We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay a fortune when luxury is affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Why pay a fortune when luxury is affordable”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very welcoming excellent value for money, brilliant staff, good food fantastic game viewing knowlegeable rangers, impeccably clean and a very welcome pool. We have stayed on other game lodges at much higher cost and can't see what added value they gave us compared with Mohlabetsi. Whilst not part of the itenary the proper charge by the matriarch ellie was an adrenalin moment but the rangers driving gave us confidence. If you are going that way - stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Owner at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Greetings Diana

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments & kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Mohlabetsi. We are most pleased to read that you consider our Lodge to be good value for money as well as your other observations as we strive to maintain these standards. Reviews such as yours are real reward for us!

We hope that the rest of your holiday was just as memorable!

Regards from the bush
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
138
206
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mohlabetsi lodge was a great way to end a 10 day tour of Kruger.

My wife and I stayed at three different SA National Park rest camps in Kruger which was fine but to have three days and two nights at the luxurious Mohlabetsi, with everything organised for you by very attentive staff was a brilliant finale.

The attention to detail and the friendliness of all the staff was a joy as was the wonderful food and service. Lena and the team do a great job in camp and the game viewing with Ranger Solly and his tracker; Roger was also excellent. Timba the dog was very entertaining as was Izzie the cat. I really cannot understand why other lodges charge so much more.

Well done Mohlabetsi, if we are in Kruger again, we will be back.

Jimmy & Di

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best thing we did on our trip to South Africa. The staff at Mohlabetsi was wonderful and the lodge itself very nice. Very nive cottages with everything you need. We gladly recommend it!
Family Andersson from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CeciliaAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

got everything we looked for (2 safaris with lots of animals including lions, swimming pool, all meals included only drinks to pay extra) and relative to other private game reserves it was affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Axel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything about the lodge made my stay so special.....animals, scenery, food, comfort, tranquility and of cause the staff. Absolutely everything about this lodge is perfection. Even when I was poorly one evening the staff kindly set me a dinner place alone for just some soup and brought tea to my room.
I travelled alone and stayed 5 nights ...... most people stay 2 - 3 nights but I thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed pace after a hard year at work. highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I spent three nights at the Lodge and was impressed with the hospitality, environs and attentiveness of staff. The small lodge experience was perfect. i stayed in room #5-but i think any would be great. i like small, personal, unique places where i can get to know the people and don't feel like i am just one in a crowd. This fit the bill perfectly. Be sure to meet Tony and Alma-their hospitality is certainly at the middle of it all. Lena and Ranger Solly were tops!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emking_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mohlabetsi in early October 2012. Our three day stay at the lodge was truely THE experience of our 2 week stay in South Africa! We were greeted with smiles and introductions from Tony, Alma, Lena, and Timba when we first arrived! The experience of sleeping in a roundawel truely made the experience! Showering with the outdoor view and being able to sleep with the windows open (everything is bug screened) at night listening to the hyenas and lions was incredible! The food served at all meals and dinner in the boma under the stars was wonderful!

Our game driver Solly was truely the best! Having been on a South African safari five years ago, this trip put my previous safari to shame! We were able to see 4 of the 5 big five (and not for a lack of trying...no leopard sighting on our drives). Our lion experience made up for not seeing the leopard, never did I think I could get so close to a lion without glass or metal bars between us! Going to a zoo will never be the same again! Solly isn't afraid to get you up close and personal with the animals, while maintaining and teaching respect for these animals at the same time. He has a wealth of knowledge about the animals and the native vegitation, which made the safari all the more interesting.

By the time our last day arrived, we didn't want to leave! If you are looking for highly skilled game drivers, wonderful food and service, and small/intimate accomodations, Mohlabetsi is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
643 reviews
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,044 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing