We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It was beyond excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It was beyond excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I brought my tour group here for a couple of nights so that we got to enjoy 3 game drives. I cannot begin to tell you how impressed we all were with not only the rooms, which were all Spa Rooms, but the reserve itself and how the passion of the guides comes through as they took us on our drives. All three of our guides were great and work with trackers in locating game as a team...it was wonderful. As one of our jeeps spotted something they would alert the others and we sometimes met all together for tea or drinks depending on the time of day. Everyone came out of this experience with such wonderful things to say about the place.

The game drives themselves were just out of this world. To be that close to wild animals was thrilling, a bit scary and very humbling but our guides know them very well and respect them and do their best to make sure we know the rules of riding in the jeep.

Our rooms were awesome, so quiet and restful. At night you could not hear a sound and could see every star in the sky. Sitting on my balcony with just the land and sky to look at was surreal. Such peace. Huge big bathrooms with separate showers and big deep tubs that you could soak in and look outside and see nothing but birds. A huge bed to sleep in that when you woke up you were rested and ready to discover all over again. The ladies who cared for our rooms did so with huge smiles and knew our names!

Some of my group went to the spa and loved it. The food was excellent. No one wanted to leave the resort. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    192
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
313
753
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

A huge thank you to all the staff at Kapama River Lodge who made our stay absolutely tremendous! The unexpected anniversary message at the buffet on Sunday evening was a real surprise & a very special touch. Everyone went out of their way to make us welcome, from our waiter Vusi who was so attentive, friendly & chatty, Janco & Emmanuel who made our game drives very interesting & exhilerating, to Katharina who serviced our room (Spa Suite) & was also such a special, kind & friendly lady. A fantastic stay & although this is our third time at Kapama since 2009 (Buffalo Camp x 1 & River Lodge x 2), we enjoyed our stay so much this time round that we have decided to make it an annual visit from now on! A very special place that is extremely well run!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suites which are set a little further away from the main lodge & therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the River Lodge for one night after two nights at the nearby Southern Camp. The decor of the lodge and rooms were great and the views are beautiful. It's a bit noisy though. I stayed in the standard rooms and I can hear everything that goes on in the corridor and room above me.

The safari experience was great. Got to see the Big Five, cheetahs, zebras, impalas, you name it! Equally fascinating were the eagles, vultures, kingfishers and the best one of them all is the 'Go Away' bird!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and their buffet was great.

My only regret is that I didn't try out the spa. It looks absolutely gorgeous and it'll be a sin not to experience it.

Room Tip: Aim for the suites if you want total peace and quiet. The rooms tend to be noisy and you can hear wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My future husband and I just got back from a trip here, we stayed 4 nights at the River lodge and had a great time. The room was lovely, with a great stylish bathroom, balcony and amazing views of the reserve from our bath.
The resort was lovely and included a gorgeous spa and great outdoor eating areas. We would highly recommend the food, service and spa. We had a great driver called Clive and a great spotter called Freddy who took us for great game drives. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

What I loved with this lodge is its spa; it was brilliant, relaxing and peaceful. The food was plentiful and delicious. We found the staff to be very friendly and very attentive. Our ranger and tracker were great company. Very skilled and knowledgable. we were so lucky to see so many animals. The Outreach program for Cheetahs was an eye opener. I recommend future visitors be prepared for an adventure of a lifetime. Thanks a lot to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVDwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Though it is not a small private game lodge but a mid sized hotel for 100 people, we had a luxury stay and great guided safaris for the money. We saw the big five and a cheetah within our two day stay thanks to John, our super local guide. Food was buffet but good. Rooms were as elegant as one might expect for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kira_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at this fabulous lodge in August 2012. Staff was great, guides, trackers got us our big five! Very close looks at lions cheetah and leopard. The elephants are so much fun! Very clean and organized rooms with a back porch that looks out on the reserve. Wish we could have stayed longer. Buffet was good, my 17 yr old niece had no complaints. No bugs this time of year. Vehicles were good on the dirt roads and off road looking for the leopard. We saw lions eating a kill. A couple of our group did the elephant ride which was fun because the babies come along, one was chasing a warthog! Extra$$$ but niece wanted to do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturenutNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
14.6 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing