We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible service and lodge”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are here now and it is wonderful! twice daily game drives and more great food than a cruise ship! The rangers and trackers are excellent and all about making sure that you get to see all the animals. They go to great lengths, tracking the animals, and ensuring that you have a perfect trip. Example: we tracked a leopard last night and after 2.5 hours found her - what an incredible lifetime experience!

Rooms are outstanding and the lodge is beautiful. Clean, tremendous service and beautifui. Our room has a corner balcony overlooking the bush. Double glass shower, soaking free standing tub - really, just tremendous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitgusknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I recently spent 3 nights at Kapama River Lodge and I can't say enough good things about our stay. We went on 6 safari drives and each one was spectacular. Kevin our guide and Michael our spotter were unbelievable. They went out of their way to insure we saw the Big 5 and indeed we did. In fact, we saw animals and things I never dreamed I would see-a pride of 12 lions, leopard with a recent kill, cheetah with a kill, hippos, cape buffalos, rhinos, hyena just to name a few. I know we were lucky but I really feel we own so much to our guides for all their efforts and knowledge. Kapama offers much more than just a safari experience. Our room was great-comfortable bed, soaking tub, big shower, and a balcony where we could sit and see an occasional animal. The reception area, bar and pool areas are beautiful. Meals were served buffet style and they were delicious. They served a variety of different dishes but I especially enjoyed getting to try some unusual food such as warthog, crocodile, kudoo and others. I would also highly recommend a visit to the spa. I had a first rate treatment and it is a great place to relax and possibly see animals drinking at the lake by the spa pool. If you decide to get a treatment I would suggest you book it before you arrive as they book up quickly. All in all our visit to Kapama far exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Kapama in July with my wife and 2 daughters (10 and 11 yrs old) for 2 nights at the front end of a SA vacation. Amazing first safari experience. Top notch service, food and accommodations. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our most recent stay was to take friends from America, on their first visit to SA, who had been in the Kruger Park but not seen lion. Kapama delivered with efficient last minute booking and excellent guiding, duly delivering a great lion sighting (and leopard and serval amongst many others) in 24 hours. My previous visit was for a corporate conference, for which it was also excellent. Its large size means it lacks the atmosphere of most bush lodges, but it is well run and beatifully designed so often feels smaller than it is, and the size probably helps it deliver at reasonably competitive prices compared with other luxury lodges. Food is fine, nice pool, gym and spa, good vehicles and excellent guiding. Not for hardened bushgoers or those looking for romance, but very good for its target market of first timers and for larger groups.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently returned from an incredibly trip to South Africa, Victoria Falls and Namibia. The highlight was the safari at Kapama Game Reserve and the Kapama River Lodge where we stayed for 3 nights.

First and foremost we must mention our Ranger, Piet and our Tracker, Lasi - the adventure never stopped. We not only saw the big five within our first three drives but we saw a cheetah who had just made a kill, a leopard and her cub and many, many other animals and birds we had not previously known about. These guides were knowledgeable, interesting and answered any questions we had - we learned an amazing amount of new information about the wild animals of Africa. They never gave up, even through an unexpected thunder and lightening storm (which was when we saw our first leopard) - unforgettable experience I assure you.

Loved the accommodations as well. The rooms at Kapama River Lodge are large, beautifully decorated and clean. Every detail is taken care off.

The Manager had several conversations with us since we asked how they could manage to have everything so personalized. There is a Guide, Tracker, Waiter and Chambermaid assigned to just you. They all know your name and come to know your preferences. It is all done in a very non-invasive way but results in the very best of service.

We have traveled a good deal of the world but the the safari experience at Kapama is now our most unforgettable experience.

Thanks to everyone there
Andrew & Sarah Wenning
Nova Scotia, Canada

Room Tip: Get a spa room that faces out into the Reserve - we saw plenty of animals from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahawenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I wish we could have spent a few more days at Kapama, because two days just wasn't enough. Maggie (and Rossi, who was training on our drives) was a great ranger. We learned so much about each animal and had some up, close and personal experiences with some lions, elephants and buffalo. Probably the 2 coolest experiences were watching a standoff between a giraffe and 2 lions, and watching baby elephants nurse while their herd was feeding. We also saw a hippo!

The check-in experience was impressive. Elaine knew our names, our preferences and duration of stay. We were greeted with drinks and given a rundown of the schedule for each day. The schedule also was printed and left in our room for further reference.

During our short visit, I managed to visit the spa for a Kapama signature massage. Goodness was my massage therapist, and she was great. I think it was the best massage ever, especially as I was able to watch nyala and kudu from the room before and after.

The rooms at Kapama are beautiful. I loved watched nyala from our balcony. The beds were comfortable, the showers nice. The amenities (lotion, shampoo, etc.) were awesome.

Innocent, our waiter for our stay, was very sweet and eager to please. The food was buffet-style, but not lacking for anything in quality. We ate very well and took good advantage of the wine cellar!

We had such a wonderful experience at Kapama, and I can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirlEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This visit to Kapama was remarkable in every way. First off, kudos to Kevin our ranger and Michael our tracker. Every safari was more exciting than the previous one. Not only did we see the big 5 but we saw a pride of lions, more than 10 of them wandering through the bush. We saw baby lions, a cheetah and leopard dining on an impala as well as two lions devouring a giraffe. Kevin and Michael worked hard to give us the most unimaginable 3 days It was exciting as well as beautiful. When we returned to the lodge the rooms were large and very comfortable. The food was excellent, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You can't miss with Kapama 5 Stars all the way around!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank bigt3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
454 reviews
4 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
33.1 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $652 - $1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing