other, they are actually in different reserves: Baobab Ridge in Klaserie and Walker’s River Camp in Timbavati. The only way this really impacts you is that Baobab Ridge have access to a shared radio frequency which invariably means you’ll see more game with them, but at Walker’s we had http://www.martinmeyer.co.za/ as our guide for the week and he was superb. What you miss in more regular sightings, you gain in in-depth bush knowledge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrendanLeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Baobab Ridge is a hidden gem with its self catering option making this affordable as far as private lodges are concerned. The lodge itself is extremely well appointed and immaculately clean. The rooms have very large bathrooms and a separate lounge and patio. The furnishings are new and they are tastefully decorated. The main lodge is also great for spending time relaxing in with an incredibley well equiped kitchen. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The game viewing was great and in our three day stay we had multiple sightings of Rhino, Elephant, Lion and Leopard. Jason was a very professional guide and certainly the ethical and relaxed way in which he conducted the game drives and approached animals was particularly pleasing. Baobab Ridge is also a great place for children who can play in the Lodge area freely in the day and Jason goes out of his way to make game drives informative and interesting for them. He also was very kind in letting his two cats become the main objects for entertainment and very kindly let the children watch his favourite Noddy DVD!

All in all a great three days and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at Baobab Ridge with two other couples and were amazed at how great the place was, particularly given the price. The rooms are clean and spacious with an impressive bathroom, shower and comfy couches where you can chill-out and look across the reserve.
All game drives were included during our stay and I was impressed with the genuine interest that all of the staff have in sustainable eco-tourism, particularly Jason and Nini.
The morning drive on day2 revealed 4 of the big 5 and a few times we heard lions in the distance. Jason and Canan tried their best to find them for us but the lions managed to evade us.
The place would be perfect for families or groups who can enjoy the rooms and take advantage of the common areas for self-catering cooking, bbqs/braais.
A definite must for local Sth Africans before the prices go up.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A group of friends and I spent 6 nights at Baobab Ridge from the 1st August to the 7th August 2012. We had the most amazing, memorable time! After just a day and a half we had seen the big 5! We had absolutely amazing leopard, lion, cheetah and buffalo sightings as well as elephant, rhino, giraffe and the list goes on! Jason impressed us all with his knowledge and enthusiasm about the bush, every game drive was a unique experience. We would also like to thank Nini for being such a wonderful hostess and for the welcoming fires that were lit every night in the beautiful boma. The chalets were very luxurious and spacious and very, very clean and had a wonderful view out into the bush from the private balcony's. We were also lucky enough to experience a bush braai (BBQ) which was truly magical under the star lit African sky! This was an experience that we will never forget thank you Jason and Nini!! We would definately recommend this lodge for an afordable, luxury, self catered stay and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visited Baobab Ridge with a Group of Family and Friends between 12 July and 15 July 2012. The Lodge is very well appointed and better than many of the "famous" lodges we have stayed in over the years. Everybody remarked on the the quality of the chalets, the beautiful boma, and the variety of game we spotted over the days. We spotted the Big 5 twice, with the most memorable moments being the lion pride calling one another to hunt, and the large herd of buffalo surrounding us - not to mention the leopard spot on the Sunday. Nini and Jason are gracious and friendly hosts. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the chalets are very well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
14.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,896 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
348 reviews
9.2 mi away
Klaserie Sands River Camp
Klaserie Sands River Camp
#3 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
154 reviews
22.3 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Ridge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $579 - $1,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baobab Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobab Ridge Lodge is a private and intimate lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Private Nature Reserve. The Klaserie Reserve (approximately 60 000 hectares) is part of the Greater Kruger National Park and open to the Kruger National Park and Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. It lies along the western border of the Kruger, with no fencing separating the reserve from the Kruger or the Timbavati; allowing the animals to roam freely between the private game reserves and the Kruger Park. Baobab Ridge is a small and intimate lodge with only 16 beds, situated in the Klaserie. It provides affordable accommodation, in very private, spacious air-conditioned cottages, with an open plan lounge and private terrace. The lodge can also be booked exclusively for up to 16 guests. Guests may see the Big Five, wild dog, cheetah and more! Children from age 6 are welcome at the lodge and if the lodge is booked exclusively we have no age limits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baobab Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baobab Ridge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing