We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazing, great lodges, great food, amazing animals!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The lodges are really great. Although many loved the river lodge, our family preferred Billy's lodge. The food and service are great and the game safaris and the guides are really wonderful. The guides are a wealth of knowledge and very much want their customers to have a great time. The animals were amazing, saw many elephants, lions, giraffes, zebra, saw 4 Rhinos once, only thing we couldn't find was the leopard...

Room Tip: Billy's Lodge has suites for extra $
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knebpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Ezulwini Game Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

We just returned from an amazing week with Ezulwini lodges. We had such a great time, the food the staff and our accommodations were excellent. We loved the knowledge of the guides and our 15 year old had a BLAST!! The wine tasting out in the bush was fabulous and the wine cellar is beautiful. We loved the comfort of the land rovers and the welcoming back shots! Nothing could have been more fun doing this trip with our 15 year old it was a wonderful family experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosntmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed at River Lodge & Billy's Lodge for a total of 5 days. What an amazing place. The staff was incredible. The food was wonderful. We saw the big 7. The Rangers, Greg & Jo were the best as well as the trackers, Lawrence & Richard. The owners Laurence & Tess were so hospitable it was like they opened their home to us. The game drives each day were an experience of a lifetime. I highly recommend Ezulwini.

Steven & Shelley Scher

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great staff, tremendous accommodations and most importantly, amazing game drives! We saw all of the Big Five (including the elusive leopard) as well as the Big Seven. We visited for our honeymoon and are already trying to figure out how to get back. The staff at both lodges were great but the family atmosphere at Billy's was really special. We really felt at home and it was terribly tough to leave such a wonderful place. We made new friends and memories that are both sure to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toddcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

A life changing experience.Tess,Laurence,Lauren and the whole crew made us feel like "family" for our too short stay of 5 days.The lion and elephant encounters could not have been more perfect if the were from Disney central casting.
Ah ,the food,the wine, the air, the stars....it doesn't get any better than this !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerylJoelSchonfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I had the privilege of staying at Ezulwini in Balule Park at Kuger and it truly was a once in a lifetime experience. I feel like it is the ultimate B&B of the Game Lodges. It is owned by the Saad family and when you leave you feel like you are a part of their family. The service is outstanding – all of the staff can not do enough for you. It is newly renovated in a manner that is in keeping with being located in the S African Bush while being totally luxurious. All of the accommodations are fantastic from the basic (which are really nice and not basic) chalets to the suites. The game drives are outstanding – all of the Big 7 were spotted in one evening alone. I do not have enough good things to say about Billy’s Lodge – without repeating the prior wonderful reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Where to start? I am not to good with words, but there are sum things i just must say. First of, a unremarkable dream. I went to Billy's with my wife and 7 month old baby girl, expecting a plain and simple room and straight forward drives. But instead we were placed in a 10 star castle if i may call it so. It was perfect in every way we could think of spending our time in this part of paradise.. The hostess's along with all the staff were all the nicest people on this planet. They made us feel part of the family, but just better, we felt like family. There was always laughter all around. And never a dull moment. The food was made to perfection and trilled my taste-buds down to the last bit.

And then game the game drives, were we learned so much about the diversity of nature. We were given lessons of trees and plants that could come in rather handy if i forget my vanity bag next time i go camping. And then came the big 5. Not even 15 minutes on the drive... 3 of the big 5 all less than 10-20 minutes apart, and the birding in the area was fa nominal. I have never in my live seen so many different species in one spot. And what was more exiting to me was when we tracked, the guy's were on top of there game the whole time, making us grip our seats with tension and then breaking the tension by leading us to remarkable sightings.

The best stay i have ever had, and indeed the most pleasant. Top class, you Guy's were amazing!!!!!! I would and will indeed recommend you're lodges to all and every one I know.... 10 STARS if i may. Thank you guys so much for the lovely stay.. I wish i could make your lodges my home...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clows64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
662 reviews
19.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#67 of 175 in Kruger National Park
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $679 - $1,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing