We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but think twice before taking your children”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The game drives, the rangers and staff, the spa and accommodation are all excellent.

From the moment we arrived I felt that children were tolerated rather than welcomed - which was probably appropriate. Let me explain. The majority of guests were either people without children or those who had chosen to leave theirs at home. The pool areas were more for snoozing between game drives as opposed to letting off steam.

I am quite an uptight mother when it comes to my children's behaviour and so they know how to fit in in adult company but it was a bit of a strain to be constantly asking them to keep the noise to a minimum. I felt they behaved brilliantly but were on a very tight rein for the four days we were there.

In summary we all had a fantastic time but before you take your children you might like to think: will they enjoy six hours a day of game drives and can they cope with almost no opportunities to be completely free spirited?

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank lucilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Kapama River Lodge for two nights as part of a group tour of South Africa. The lodge is within the Kapama Private Reserve, close to the Kruger Park. It is a great reserve as it hosts all the big five and it has the plus of being very varied in terms of landscapes. One has the impression of seeing very different natural places. Rooms are really big and well furnished, bathroom are of a very big size. Both rooms and bathrooms have really nice windows and a terrace on the reserve. The main breakfast after the morning safari is very good and very reach. Lunches and dinner are of good quality but there is not that much variety, which is a pity. Rangers are very nice and professional. Despite of the fact that there is more than one lodge in the reserve, one hardly sees other cars. The other big advantage of the Kapama River Lodge is that it is close to the reserve gates.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My stay in the hotel was excelent! I was very well impressed with the activities and overal organization! The room was very good and large with a great view to the bushes! Meals were very good with an excelent vibe! You should try the spa that is very beatiful and cheap! Also, the spa pool is bigger than the hotel main one... They don't provide wi-fin in the rooms, but who cares!! The reserve is not close to Kruger park, but it is big enough and has a lot to see and to get excited! The safari games were amazing with the possibility to see all the key animals in action including leopard, lions, families of elephants, hienas, rinos, etc, etc...! I would definetelly come back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank TravelCoachOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was a good choice. The entrance to Kruger Park is about a 30 minutes drive but we saw elephants, giraffes and monkeys on the sand road when we just entered in the park. The accommodation was comfortable, very clean and front desk staff was pleasant all the time, although there was no wi-fi in the hotel and the small pool. We could hear lions roaring every night from the room, that was a freaky amazing experience. Our guide and tracker were the best and we experienced the most amazing up close encounters with the Big Five. We saw a baby elephant right after it was born. Definitely, we would return tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a brillant two game drives and managed to see the big five - a first for me! The experience of having a sundowner in the bush was wonderfull and our guide showed us a number of different antelope tracks. On our way back to camp, he even pointed out some of the stars i.e scorpio and the milky way. The dinner in the river bed was enhanced by the lanterns on the table and a true out of africa experience. The chef, Rasmus, can speak a number of languages - even a bit of Mandarin! My room was spacious and comfortable - opening up the outside door you felt as if you were in the middle of the bush as the sounds of the night could easily be heard. The staff were always friendly and attentive - even the students doing their practicals there were well trained. it was a truly unique experience to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0hanhattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We , as a family had a wonderful safari experience at Kapama. We had our own driver and tracker , Clement and Ringo for 2 days. There was no one else in the 4x4 except us for 4 exceptional game drives. We saw a lion chase a bull before the other lions came to share the prized catch and it happened right next to our vehicle. On another game drive, we were surrounded by a group of elephants as close as touching distance. Apart from the Big 5, we were able to see a bush baby and a civet cat , all rare findings at night. Then , at one night, a lion was heading straight towards me before Ringo made some noise to chase it away. The sundowner was special as to celebrate what we manage to see on our safaris and the sunset on those particular days was spectacular. Dinner at the Boma was exceptionally delicious and some of the trackers and drivers entertained us with some live African music. I will give this place a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiewKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kapama River Lodge for 2 nights during our SA trip. I am very glad we chose this property because it was luxury combined with the experience of a safari. The rooms were big, spacious and very well maintained by the housekeeping staff. The Rangers and Trackers were very well informed leading to 4 wonderful safaris. We managed to see the Big 4 (No Leopard Sadly) and a host of other animals.
The Kapama Reserve is very close to the Hoedspruit Airport and makes for a very small trip to the property which is a blessing. There was a mix up with our reservation and that led to a few complications with having different rangers and trackers for the 2 days and especially with food as we are vegetarians and had requested for special veg meals when we booked 2 months in advance. But all of that was managed well in the end and we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
433 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
463 reviews
4 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
16.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
348 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $747 - $1,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing