We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven”
Review of Pondoro Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondoro Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed a few nights here during our honeymoon and it was one of the two unforgetable highlights of our trip. It was amazing! Rooms are great and elegantly decorated, view is magnificent, food excellent and the game drives where fantastic! Robbie (owner and also our ranger) was very knowledgeable and taught us so much about the animals. Lize (owner and chef) is a great cook and makes you feel at home in the bush. Utter luxury never felt so right :-)
Robbie, Lize, Andries (tracker) and the rest of the staff: thank you so much!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FAldelhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear FAdelhof,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am elated that we could help in making your honeymoon a special and unforgettable occasion. Glad to see that you enjoyed my guiding and Lize's cuisine. I will Andries and the other staff know of your appreciation.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    27
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
122
434
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Pondoro at the end of June for my husband's 50th birthday and what a once in a life time experience it was! Pondoro delivered what it promised. The food was fabulous. The staff were friendly and attentive. The game drives were thrilling especially the treks on foot through the bush looking for lion cubs. We frequently got up close and personal with the big five as well as other animals that we did not expect to see such as a cheetah and civet cats. Our trackers were not a chatty bunch but when you did ask questions they proved to be a pair of top blokes whose love and knowledge of the bush and sense of humour was infectious. On the day of the big 50 our dinner was held on the river bank under candle light. During dinner we heard a noise and shone our torches across the river to see a herd of elephants having their dinner as well! A big thank you to all the staff,who made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a chalet close to reception. Though the rooms were very private we were green with envy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reservoirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reservoirgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that Pondoro could help in making your husband's 50th birthday a special occasion. Big 5, lion cubs on a walking safari, cheetah and elephants during a bush dinner surely helps to make a safari experience unforgettable.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pondoro was fantastic…very elegant and a great value. Pondoro is in the Baluli reserve and it was full of game, the big 5 plus many more. Pondoro is right on the Olifant river so we had hippos behind our hut and we slept to the sounds of elephants tearing up the bush….they make a racket. Velvet monkeys and baboons came by daily.

We visited Pondoro as a family of 7, all USA nationals with 3 currently living in Switzerland.

A week before we arrived a pride of lions killed a big water buck just behind our hut. During daily bush walks around our lodge we saw fresh lion, leopard, and hyena tracks. On one bush walk along the river our tracker Remsen pointed out what looked like a huge black rock underwater, suddenly two hippos came to the surface 2 meters from us! The hippos were snorting and clearly annoyed with our intrusion. The main Pondoro lodge is encircled by an electric fence but the guest huts are outside the fence. Pondoro required a guide whenever we walked to our hut at night or early morning. A bit unnerving to see hippo’s in the flashlight beam 10 meters away. The guides said we were fine as long as the hippos were between us and the river, dangerous the other way around.

Even our guide Mark took out his camera for some unusual sightings. Cheetah’s are not common in Baluli as they prefer the open Savannah. We were fortunate to follow a Cheetah through the bush, up and down a tree, for around 20 minutes. We also got within 2 meters of a resting leopard in the twilight, again Mark had his camera out. Surprisingly the guide was impressed when at night we saw a civet cat and an aardvark, again his camera came out. Our guide told us that these animals are not rare but unusual to sight. The last time our guide saw an aardvark was years ago.

We travelled in a 9 passenger Land Cruisers with a guide and tracker. We would follow tracks until our tracker Remsen would hop off his front-most seat and walk deep into the bush to find a pride of 6 lions resting in dense grass. It seemed very daring in our regulated world of health & safety. During one evening tea-break the tracker and guide urgently hustled all of us back into the Land Cruiser. 60 seconds later two lioness walked by the truck giving us a close inspection. The tracker said he heard something and saw movement….the city slickers from Zurich did not notice anything until we were hustled into the truck.

We saw a lot of birds as well, vultures, harrier hawks, hawk eagles, African eagle, owls, lilac rollers, franklins, black ibis, etc

Seeing the sunrise and sunset, morning and evening stars, in the bush was amazing. Makes one realize how far away our lives are from nature.

The staff at Pondoro were amazing, always smiling, or ready with hot towels at the end of a game drive. Mark and Remsen, our guide and tracker, were very knowldegable about the flora and fauna. Mark and Remsen worked hard to deliver amazing animal encounters....and deliver they did! We were so happy to have them show us the bush. The food was delicious, with many courses each one better than the previous. The Chef and her team got everything rigtht...fresh ingredients, variety, novelty, and presentation. Several in our party took in a massage at the spa which was delightful.

This was our 30th wedding anniversary and the staff went out of their way to help us celebrate with candles, champagne and rose petals galore.

In short, Pondoro provided an amazing experience and a very good value. I highly recommend them. Many thanks to our friends at Pondoro...

Room Tip: We stayed at the huts outside the main lodge rather than within the main reception area. The huts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear James G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am elated that we could help in making your 30th anniversary a special celebration. Will definitely tell Mark and Remson, as well as other staff, about your great feedback. The staff get great enjoyment from this as there is nothing beats honest appreciation for hard work.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This trip was extremely special. Starting with the game drives, my favorite part: We had a great driver Mark and tracker Remson; they found the big 5 and some bonus animals. This pair found some really amazing animals on our drive. Over the course of 4 days they found a a cheetah, leopard (x2), lions, rhinos, elephants, hippos, giraffes, owls, cape buffalo, zebras ... an aardvark (we found out later that seeing an aardvark is really rare)! This was a trip of a lifetime.

The rooms and staff: My parents were celebrating their 30th anniversary with 5 grown children. The Pondoro staff sets this lodge apart; they went out of their way to be welcoming, friendly, and informative. There was champagne to welcome my parents, and a hot bath drawn in their room after the evening game drive; these personal touches really made it memorable.

Each meal we had was phenomenal and the staff provided delicious wine recommendations with every meal. The food alone would be worth visiting for. Our party was so happy to meet the chef and say thank you on our last night during the candle lit dinner on the river, just one more way that the staff anticipated what our group wanted.

Room Tip: Buffalo is at the end of the line of suites, and a lot of big animals walk past that lodge in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Laura G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Look like you had a really good time and that you saw lots of animals. You are right when you say that seeing an aardvark is special. I am happy that we could make your parents 30th anniversary a special one!

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote D'ivoire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A great place to stay at, the facilities are magnificent, staff is beyond great, and the food exceptional... we got to see 4/5 big 5... bt seeing the lion roar made up for the leopard :-) picnic in the tree house was such a treat... nothing bad to say about this place... away from the madness of Kruger... a great choice without a doubt!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiga1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear alga1965,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Will let the staff know of your appreciation. A lion roaring right next to the vehicle is a rare treat.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pondoro for 6 days / 5 nights in August 2012 (finally got around to writing reviews from the trip!). Amazing experience overall. The chalet (we stayed in the Buffalo Room) was incredible - the pictures online don't completely do it justice. We regularly got to see wildlife without leaving the room - not the big 5, but lots of monkeys, kudu, etc. The staff actually walks you to/from your room every time because they have had lions walk through the property. We didn't use the shower / tub on the deck due to the thinner vegetation at that time of year - makes game viewing easier on the game drives, but we would have given a show to the lodge across the river. (This doesn't pose a problem, because the in room facilities were equally awesome.)
The staff was excellent, and I wish I had written down everyone's names so I could thank them individually here. They truly are out to make your vacation perfect, from remembering your drink at the bar to your game driver designing your drive to complete your big 5 before you leave.
The game drives run very nicely - they provide blankets for the early morning and evening chill, and ponchos for the occasional rain. Our driver and tracker were great - they teach you what they are looking for, which makes for a nice bit of education, and seemed to find animals even on rainy days when I would have guessed that everything would have been hunkering down. Our most memorable experience was watching - from a distance of 15 feet! - two young rhinos demolish a 10 ft high anthill.
Meals were out of this world, and probably the selling point for us on coming back to Pondoro in the future rather than trying somewhere else. The dinner menu features various game animals (ostrich, kudu, etc) and is on a rotation, so we didn't get the same thing twice (though I'd have been fine eating any of the meals every night).
Other than the food, the atmosphere is probably the other big draw. You spend a lot of time together with the other people on your truck for the game drive, but beyond that, the way the lodge is set up brings the guests together remarkably well. Though the option was available to dine alone, while we were there afternoon tea and meals inevitably ended up with 10-12 guests sitting together, leading to great conversations with folks from all around the world. We became very close with several other couples, and the staff even set up a fire-lit dinner table for us all down on a dry section of the riverbed just below the lodge one night so we could all sit together.
All in all, this was an incredible experience. The only negative out of our entire stay is that with the prices we were paying I felt a little nickeled and dimmed when I was charged for each can of cola. I expect to pay for alcohol but other drinks should probably be included in the overall price.

We saw 4 of the big 5. Leopard are not prevent in this part of the park (due to the high number of lions). If seeing all 5 of the big 5 is a top priority you might want to split your trip and stay in Sabi Sans in addition to Pondoro. Either way, If you are looking for an unforgettable safari experience this is the place to go.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sarah K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It is great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Sounds like you had great safari sightings and that you really enjoyed your suite. Just one comment on leopards: A high density of lions does not have an effect on leopard numbers. We see leopards on average every 2nd day, but they can for obvious reasons not be guaranteed. Sorry you missed seeing one but hopefully you would be lucky on your next visit.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful setting. Wonderful room/chalet. Great food. Exceptional staff. Fantastic wildlife.

This lodge is paradise and it is so good to know that a palace like this exist. The staff was exceptional, the accommodation perfect and beautiful , and the game drives exciting. The efforts to make the stay exceptional was incredible. I will return!

If you like good food and wine, like I do, then you will appreciate Pondoro. A lot of effort goes into the quality and presentation. A gourmet restaurant in the middle of nowhere! Being privately owned this lodge is not part of a large commercial company and the personalised service and flexibility is outstanding.

I stayed for 3 nights and wish I had stayed for longer. I saw all big 5's on the first 2 game drives, which were accompanied by great information by Rul and Ramson, who knew the animals well. One of the best places to view wild life for sure, even after having been in Botswana! Three chetah brothers and lots of lion cubs were highlights. So were the resident wild mongoose family.
Next time I will try the spa. Did not have enough time.

Transport from the airport was organised by the lodge and went smoothly.

I cannot recommend this place enough for wild life, staff, accommodation and food. Tops!

Room Tip: My request for a room close to the main building materialised and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Merete H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It is, as always, great to see how much guests appreciate all the little things that we do to make their stay exceptionable. Big 5 including lion cubs and cheetahs! No wonder you enjoyed the safaris.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
4.1 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Property: Pondoro Game Lodge
Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Pondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing