We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Showing signs of aging”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Good but Showing signs of aging”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The lodge is showing signs of aging. Service is avg. Staff should ask clients if they want drinks when lounging at the pool area. Big fly problem, I know it is summer, but please invest in a few nets. Especially during high tea.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuXingShou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    223
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
371
875
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Kapama River Lodge fully exceeded our expectations in every way! A one-of-a-kind full service vacation with SO much attention to detail. They were organized from the minute we stepped off the plane, and all we had to do was relax and enjoy our surroundings. A few ppl to mention who made our trip fantastic.John&Stanley;Ranger/Tracker,Best Duo ever! They promised to find every animal we wanted & made sure we didn't leave until those promises were fulfilled! Ralph our waiter was ABOVE & beyond. At first we thought he was so nice bc he wanted a tip, but in all honesty, he was just an extremely genuine person. He remembered every single detail each time we came to dine. Bernice at the spa was great & even housekeeping addressed me by my first name when I passed them in the hallway. Ive traveled to a lot of places& Kapama was a genuine highlight. VSTRONGLY Recommend

Room Tip: Just communicate in advance. They are easy to email with and strive to accommodate all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best place we were in South Africa.
We enjoyed the Safari experience and saw the Big5 and many more animals. Our ranger (Nelson) is a fantastic person.
The food was simply great, and the room were so cool in such an African style.
We really hope to go back there in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanoLion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

From the very moment we were greeted at the airport by our drivers, with the open top Landcruiser, to the moment they dropped us off, this was an excellent safari destination. Practically as soon as we entered the game reserve we saw a zebra. That was just the tip of the iceberg. We were lucky enough to see the "Big 5" & much more. The spa & wine selection were also very nice. Food was buffet style (pretty good, but still a buffet). Definitely a trip we will remember for a lifetime!

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Spa Suite" & it was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepwaterDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Kapama river lodge was a beautiful resort. From the moment we arrived, we were totally moved. We were collected from the airport by our rangers in the Safari jeeps. Driving into the resort was fantastic. The staff were wonderful, helpful and,friendly. The spa was brilliant, relaxing and peaceful. The Meals were authentic and delicious. A fabulous experience, one I hope I will be able to do again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited Kapama for our very first safari. We had such a fantastic experience, and both hope to stay at the River Lodge again. The camp totally takes care of its guests by providing everything from wake-up calls to scheduled tea time and meals. Apart from beverages, spa, and a few optional items the lodge is all-inclusive and a total steal at that. The food was plentiful and delicious, our room was lovely and we could actually sit on our patio and watch the passing wild life during our down time - we spent our first afternoon watching monkeys play. Our ranger and tracker were awesome and found all big five during our stay - we so enjoyed getting to know them. The staff was all courteous and professional - our waiter, Johannes, was simply heart-warming. Honestly I think this staff works harder than at any other hotel I've ever visited. The spa is fabulous with a ton of treatments offered.
Our only qualms - minor in the overall experience are as follows: you are dependent on the lodge to wake you unless you have an alarm, and the descriptions of the extras were not always accurate. We had some lovely experiences, but had we known exactly what we were getting, we would not have sacrificed a game drive. Overall we had an experience we will remember for the rest of our lives, and we will gladly go with Kapama again if we can! I do believe this is perfect for first time safaris, but I also think it's perfect for anyone who wants to have a stress-free safari handed up on a silver platter, or even people traveling alone. We got to know the ranger and fellow visitors well and made some new friends.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the River Lodge for 3 nights. From the moment we were collected at the airport by Kim in a safari jeep, until returned there 3 days later, we had nothing but fantastic experiences. The accommodation was first rate with A/C a must as outside temps were topping 36C. In the 6 safaris we managed to see all the big 5, an elusive leopard, a lion kill and many, many more amazing sights. Kim, our guide, and Michael his son as spotter were the perfect combo, knowledgeable, helpful, amusing. The sundowner drinks were everything you could want. Our fellow travellers stayed together for the safaris and the excellent evening meals which Kim hosted, which all added to the experience. Couple this with massages at the wellness centre, dips in the pool, amazing buffet meals and the ever attentive staff and we found the whole experience magical. However, three 5 am wake-up calls is probably the most you could stand!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepeter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
258 reviews
16.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
644 reviews
8.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#59 of 174 in Kruger National Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing