We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baobab Ridge is Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baobab Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baobab Ridge is Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visited Baobab Ridge with a Group of Family and Friends between 12 July and 15 July 2012. The Lodge is very well appointed and better than many of the "famous" lodges we have stayed in over the years. Everybody remarked on the the quality of the chalets, the beautiful boma, and the variety of game we spotted over the days. We spotted the Big 5 twice, with the most memorable moments being the lion pride calling one another to hunt, and the large herd of buffalo surrounding us - not to mention the leopard spot on the Sunday. Nini and Jason are gracious and friendly hosts. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the chalets are very well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
43
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wonderful 3 nights self catered Stay , Thanks to Jason and Pete for looking after us so well both on the game drives and at base . Fantastic Leopard sightings and lots of other fun elephant and Giraffe sightings. Lovely relaxing time spent in the bush really can recommend this lodge for an affordable luxury experience for families and friends. Saw 4of the big 5 in time we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

A group of friends and I spent a (far too short) weekend at Baobab Ridge. The lodge is beauiful, and have everything you could possibly want and more. The chalets are spread out and give you some privacy from the group when you want it. Jason and Nini, the owners, are fantastic and go the extra mile to make your experience amazing. Thanks to the determination and passion of Jason and Pete, we saw the entire big five plus cheetah!
What an incredible experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Baobab Ridge is truly a special place. I visited for the first time when I led a group of 12 university students on a travel seminar to South Africa, and we spent a few days in the bush at Baobab. It turns out we were the first American visitors, and I can't recommend Baobab highly enough to visitors from anywhere in the world.

The comforts of each chalet and of the main building make this an excellent lodging place for people who want to experience nature and the awe of the bush without camping. The showers and baths are some of the nicest I've used anywhere in the world, but the best part is that one does not feel wasteful or irresponsible while enjoying the luxuries of the chalets. The entire establishment is eco-friendly, they reuse the water from the showers/baths, and all waste is composed, recycled, or disposed of responsibly. The quiet and peace of the place is addictive.

Nini, Jason, Martha, Nora, Victor, and Canaan all work hard to keep the place spotless and to assist withe braais and on game drives so that guests can self-cater (and save money) without losing any precious moments in the bush.

Our wonderful experience at Baobab is a major reason why I am trying to organize a return trip to South Africa sooner than originally planned. If you are considering going on "safari" or staying anywhere in the Kruger area, I would make Baobab Ridge your top choice for lodging. Thanks to the hard work of our trackers and some luck, we saw the "big 5" animals plus interesting birds and small creatures, but even if we had only seen a few animals, we would have had an amazing stay due to the brilliant atmosphere and superb hosts.

Cheers,
Melisa

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The chalets where you stay are beautiful and have all the amenities. The beautiful lodge is right in the middle of Kruger park (with an electric fence around the property of course). Safari drives can be anytime you want, just ask and they'll the you. The self-catering kitchen has every kitchen gadget you can think of and outside is a braai to grill or cook anything outside. On our three day stay we saw lion 4 times and got up close and personal, elephants, rhino, impala, kudu, giraffe, leopard, steembok, birds of all kinds, buffalo and wildebeest. The staff is lovely and knows all about the wildlife and land, the chalets are gorgeous. There are trackers on staff who can track any animal and find it for you. Every morning and night drive we stopped in the middle of the bush to have drinks and watch the sunrise or sunset. We could hear animals at night and saw all the animals close up. Bets part of my south african trip by far and everyone in my group agreed. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a real wild african safari and see all the animal and still have a comfortable place to sleep. Would be very kid friendly.

Room Tip: All the chalets are great. Back deck facing the bush, lovely beds, refrigerator, bar sink, large arm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (10-13 May 2012) at Baobab Lodge for a work conference, and it was great!!! The rooms are very nice, big, spacious and luxurious. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the lodge itself is new & modern, but still retains it's African essence. The game drives were fantastic, and the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. I definitely recommend this lodge to anybody wanting to try a new place in the bush. You and your family or mates have the whole place to yourself, which gives great privacy and makes the visit all the more enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We recently visited Baobab Ridge (11 to 13 April 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We only booked two nights, but ended up staying a third night. We were supposed to stay in the Kruger National Park on the third night, but after getting used to the luxury at Baobab Ridge, we decided to stay the extra night and cancel our booking at Skukuza. Being from South Africa originally (now living in Australia), I would highly recommend a visit to Baobab Ridge. Usually when we visit South Africa, we go to the Kruger National Park, but since our visit to Baobab Ridge, we will always stay there.

Baobab Ridge is located in the Timbavati National Park and is classed as part of the greater Kruger. However, there are no fence lines between the parks and the game is free to roam between the parks. You therefore get the same, if not better, game viewing experience as you would in the Kruger National Park. During our visit at Baobab Ridge, we were very lucky to spot the Big 5 in the first two days. We were also very lucky to spot 5 leopards in 4 consecutive game drives! We also followed two lionesses for about an hour and got some amazing photo’s. We also got chased by an elephant, but we were never in danger. The young elephant bull was just toying with us.

The game drives are the highlight of the day and is included in the price. The morning and night game drives are usually around 3 hours each. After the morning drive, you can relax in the lodge or go for a well-deserved sleep in a double bed overlooking the bush. There is plenty to do. There is a library, a big screen tv to watch wildlife documentaries and many other relaxing activities. There is even a small splash pool for those of you who want to escape the summer heat. After the game drive in the evening, you can relax in the boma with a few drinks and a nice South African braai (bbq). The boma is large and has a real African feel to it. Nini, the onsite manageress designed the boma herself.

Nini and Jayson are the onsite managers. They are really friendly and very easy going. Jayson took us on the game drives in the morning and evenings, and Nini ensured the fire was smothered after the evening festivities. Both Nini and Jayson joined us for dinner each night. We would talk for hours about the bush, the animals and the recent floods. It felt like we knew them for years! Nini also offered to walk us back to our house one night because the lions were roaring and it sounded like they were just behind the fence. Fortunately their two cats, Goya and Tuna walked us home.

On our last night, Nini and Jayson organised a bush braai for us next to a dam. We went on our usual game drive and arrived at the dam just before sunset. Nini and her staff started a fire for us. They also littered the area with lanterns. It was a really amazing experience in the bush. We heard a leopard call only a few meters away from us. The girls jumped back on the car, but soon joined us again after a few Vodka’s! It was one of the best bush experiences for all of us!

Baobab Ridge is a self-catering lodge and can host up to 16 people at once. However, you will never have to share the lodge with strangers as you have to book the entire lodge each night. We were only 6 people, but the lodge is very big and confortable. The lodge is great for sharing families too and kids are also welcome with heaps of room for them to play and have fun. There is also a large board room for those very important business meetings for your company’s conference.

For more information, please visit Baobab Ridge’s Facebook page. The page is updated regularly. Just go to friends and search for Baobab Ridge. There are also plenty of amazing photos of the lodge and animal spotting’s. As I am typing this, I am sitting in the middle of a city, in a high rise and at work, wishing I was still in the bush, living it up at Baobab Ridge. Do yourself a favour and go! You will not regret it.

Martin

Room Tip: Room 4 and 5 is by far the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wieldop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
14.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
4.4 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
9.2 mi away
Klaserie Sands River Camp
Klaserie Sands River Camp
#5 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Ridge

Property: Baobab Ridge
Address: Portion 13 of Joubertshoop | Klaserie Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baobab Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobab Ridge Lodge is a private lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Private Nature Reserve. It provides luxurious yet affordable air-conditioned accommodation, offering guests beautiful bush-veld landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the "Big 5" and bird species in their natural habitat. *This lodge is fully catered and can be booked exclusively for up to 16 guests (ideal for groups seeking complete privacy and no age limits!). *The lodge can only be booked on a self catered basis, if the entire lodge is booked privately, not for individual cottages! Activities at the lodge • Game drives in open Land Rovers. • Walking safaris, please request in advance, subject to availability and not included in rates. Minimum age is 16 years and up to 8 guests per walk. • Rhino conservation events, subject to availability and not included in rates (only available when entire lodge is booked) The Klaserie Private Nature Reserve (approximately 60 000 hectares) is part of the Greater Kruger National Park and open to the Kruger National Park and Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. The private game reserve lies along the western border of the Kruger, with no fencing separating the reserve from the Kruger or the Timbavati; allowing the animals to roam freely between the private game reserves and the Kruger Park. The game in both the Kruger and the neighbouring reserves is essentially the same, the only difference being the experience of driving off-road in open game viewers with professional guides and that this area is known worldwide, as the area the white lions originated from. They are born and live in the wild here, so the gene pool of the white lion is carried within the lions of this area and we have the odd sighting of white lions in our area. The professionally trained guides who accompany you on drives or walks are expert rangers (who are able to do their own tracking!) and are in contact with other lodge vehicles, greatly increasing your chances of finding the wildlife that you want to see. Some of the other game found in our area, are giraffe, wildebeest, impala, waterbuck, warthog, porcupine, African wild cat, honey badger, genets, bush babies, kudu, zebra, wild dog, cheetah, pangolin, aardvark, hyena, hippo and much, much more. Birding is quite spectacular, especially during our spring and summer when the migrant birds breed in the area. Hearing the cheerful call of the beautiful Woodland Kingfisher in the Summer, the haunting cry of the African Fish Eagle over waterways or the familiar evening camp fire sounds of hyena, lion, Nightjars and the Pearl Spotted Owlet has such a wonderfully calming effect! (Summer: September - April / Winter: May - August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Baobab Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baobab Ridge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing