We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, intimate accommodations and excellent game drives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We chose Kapama's buffalo camp to have a quieter setting geared more toward couples than families. There were no more than 20 guests at a time during our stay. The "tent" was very comfortable; other than hearing the canvas roof flapping on one windy night there would be nothing to suggest that this was at all rustic. The room was very clean and comfortable and, except for the wind, very quiet.

The food was nice but didn't amaze us. I was concerned about other reviews that complained about buying beverages but this wasn't a problem at all. We drank what we want and settled up (a very reasonable bill) at the end of the stay. We did drink the tap water every day and had no issues whatsoever. Twice we got a ride to the River Lodge camp to use the gym and spa and lounge by their pool.

The game drives were excellent and we couldn't have asked for more from our guide, Almero. Almero is knowledgeable, entertaining, and truly passionate about what he does. Our trackers were Benson and Foster and they led us to some great sightings. The safari vehicles seat 9 guests but the Buffalo Camp vehicles never had more than 6 people, which was the perfect number to be comfortable and also have a chance to share the experience with other guests. We stayed three nights, which meant 6 game drives, which was perfect.

We highly recommend Kapama's Buffalo Camp and especially Almero. Thanks for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_brad456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Unfortunately, we stayed here during a tropical depression, so we were unable to leave the camp for safaris due to the weather. They were ill-prepared with alternative activities during our stay, and we were not refunded any of our money for the cancelled safaris. The food was above average, but you have to pay for your drinks separately. They do have Internet and one TV in the main lodge. The tents were nice but if you aren't an "outdoorsy" person, then this isn't the place for you. Even if the weather had been perfect, this place is still average and expensive. Not a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Do not hesitate to visit the Kapama Buffalo Camp! Many animals to see during the two daily safaris, great food in all the meals, the staff very friendly...in resume: you'll get happy and relaxed in here, you can be sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitao2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our experience at Buffalo Camp was just plain AWESOME!!! Originally we were scheduled to stay at Karula lodge, however due to the damage by the flood, we were switched to Buffalo camp. The tents were MUCH MORE luxurious then we ever expected. The room was large, the bed extremely comfortable, there was a deep soaking tub and separate shower in the room, along with double his and her sinks. The room also came with a balcony with two comfortable sitting chairs to watch the animals below pass by. We were lying in bed reading while a money jumped onto the balcony and was staring right back at us...how awesome!!. Every day we went on 2 game drives for 3 hours each and saw 4 of the big 5. The game expert that took us on the drives was very knowledgeable and made extra efforts to show us all of the different animals on the reserve. It really was a game, he showed us the different animal tracks in the dirt and followed them to find where they were hiding. We were only a few feet away from a mother lion and her 3 cubs. We pulled up next two 2 rhinos walking along the road grazing. We saw many Giraffes, wort hogs, and Impala. We also went on an elephant back safari and got to ride on elephants for about an hour. The food was EXCELLENT and we never had the same meal twice. I have NOOOO complaints and am looking forward to returning. Wifi is available in the common sitting area, there is also a pool, and spa nearby. The staff is wonderful and help make the experience an unforgettable one. I can't recommend this place more. We stayed for 4 nights, and had 8 game drives, giving us time enough to see a lot more wildlife. Buffalo camp at Kapama is AMAZING and totally AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Kapama Buffalo Camp. Our ranger Almero and tracker Benson were great and knowledgeable, not to mention funny too.
Accommodation is really nice and comfortable, it’s definitely the best tent I’ve ever slept in! The food is great, nothing haute cuisine – but definitely yummy and as one might expect, great meat dishes! When it’s good weather you’ll dine in the Boma which is very cozy.
It’s a rather small camp, with I believe only room for 16 people. This is a good thing! That way the group you are driving with is rather small. We were just 4 guests during most of our drives, and 6 max. We sometimes bumped into other vehicles during our drives from Kapama River Lodge, some of those vehicles were packed with as many as 10 guests.
We saw everything except for the leopard. If it's your first time on safari, then this is a great way to do it.
I can also highly recommend you ask for a short break during your evening game drive, have them turn off the lights and engine and just gaze at the stars.

It is a bit of a shame that you have to pay for bottled water, since the tap water there wasn’t drinkable.

Tip for the management: please change your pool loungers. They are VERY uncomfortable to lie on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Was in South Africa checking out lodges earlier this month. Checked out Kapama lodges, including Buffalo Camp. I had high expectations for this little lodge, and the pictures on the website led me to believe it would be extremely well done. Unfortunately, I did not find this the case. This is a very small camp. While they have all the basics - pool, lounge area, boma, dining, it just didn't seem like it was well done - seemed a little ramshackle and...messy? Rustic, I suppose. But not in a really good way. The tents have been updated, and they're not bad, but they are dark and compared to other tented lodge standards, they were really only ok. Each of the tents has a deck, which really has no view. The upside is that guests can use the facilities of the other Kapama properties, including the Kapama River Lodge - which has much better facilities including an excellent spa. For my money, I think you can do much better than Buffalo Camp, I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Battered Orange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Do not hesiatet to stay at Buffalo Camp... they have good meals and very friendlly rangers&trackers. Its staff is so cool!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KINO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,810 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
637 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
280 reviews
23.1 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#4 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Buffalo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Buffalo Camp

Address: R40 Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $668 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Buffalo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a traditional African safari camp, Kapama Buffalo Camp offers a unique and intimate experience in the African bush. It is ideal for discovering big game Africa in true safari tented style without compromising on comfort.Ten luxury build canvas tents, each sleeping two, are set on wooden decks built on stilts over a steep-sided riverbank. Wooden walkways interconnect the rooms, which are all in the upper reaches of tall riverine trees. The river below rarely flows and antelopes are seen daily walking along the sandy riverbed. Each tented room has all the usual comforts of electricity, en-suite bathroom, safe, writing table, wardrobe, low impact climate control, mini-bar and tea/coffee facilities. The communal areas of Buffalo Camp are on the riverbank, where gardens of succulent aloes and euphorbia are tended around the thatched bar, dining room, pool terrace and campfire. But the thick African bush is just a glance away, inhabited by animals like lion, hyena and jackal whose calls can be heard in the dead of night. Lanterns, rather than electric lights, glow at night under the trees, creating a special intimate ambience particular to Buffalo Camp.With a maximum of 20 guests at Buffalo Camp, special attention is paid to personal service and the staff become like friends. Kapama Buffalo Camp is a truly authentic way to experience the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Kapama Buffalo Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Buffalo Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Buffalo Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing