We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
487
25
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
487
25
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool game drives outdoor shower the river the reserve safari experience our waiter our honeymoon gas fireplace perfect experience high end lodges hoedspruit airport star luxury food and wine private safari elusive leopard flora and fauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 519 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Just fabulous in every way!!!!
Fabulous staff (ranger: Abrie, tracker: Rudolf, waiter: Trinity) plus all of the other fab people that make it happen - Brad...Cerise etc.
The accommodation is second to none - luxury, comfortable and well maintained.
The safari is excellent - fabulous staff taking us to see the big 5 and much more in a safe and comfortable manner (key when you’ve got ur kids!!) / fab snacks and sundowners along the way.
And the food is spectacular in every way - breakfast, lunch and supper - plus all the extra lovelies in between - be warned; lose 6kg before you go!!
The spa - second to none that I’ve been too!
Fab place and experience; would recommend to all :)

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank EMWillis1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

If I could give this lodge more than 5 stars, I would.
Being South African we have had the opportunity to spend some time in various lodges in the bush over the years but this was by far our best bush experience ever.
Everything was just perfect! The staff were all so friendly, efficient and professional.
The chef Makhi and his team deserve a special mention. Every single meal was prepared to perfection and the presentation was amazing. A true culinary delight!
The lodge caters for children very well. Our children loved the bush walk, spoor tracking, pizza making, movie night, arts and crafts etc.

The family villa was idyllic with beautiful decor and we had our own heated pool, The minibar was stocked with excellent wines from Tokara and Ernie Els wineries amongst others.

Of course the main purpose was to experience the bush which was just as amazing. Our ranger Morne was more knowledgable than any ranger we have met previously and our tracker Nick was equally good!
We managed to see the big 5 more than once as well as many other wild animals.
We feel privileged to have had this wonderful experience!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

We decided to take the kids (8yr & 9yr ) on a safari during their winter school holiday and booked a family villa . Karula Lodge turned out to be a great choice ! The villa is spacious and furnished with top quality materials . The heated pool was a hit with the kids and the villa even included Wii TV games in the kids room. Set on the banks of the Klaserie river the entire lodge is a masterpiece . This recently built lodge with dining room , lounge area , coffee bar and library speaks of attention to detail and has a fresh feel to it . Game drives were a delight with ample sightings and very informative comments from our personal guide Mornê and his tracker Nic . We managed to see the Big 5 on our first day out !
Most impressive however was the way the staff entertained the kids with daily programs that included everything from fishing to learning how to track animals in the bush . This allowed the parents time to relax in the well appointed spa & gym . Altogether a great experience , we will definitely be back .

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank enzo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

We did a lot of research for our first trip to South Africa and were lucky enough to read the previous reviews for Kapama Karula that lead us to stay there. Our stay was beyond perfect. Our group of 16 practically took over the 12 room property and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The lodge and rooms are gorgeous with natural light and every comfort imaginable. The service and attention to detail extraordinary. Our ranger, Morne was very knowledgable and made our daily safaris a great experience for all. All the meals and snacks during our stay were delicious and beautifully presented. Spa was great and so relaxing. Truly a great experience and probably one of the best and most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed at.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank Susanabbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

First of all, let me say that we arrived at Kapama Karula with really high expectations. Also, we were coming from an amazing safari experience in Botswana (a completely different setting) so, our biggest worry was to find ourselves underwhelmed. Luckily, we were wrong.
Kapama Karula was quite perfection.
We drove to the Kapama Game Reserve gate driving our rental car and were greeted by the staff with cold towels and refreshing drinks. Brad showed us our huge villa (only 12 villas on site!) and all the amenities of the property.
We loved the design of the villa and all the communal areas, a perfect mix between modern architecture, nature, and African art.
Villas come with everything you need: well stocked mini bar (included in the rate), a lovely pool overlooking the river, plenty of space all around, and probably two of the most pretty showers I’ve ever seen (indoor and outdoor).
Safaris were awesome: Matt and Edwin were great and we were lucky enough to see all the big 5 and many more, even a black mamba. The cherry on top was the cutest lion cubs we spotted playing with their mother and other females.
Early mornings in May can be pretty cold especially when you’re on an open vehicle, but safaris are easier when you find on your seat warm blankets and hot water bottles.
We also decided to go on a bush walk safari and it was really interesting and exciting.
Talking about food, it’s hard to get hungry at Kapama Karula: from the early morning coffee, to lunch, to snacks and dinner, there’s always plenty of food. And everything is delicious. Plenty of choice from the a la carte menu, and every dish is beautifully presented. Also good wines from the cellar and if you’re still thirsty you can always have a cocktail or two at the bar. Oh, and everything is included.
As we were on honeymoon we were surprised with a private firelit dinner in the library.. amazing!
Too bad we didn’t have enough time to check out the Spa (it looked incredible) but we heard from other guests it’s great.
We would like to thank everyone working at Kapama Karula, everyone is so kind and hard working, they really make you feel like at home.
This place is not cheap but worth every penny: we had such a great stay and would definitely come back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank bierre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews