We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of nThambo Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nThambo Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this camp during April. It was a fantastic experience from everything from the lodgings itself, the staff and the experience of safari was absolutely fantastic. The tree camp accommodation is great, you can hear alot of the wildlife at nighttime, the views were great and had everything that you wanted, was a real treat. The guides (special mention to Isaac) and staff were brilliant, their knowledge was great and they really went out of their way to make you feel welcome. During my time there I managed to see the big five along with several other animals. Food was tasty. I would highly recommend this place and intend to return myself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seamus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    49
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
47
221
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this camp from the 10-13th may before moving on to simbavati river lodge. saying i loved it is an understatment! My first night i had lions communicating with eachother underneath my hut which was unforgettable! i saw all big 5 including the ross pride with tiny cubs! isaac and rein were amazing at tracking and driving to find the animals we wished to see. rein is very knowlogable and does everything for you from driving to cleaning up your plates, to walking you back to your rooms safely after dark. Very in the bush feel to it and makes you feel closer to nature throughout your stay. amazing place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 unforgettable nights at Nthambo for our honeymoon. As South Africans we wanted rustic, but Nthambo is so more than that. The stilted accommodation is emaculate with sweeping views of the bush and distance Drakensberg. You really get the feeling that you are the only ones there. The food was simple, but tasty. Our guide Ryan and tracker Enoch were superb, and we were priviliged to witness some magnificent sightings.
I hear there have been even more improvements to Nthambo so we can't wait to return in August this year.

I'd recommend Nthambo to anyone who wants a proper bush experience and wants to feel at one with nature. superb!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

For an authentic African safari experience, this is the place to go. Accommodation is in separate luxury rooms on stilts, overlooking the endless veldt. What an incredible setting! Tracker Enoch and driver Isaac go to great lengths to ensure that you see the Big Five and more. Food is basic, but very tasty. This is a small camp, and you get to spend quality time with staff and guests. Nothing artificial about this place - unreservedly recommended.
Benson and Phileshia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Benphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My fiancé an I returned to nThambo tree camp for our second visit. Once again we were treated like friends in the most amazing setting. The accommodation is beautiful and gives you the feeling of being on an African dream where you can reach out and touch the bush. With wildlife all around and sightings that are closer than you will ever get, the African experience is out of this world and if Isaac is your guide, you will definitely see amazing things. If you don't go, you are missing something that you will not get anywhere else.

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenyasi, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time at nThambo! The game drives were full of surprises. Ryan was our guide and he was so knowledgeable and had a good sence of humor. He drove that Land Rover like a pro. Issac was our lookout guy another knowledgeable guide. The food at the lodge was very pleasing and home style. We all liked it. We were three; the parents with an nearly adult daughter. Our rooms were just great; one for the parents and one for our daughter without charging us double! We saw the big animals and we even stopped to see the little ones. We went everywhere all the way to northern most point of their area to the River. It was fabulous. During our three night stay we met some really nice people. People we still write to today. I can't say enough about our wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This February (2012) my wife and I stayed at nTambo Tree Camp for 3 nights. We've stayed in a number of safari camps over the years and this was one of our best experiences. Our guide and tracker Ryan and Isaac made the drives fun, educational and intimate. We saw the big five but we also saw and learned of the little five and ugly five and all the special animals, plants and insects in this remarkable world.
The accommodation was unique, a combination of rustic and modern in a setting that made us feel a part of all we viewed....perfect. The platform tents overlooked what could only be described as a field of dreams lit by a full moon. The sounds of the animals in the night, elephants walking through the camp as we ate breakfast, the rush to the jeep to find the spot where a leopard was sighted.....all part of a few days in paradise.
Already planning our next trip to nTambo, this time with friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrRCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nThambo Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nThambo Tree Camp

Property: nThambo Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nThambo Tree Camp is a safari camp located in the Klaserie area of the Kruger Park. The camp offers daily morning and afternoon game drives to view the Big Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your nThambo Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nthambo Tree Camp Hotel Klaserie Private Game Reserve
nThambo Tree Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing