We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Bush experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific Bush experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Kapama River Lodge for 3 nights and wished we would have stayed longer. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had an excellent stay. We stayed in the Spa suites and our room was very nice. The bathroom looked out to the bush. The meals were buffet style and the food was pretty good. We absolutely LOVED our Ranger Roel and tracker. He was very knowledgeable and made sure we had the best game drive experience. We went on 6 game drives and saw the Big 5! I am very glad that we stayed at the River Lodge and not at any of the other lodges because we had the perfect location for the beautiful spa and pool. I highly recommend the Kapama River Lodge and can't wait to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lam3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    171
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
271
661
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Elegant and sophisticated lodge, but with a cozy and warm appearance. The rooms are big, tastefully furnished and provided with a very nice terrace facing the bush, where the sweet nyalas graze day and night long. The bathroom is amazing! Huge, one of a kind, with a big shower and an incredible panoramic bathtub. Classy restaurant, tasty and abundant buffet, impeccable service. The SPA is definitely worth mentioning as well. The thing we liked most is that everything was well-thought at the lodge: you wake up, have a light breakfast, go for the first game drive, have the second (big) breakfast, relax in the pool or in the spa, have lunch, have a rest, have a snack before starting the second game drive, have a shower, have dinner with your ranger and your safari companions in an unforgettable african environment, the "boma". In Kapama you never get bored!!!
There is a limited amount of animals in the reserve, but you can always see some because the rangers are very good in tracking them. We happened to see: a leopard, a couple of lions, some lionesses, two hippos, some zebras, a lot of warthogs, many gnus, loooots of impalas and antilopes, many buffalos, many many elephants, a hyena, a porcupine, a snake, many giraffes, an eagle, many rhinos a cheeta and many sweet nyalas.
We loved our stay at Kapama River Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.
PS try the Jabulani experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mista-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed in a normal room for one night and at a spa suite for 2 nights and found both solutions extremely agreeable. Obviously the suite was splendid with a unique view over the park. The service was great. The food was ordinary and could easily be improved if the chef were to focus on quantity rather than quality. The drives were nice though it took us 3 days to get to see our first and only leopard. Nonetheless, we saw all of the big5! We suggest that they should hold more activities in between drives (especially walks in the bush which were advertised on their website but never took place)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldopata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerelbekeBelgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed here two nights to enjoy the safari possibilities. At night between midnight and one o' clock other guests came from the bar and made noise during at least one hour in their room, close to ours.Sound isolation is very bad. And we heared that some guests come to celebrate certain events...But other guests, like we, came to enjoy safari, and that means getting up very early...This was for me a very minuspoint of the hotel.
On other points: comfortable hotel, very beautiful view from the room, good service. A lot of explanation during safari's, good rangers, food less good than I expected, but not bad at all...Coffee was not so good!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardSouthAfrica, Manager at Kapama River Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Kapama take note of the concerns and would leave no stone unturned to adress these issues raised in the review.
Kapama do have three other lodges nl Kapama Karula, Kapama Buffalo Camp and Kapama Main lodge which all offers a more exclusive and private accomodation option to guests. Different lodges appeal to different people and it is important to understand the options Kapama has to offer before guests make a booking.

Kind Regards

Kapama Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We had the opportunity to stay 3 days at Kapama and we just have to say that everything was really perfect, the staff, the amenities and the food. I was impressed on how they organize the safaris with all the guests and there is no delay. The rangers and the trackers know very well how to deal with the people and specially with the animals. We've certainly left Kapama wanting to go back there anytime. We totally recommend it.
Sandra & Moacir - Brazil

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
618 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

as said game safaris are very good,really good.
as kapama is fenced and there are many trackers the possibilities to see the big 5 are very high.we saw lions,leopards,big bull elephant,rhinos, buffalos and so on.really exiting when we found a leopard eating a warthog....
also the hotel is really new and clean but you cannot feel to be in africa!
we were coming from motswari where we felt to be a part of the ecosistem so we have been disappointed from this point of view.
the hotel is too big,with many childrens and client that i wonder how they have been able to arrive there...so the tipical game reserve atmosphere is not available in kapama river lodge.
tipical of this kind of hotel also the food,a big buffet really aboundant but with a medium quality.
so,if you like to do safaris without to feel yourself in africa or if you have childrens it's a good choice.instead,if you are looking for an african experience better to avoid kapama river lodge.
in kapama they have also other kind of accomodations like buffalo camp and others.
(we booked in one of them but as they decided to renew it we have been redirected to river lodge.)
finally the price,it's honest.surely cheaper than many other game reserves but as i told you
this is a big hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano_and_debora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgomanero, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Well, all six of us were so pleased about our stay, in only one word: EXCELLENT!
My wife and I have been in SA every year since 2007, we visit many places in Kruger NP and also a lot of PGRs, (last year we spent some days in Buffalo Camp) so we have some experience about this kind of vacation.
We saw a lot of animals and birds and our ranger Ms. Leizel shared personal experiences with our group that made us better understand the wildlife’s behaviour and ecology.
For us it was a very appreciated “upgrade”.
All the staff people we met were very friendly and warmth, and the accommodation and the food were very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
18.0 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#20 of 160 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing