We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip Hands Down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Trip Hands Down”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is one of those trips where you never ever imagine you would really do it and then when you are there are truly amazed that you did it. I don't know how to really express how great everyone here was. We stayed at the private chateau which was like a private home. We had a dip pool and would wake up in the morning with wildebeest and other animals running around in the distance. We always saw animals on our drive and our trackers definitely had a special skill. Off roading was ridiculous. Who would have thought that going on a safari meant you didn't have to worry about ANYTHING the entire time you were there. All meals, snacks, etc taken care of. I would highly recommend this to every and any one who wants to go on a safari. They will make you want to move there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    15
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
121
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I visited Ezulwini a little over a year ago and thought it was the most amazing experience of my life. I cannot believe I am so blessed to be relocating to South Africa & getting the oppotunity to visit Ezulwini again! Can't wait to see you guys!
Blair Newman

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Everything everyone said in the 5 star reviews of Ezulwini is true (and those one or two complainers must have stayed somewhere else and gotten confused). Both the River Lodge and Billy's Lodge are great - the River Lodge is more remote, but that makes it all the more charming. The "chalets" are lovely, comfortable, and very private, and the staff are extremely accommodating and knowledgeable. On the game drives, we saw leopards, lions, cape buffalo, giraffes, zebras, elephants, hippos, and virtually every other animal and bird that lives in the African bush. And, we got very close to them in open jeeps. Between drives, we loved hanging out in the observation towers, reading our books, and watching animals wander up to the watering holes. It was very peaceful and exciting at the same time. We'd love to return one day and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in "standard" chalets at both lodges and they were extremely nice. We saw the lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After staying 3 nights at the River Lodge and 3 nights at Billy's Lodge, we will not stay anywhere else. Everyone at Ezulwini treats you as royalty with fabulous food, care, and outstanding game rides. From the Trackers to the hosts, we felt very comfortable and always special. Due to the talents of the Trackers and the Guides we saw more animals, insects, birds, and fauna than we ever expected to see. We even benefited when our Guides helped other drivers from nearby resorts. Every request we made was met with enthusiasm. The serentity and relaxation is fabulous. We even saw animals while relaxing on the observation decks.

We especially enjoyed our private suite at Billy's Lodge with our indoor/outdoor shower and plunge pool overlooking the plains.

We are saving to return with our kids so they too can experience this wonderful hospitality and amazing adventure.

Room Tip: Request the private suites. These rooms are well worth it. We particularly liked having our own pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I purchased a four night, five day stay at Ezulwini Lodges through a live auction at a nonprofit in San Diego, CA, USA. At the time, I knew friends who had purchased the trip, but I never could have imagined the experience I would have... Upon entering the gate, my traveling companion and I were greeted by a pack of monkeys. The experience at Ezulwini's River Lodge and Billy's Lodge were excellent. At River Lodge we were greeted by our host with hot towels and a refreshing beverage. The hostess, driver, tracker and lodge staff were all extremely hospitable and knowledgable. The tracker at River Lodge shared his stories of tracking in National Kruger Park for a decade. The knowledge of the staff was incredible - this is a luxury safari with the feeling of an authentic South African experience. Both lodges serve incredible food and have an open bar - which you can bring any type of beverage along with you on the night drives (you must try the South African wines, they are excellent). Each morning you rise early, eat tea and cookies then head out into the bush in the hopes of seeing animals in the wild. River Lodge had more giraffe, zebra, impala, lepoard and lions spread out over a very large desolate area. While Billy's Lodge (quite a bigger camp) had more animals including giraffe, zebra, elephants (they said this was rare, but we saw three elephants twice during our stay), rhinos, waterbucks, monkeys, etc.. On day three I stopped keeping count of how many animals we were seeing, although you never get tired of these magnificant creatures. Both lodges have observation decks where you can lounge between meals and safari rides and capture photos of animals passing by for a drink. The timing of each day is planned, but you have time to really relax and take in the incredible animals and nature around you. As we were leaving River Lodge to go to Billy's Lodge on our last morning ride there was an open plain of land where some giraffe and impala were grazing, then some warthogs came along, then zebra, by the time we sat for a few minutes, there were over 100 animals grazing - it felt as through they were saying goodbye to us as we continued our trip to the next lodge. At Billy's Lodge we met the owner and his daughter. They are kind and genuine people who enjoy seeing the thrill of guests experienceing the joy of the animals they see every day. The daughter and her fiance were working spreading awareness and gaining support for rhinos, who are being poached nearly to extinction. The dedication of this family to conservation and perservation of the animals is inspiring. You feel as though you are giving back to a family who continues to pay it forward. I would go back in a heartbeat.. The lodges felt warm, inviting and exclusive. This is the type of experience I would expect if I was staying with a friend, the Saad family makes you feel at home in their home. I look forward to going back in a few years!

Room Tip: The rooms at both lodges are charming. Thatched roofs make you feel as though you are in Africa, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NoraJane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I booked five days at River Lodge for my honeymoon. Everything was fantastic, and we felt well looked after, and really appreciated the small touches done by Greg, Trevor, and Erin to make our stay even more enjoyable such as the Pongraz, strawberries & cream, and coffee liquer they put in our room on the first and last night.

The food, the location, the game viewing were just amazing as well. Greg, Trevor, Erin, Richard, Lawrence, and the general staff really made us feel part of the furniture and at home. Our time at River lodge will be treasured for a long time to come!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrThirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at River Lodge the first two nights and thought that was wonderful and then moved to BIlly's Lodge the last two nights and enjoyed that even more. The game drives were fun and rewarding. Recognizing that there is some luck in the timing of animal movements, we were lucky enough to see the Big 5 and just about everything else imagineable. (Hint: pure luck on our part, but think about the phase of the moon when planning your trip. We had a glorious full moon almost every evening.) The guides and trackers at both lodges were friendly and very good at what they do - as were the owners and staff at both lodges. Food was excellent with good variety and very well presented. Hard to imagine how to top this one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
21.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodges
Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing