We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
727
41
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
41
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tented accommodation chef orlando game drives guide kevin other guests delicious food food allergies outdoor shower electric fence thank you so much whole experience south africa flora and fauna personal attention fantastic experience african experience stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 768 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited for 5 nights with the family, including our two girls aged 9 and 12. Slightly apprehensive that 6 hours of game drives a day; 5.30am starts and large breaks in the day in the middle of a game reserve would not work for us... but shouldn’t have worried. We all soon settled into he rhythm of the days and enjoyed both the safaris and down-time immensely. It is amazing how the time flies zipping round the bush, and very much off the beaten track, in pursuit of an elusive rhino or elephant. Both the guide (and owner), James and the tracker, Tambe, were knowledgeable and great and the thrill of the pursuit was almost as much fun as the sightings. We did see the ‘Big 5’ but that was a bonus - we saw something interesting on every drive.

The accommodation is really lovely and the food superb. The recently extended lodge has everything you might need. All the staff are very attentive and, for example, were very accommodating of our request for a family meal on our own one night. Lovely lunches.

We came away feeling we had both had a very relaxing but also invigorating experience - and certainly one we will all remember.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank YorkieMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausage_Tree, Manager at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Yorkiemummy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful Tripadvisor review on your safari experience with us at Sausage Tree Safari Camp. We had a fantastic hosting you and your family and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed every aspect our small and intimate camp has to offer, and that you departed with such fond memories. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Bushveld greetings from all of us at Sausage Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 days at the Sausage Tree. The place it's really beautiful, with a very friendly environment. Sausage tree is the prefect way to experience and enjoy safari. All the staff are super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The food it's always fantastic, thanks to the chef Orlando.

Thanks to James and Mattew, the guide, and the super tracker Polite, they ensure you to have the best time and to spot even the rarest of wildlife and enjoy an amazing safari experience.
Highly reccomended.
Marco e Federica

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marcotoncich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausage_Tree, Manager at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marcotoncich,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, compliments and recommendation. We had a fantastic time hosting you at Sausage Tree Safari Camp and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed a special and memorable safari experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Warm safari greetings from the entire Sausage Tree team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My husband and I loved our 3-day safari trip at Sausage Tree. The lodge was small and comfortable, and the view off of the deck was gorgeous. We went on 2 game drives per day, and saw lots of amazing wildlife and Kruger land. Our guide and tracker were amazing; so knowledgeable and caring and funny. The lodge staff were all so great too, and took such good care of us. Plus, the food was delicious!!! The whole place felt like a family atmosphere. We had such a wonderful experience at Sausage Tree, it was by far our best vacation experience in South Africa. We would love to go back and would highly recommend it to anyone going on safari in Kruger!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausage_Tree, Manager at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Lauren M,

Thank you so much for making the time to write such a wonderful review on your safari experience at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, it is much appreciated. We had a fantastic time hosting you and we are thrilled to know that you felt like part of our family in the bushveld. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Safari greetings from the entire Sausage Tree team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Sausage Tree Safari Camp was absolutely wonderful. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and balanced rustic and chic perfectly. The amenities (food, pool, view, etc) were outstanding and the staff are warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhealy173050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausage_Tree, Front Office Manager at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear bhealy173050

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful Tripadvisor review, it is much appreciated. We are so happy to know that your safari experience with us at Sausage Tree was a special and memorable one and we do hope you will join us again for more extraordinary memories made in the African bush.

Safari greetings from the entire Sausage Tree Safari Camp team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

Sausage Tree felt like home. The staff was SO sweet and made me feel so welcomed. It's obvious they all love their "jobs." (It's not a job if you love what you do)

The food was phenomenal. EVERYTHING was
so delicious. I never went hungry. Orlando, had me LOVING things I would've never touched at home. Truly amazing food.

The game drives were outstanding. Matt, one of the tour guides, is SO knowledgeable and he loves to share his knowledge with the guests. There isn't a question about South Africa's wildlife he can't answer. He made waking up at
5am for morning drive worth it because he kept it interesting and fun!

The lodge itself is extremely cute! The view is absolutely breathtaking from the deck. Even from your tents the view is amazing. You can see wildlife passing right through! I was even able to see elephants right from the lodges deck!!! Hanging at the lodge never got boring, the staff are all so friendly and welcoming. Especially Shanna, she is such a sweetheart, and has so many cool/unbelievable stories! (She even has a book with her amazing story that they sell at the lodge!!!)

The tents are gorgeous, and the beds a super comfy. Even being in the tent by myself, I felt safe and was able to fall asleep with no problem. (I voluntarily stayed up to listen to animal sounds and was able to hear lions calling close by!!!) The outside shower is one of my favorite parts of the tent!

Over all this place is a MUST. I can't say enough positive things about it. NOT ONE COMPLAINT.

If you're looking for a sign, this is it. BOOK YOUR STAY AT SAUSAGE TREE. You won't regret it.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
Thank Roving778320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews