We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning upgrade - even better after the makeover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning upgrade – even better after the makeover!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

During our stay at the Kapama River Lodge we also inspected the other parts of this resort
such as the Kapama Buffalo Camp. The Buffalo Camp is a comfortable and tastefully
designed Lodge with a lot of timbre combined with those typical African colours and cosy
fireplaces. It is a lovely place to stay. I have been there before the renovations and I
couldn't believe what I saw – it was stunning! The former tents – you can't call them tents
any more – have changed into luxury rooms with bathtubs and beautiful views over the
land. I recommend this Lodge for everyone who is looking for a familiar and cosy place to
stay in a marvellous nature reserve.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anja707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    31
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
241
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent four days and three nights at Kapama Buffalo Camp and participated in six game drives. We had a very good ranger Jeffery that drove us through the park and found us four of the big five species. We never did see any Leopards but had seen them before in Nogorongoro Crater.
We glad that we stayed at the Buffalo Camp which was all inclusive except for your drinks and tips which over a few days were quite considerable! Also when we checked out at the end of our stay we had a sizeable account as we were asked to consider giving a tip for the whole staff. when we compared the actual total cost to our stay here with our time at Pumba the costs were almost the same yet we would class Kapama as 4 star and Pumba as 5 star. It was great at Pumba to know that all your costs were covered and no one was really hustling for tips all the time!
The food at Kapama was buffet style and you always ate your evening meal with your Ranger and other occupants of your jeep. This was OK as long as the others all spoke English but that was not always the case and communication at times was difficult with francophones. It made for a rather silent evening meal. Also the food was just average and altho there was lots of choice it was just that ... a buffet, which is never the standard of a la carte which we had at Pumba.
The tented accomodation was very good with lots of space and reached by an elevated walkway from the lodge. There were lots of grazing animals around the base of the tent which was at least 5/6 meters off the ground and easily observable. Large king bed and big shower and free standing tub and very good maid service. No problem with the accomodation at Kapama Buffalo Camp.
We went to the spa one afternoon at the main Water Lodge and enjoyed the amenities on offer there. Very professional with experienced attendants. We toured around the main lodge but were glad that we stayed at the Buffalo camp lodge as it was much smaller and more intimate and personal.
Generally it was a good experience but it was not up to the standard of our experience at Pumba.

Room Tip: Given a choice stay at the Buffalo Camp any of the tented lodges were there were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balls99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We visited Kapama in November 2011 and had a truly excellent stay. The lodge really is great value for money, the accommodation is beyond impressive with stand alone bath tubs and huge balcony's and the location is fantastic - we saw 2 of the big 5 just on our transfer from the airport!

Our driver was great and made a lot of effort to try and find the illusive leopard but unfortunately we didn't quite catch it. We did however see 4 of the big 5 and plenty of other animals along the way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We chose Kapama's buffalo camp to have a quieter setting geared more toward couples than families. There were no more than 20 guests at a time during our stay. The "tent" was very comfortable; other than hearing the canvas roof flapping on one windy night there would be nothing to suggest that this was at all rustic. The room was very clean and comfortable and, except for the wind, very quiet.

The food was nice but didn't amaze us. I was concerned about other reviews that complained about buying beverages but this wasn't a problem at all. We drank what we want and settled up (a very reasonable bill) at the end of the stay. We did drink the tap water every day and had no issues whatsoever. Twice we got a ride to the River Lodge camp to use the gym and spa and lounge by their pool.

The game drives were excellent and we couldn't have asked for more from our guide, Almero. Almero is knowledgeable, entertaining, and truly passionate about what he does. Our trackers were Benson and Foster and they led us to some great sightings. The safari vehicles seat 9 guests but the Buffalo Camp vehicles never had more than 6 people, which was the perfect number to be comfortable and also have a chance to share the experience with other guests. We stayed three nights, which meant 6 game drives, which was perfect.

We highly recommend Kapama's Buffalo Camp and especially Almero. Thanks for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_brad456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Unfortunately, we stayed here during a tropical depression, so we were unable to leave the camp for safaris due to the weather. They were ill-prepared with alternative activities during our stay, and we were not refunded any of our money for the cancelled safaris. The food was above average, but you have to pay for your drinks separately. They do have Internet and one TV in the main lodge. The tents were nice but if you aren't an "outdoorsy" person, then this isn't the place for you. Even if the weather had been perfect, this place is still average and expensive. Not a good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Do not hesitate to visit the Kapama Buffalo Camp! Many animals to see during the two daily safaris, great food in all the meals, the staff very friendly...in resume: you'll get happy and relaxed in here, you can be sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capitao2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our experience at Buffalo Camp was just plain AWESOME!!! Originally we were scheduled to stay at Karula lodge, however due to the damage by the flood, we were switched to Buffalo camp. The tents were MUCH MORE luxurious then we ever expected. The room was large, the bed extremely comfortable, there was a deep soaking tub and separate shower in the room, along with double his and her sinks. The room also came with a balcony with two comfortable sitting chairs to watch the animals below pass by. We were lying in bed reading while a money jumped onto the balcony and was staring right back at us...how awesome!!. Every day we went on 2 game drives for 3 hours each and saw 4 of the big 5. The game expert that took us on the drives was very knowledgeable and made extra efforts to show us all of the different animals on the reserve. It really was a game, he showed us the different animal tracks in the dirt and followed them to find where they were hiding. We were only a few feet away from a mother lion and her 3 cubs. We pulled up next two 2 rhinos walking along the road grazing. We saw many Giraffes, wort hogs, and Impala. We also went on an elephant back safari and got to ride on elephants for about an hour. The food was EXCELLENT and we never had the same meal twice. I have NOOOO complaints and am looking forward to returning. Wifi is available in the common sitting area, there is also a pool, and spa nearby. The staff is wonderful and help make the experience an unforgettable one. I can't recommend this place more. We stayed for 4 nights, and had 8 game drives, giving us time enough to see a lot more wildlife. Buffalo camp at Kapama is AMAZING and totally AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
19.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
641 reviews
18.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Buffalo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Buffalo Camp

Property: Kapama Buffalo Camp
Address: R40 Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Buffalo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a traditional African safari camp, Kapama Buffalo Camp offers a unique and intimate experience in the African bush. It is ideal for discovering big game Africa in true safari tented style without compromising on comfort.Ten luxury build canvas tents, each sleeping two, are set on wooden decks built on stilts over a steep-sided riverbank. Wooden walkways interconnect the rooms, which are all in the upper reaches of tall riverine trees. The river below rarely flows and antelopes are seen daily walking along the sandy riverbed. Each tented room has all the usual comforts of electricity, en-suite bathroom, safe, writing table, wardrobe, low impact climate control, mini-bar and tea/coffee facilities. The communal areas of Buffalo Camp are on the riverbank, where gardens of succulent aloes and euphorbia are tended around the thatched bar, dining room, pool terrace and campfire. But the thick African bush is just a glance away, inhabited by animals like lion, hyena and jackal whose calls can be heard in the dead of night. Lanterns, rather than electric lights, glow at night under the trees, creating a special intimate ambience particular to Buffalo Camp.With a maximum of 20 guests at Buffalo Camp, special attention is paid to personal service and the staff become like friends. Kapama Buffalo Camp is a truly authentic way to experience the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Kapama Buffalo Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Buffalo Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Buffalo Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing