We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a lifetime....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africa on Foot Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Africa on Foot Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Very friendly lodge with lots of informative staff on hand to make your stay enjoyable and educational. Will post video of our first encounter with a young bull elephant at a later date......thanks to Richard and Isaac for keeping us safe!!!!!! Always pack spare underwear on these trips hahahaha

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANL393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    30
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
139
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

I did a four day safari as part of my honeymoon and this camp was definitely the highlight of the trip.

The guides are fantastic - they're very knowledgeable and personable and they love what they do which is a fantastic combination. The game drives are always entertaining and exciting. We only did one walk which wasn't great but I can't blame the guides for that ;)

The camp is well laid out and (within reason) has decent facilities. The food is fantastic, not just for where it is but in general - I loved every meal, especially because I'm a picky eater and had no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great camp with lovely rooms, old style gas lamps and a lovely Buffalo called Bruce who has decided to call camp his home. Just don't get too close. Everyone eats dinner together outdoors after a day of interesting drives and walks into the bush. Exciting brilliant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenmossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

For anyone been on safari before you will be used to the normal pattern of the day, with a morning and evening game drive. Africa on Foot has thrown away the book on this recipe. As an example: We did a walk in the early morning and then came back for breakfast. The normal routine would then be to do very little until the evening game drive. But, as we were settling back to read our books our guide came rushing around saying there had been a lion kill on the nearby airstrip. We all jumped in the vehicle and went straight to the kill. We sat there for about an hour and then headed back to camp. This flexibility and break from the norm made our stay quite special. BTW: Don't go here if you are expecting goose down bedding and silverservice - the camp is very comfortable, but does not have frills (which we didn't need or want).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were sent to Africa on foot by Sun Safari at a cost of U.S.$900 /night (who we later discovered that it is part owner of the camp). The place is a dump. No electricity. No air condition. the shower does not have enough pressure for the hot water boiler to start. You can only charge your camera in the main reception for 2 hours at night using generator. The food was good but very limited in variety and amounts. The wild life there is almost non-existent. I went to different camps and that saved my trip where I had a great time in the other camps. If you plan to take you kids you should try Sabi sands , timbavati or inside kruger national park. Africa on foot is highly not recommended.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ehghaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aofbrett, Marketing and Reservations at Africa on Foot Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Hi,

I am sorry to hear of your experience at Africa on Foot. Sun Safaris's owner does indeed own a share in Africa on Foot Camp, however this is certainly not scandolous or a scam. I am sorry to hear that you think it is.

Africa on Foot has never had electricity in the chalets, or air-conditioning, and again there is nothing wrong with this, lots of guests prefer the rustic feeling of lanterns. Please know that neither Africa on Foot or Sun Safaris purposefully tried to mislead you.

Game viewing is game viewing, and unfortunately sometimes "its quiet in the bush" however just to let you know that we are part of the huge Greater Kruger and our guests regularly see the Big Five.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

The camp was very comfortable and the safari experience was unbelievable. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ngolden10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We saw it all (Big 5 plus Monkeys, Kudu, Warthog, Impala, Hippos, Giraffes, Hyenas, and more!) and had a blast. Cheaper than 90% of the other safaris we looked at. Food was good, rooms very nice, guides were great! Thank you Jan, Daniel and Richard!! Great pub for watching world cup games, beware of the Aussies, they like to drink!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeerLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.9 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
10.2 mi away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa on Foot Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa on Foot Camp

Property: Africa on Foot Camp
Address: Ross Farm, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa on Foot offers Big Five Kruger Walking Safaris and game drives in the Klaserie Private Nature Reserve which shares unfenced borders with the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Africa on Foot Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa On Foot Camp Hotel Limpopo Province
Africa On Foot Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing