We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Bush Experience”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Kapama, the staff were friendly and service was excellent.

We went as part of a group and it felt as if our group were the only guests at the lodge which was fantastic.

There was a wide variety of food, which was tasty and well prepared. The safari drives was great, the guides friendly and knowledgeable and we saw a wide variety of birds, animals and plants.

Thank you Kapama for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only spent two nights here, but that included five game drives, which is why you come here. Our room was exceptional.
The meals were tasty and abundant. Our game guide really knew his stuff (Pieter, ask for him) and made the drive fun while being educational. Do not worry about the price, you get what you pay for.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The River lodge is a dream bush lodge retreat with fantastic service.

Game drives are a fascinating experience with knowledgeable guides. It is almost certain that you will see a large range of the big 5. Dinner in the boma is a fine dining in the bush experience. Well done to Mandy and her team.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hello, I just want to give props to this hotel and all its staff. My boyfriend and I had an excellent stay here and were very pleased with our experience. We stayed in the river lodge our first two night and karula lodge our last two nights. We were looking forward to both. I am writing two reviews for this hotel so if you are in between the two places please see my karula review.

My boyfriend and I had booked a standard room in the river lodge and it was fairly basic, however, we didn't spend much time in there as we were busy hanging out at the pool or on the safari. The hotel itself was beautiful and rustic and the staff were all wonderful. Dinner was spent with our safari group and served buffet style. There was no option of ordering from a menu. The downfall to this was all the hotel guests were served dinner at once and therefor kinda had the cattle effect when we all went up to the buffet line. You can imagine around 80 to 100 guests all getting up to serve themselves at once. This hotel is much more populated than karula, serving big groups and families. The spa pool is only offered to spa guests and off limits to those who just want to lay by the pool for the day...there is another pool near the reception that is the communal pool for the resort.

The game drives were awesome. We saw a ton of animals and our driver, Stephan was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and so enthusiastic about his job. We really enjoyed him as a driver and guide. Lastly, make sure you book a spa package during your stay. It is so worth it and very, very relaxing.

Thanks for the great stay Kapama.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

excellent place to go. Food is good for being a buffet, rooms are huge, clean and stilish. Prices for extras are reasonable and most of the waiters are absolutely nice. The atmosphere is thrilling, and waking up at 5.30 for a Safari is an experience (to be repeated). Only 1 negative points the SPA personnel is rude and hyper posh, really not in tone with the rest of the lodge.

Room Tip: I would try a SPA suite next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sleeping in a game reserve of anykind is an experience in its own! This place was chosen for us by Transat and part of a trip pakage, so I cannot comment on the value but what a wonderfull place!!! All the rooms faces the reserve and are beautiful and spacious. As we relaxed on our private deck we saw antilopes and wild boars roming around. The 2 safaris we took at the reserved as well as all the meals were all top notched!!! We were not here long enough to used the SPA facilities that seamed very nice. They have much more to offer that the time we satyed here. A 3 days stay would have been excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DML08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I visited Kapama with my parents this weekend. My parents have been there twice and insisted that we go with them. It definitely lived up to our expectations. The staff were incredibly friendly- all the time. Our room was lush and overlooked the bush where some of the animals often came to say hi.
The game drives were a highlight- the animals were not at all scared of the vehicles and we could sit and watch them from so close by.

The food was tremendous and we really have to hit the gym after this wonderful weekend.

Thank you for spoiling us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EloiseNolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
4 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $729 - $2,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing