We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounderful - would like to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A wonderful place, would definitely recommend it.

The place is quite small, which makes it relaxing and personal, and all of the staff where really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suit, and it had everything you can wish for, we are quite picky when it comes to hotels, but this place is really top notch. Your ranger will pick you up at the airport for free, so it was very convenient getting there as well.

The food was also very good, they served a buffet for both lunch and dinner, I usually don't fancy buffets, but the quality of this buffet was very good, with bbq and several other choices for each meal we had. Drinks are not included in the tariff.

We had the same ranger taking us on safari each day in a 11 seat open land rover, and we where never more than 7 guests at any game drive in the same land rover. We spotted all big five except for the leopard. We did see two cheetahs right outside of the camp, which was amazing, we followed them for maybe 15 minutes, and they walked just a few meters from us. Apparently the cheetahs have their territory around the camp, so chances of seeing them should be good. The only thing that I think could have been better was that the bush walks (included in the tariff) where not offered unless asked for, and they didn’t do them every day. However, when we did the bushwalk it was great, we where in a small group and the ranger where really good at telling us things about the animal and the bush, and then it made things even better that we saw lions resting under a three (the rangers where armed so we felt safe).

Would definitelly go back to this place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YME06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 652 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you want a quieter, more personalized experience at Kapama - skip the River Lodge and stay at Southern Camp. Max guests are 35 people at any time and while we were there it ranged from 9 - 15 guests. The manager and staff are lovely, friendly, and so helpful and the rangers (we had head ranger Mike) are extremely knowledgeable and fun to listen to (at dinner or on game drives).

I will say, however, that the standard rooms are disappointing and will not meet your expectations after browsing the Kapama website. Those are the rooms that were refurbished from the previous lodge owners. On the other hand, the chalet suites were fantastic! They are brand new and beautiful. Definitely ask for a suite if you want amazing value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was the first place in Krugar we stayed during our month in South Africa. The staff are really nice especially Mike our bush walk guide. Our room was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. They even have a resident porcupine named Elvis that comes around for some tidbits of food during dinner. Food was very good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaineLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is quite a basic lodge but is set in lovely location and the simplicity of the structures is charming. Lodge could do with some maintenance around swimming pool which was not prepared for swimming. The open air brai (BBQ) was great with a new resident porcupine Elvis omnipresent! The lodge has a wonderful viewing platform with two regular visiting white rhinos.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Here nothing is impossible. Local game drives every day. Possibility to go to Kruger. Personal welcoming and a private atmosphere. Exciting walks in the bush - guided by a professional. On top of it, an excellent cook. A warm hearted place with a relaxing atmosphere. To recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelon042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at Hongonyi for 2 nights in August. It is a very nice and quaint lodge with the best hosts. Mike and Rawlie were great and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Mike was very knowledgeable and his bush walk is a must do. The rooms are clean and tidy and very comfortable. The bar has a view of the watering hole and will give you a chance to spot animals that come to drink there. We hope to be back at this lodge next time we are visiting South Africa

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karthiksrinivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

we visited Hongonyi as part of our honeymoon. The lodge was absolutely fantastic - spotless, friendly, great setting, lovely balcony by the bar overlooking the bush and great food. Staff were brilliant and very friendly. They catered well for me as a vegetarian.

The evening game drive and sunset was really special, and the morning game walk superb. We learnt so much about the animals, the landscape, conservation and anything you could want to know. Fantastic encounters with cheetahs, rhinos, giraffes.......and not forgetting Elvis. An amazing place and I would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
16.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Address: | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $758 - $2,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing