We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sausage Tree Safari Camp was WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sausage Tree Safari Camp was WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I and our 3 children (ages 12 to 14) spent 3 days and nights with James, Sonja, and their wonderful team at Sausage Tree in June of 2014--it was really the best experience we've ever had on a family vacation!! It is one of the most beautiful places we've ever been--simply amazing. The 'tents' are very deluxe--with very nice beds and bathrooms. Honestly, though--we spent little time in the tents--there is the common area/lodge with beautiful views of the mountains in the distance and great chairs for reading and chatting. The food was fantastic--their on-site chef really makes very wonderful food--breakfasts and lunches were served in the beautiful 'common area/lodge' and suppers were served around an outdoor fire in a unique outdoor eating area--hard to explain but really really great! There are only 5 'tents' so it is a small/intimate place--not large at all. But what made it so great was that different couples/families were always arriving/departing and so we met many different people in our 3 days--a couple from Australia, another couple from America, a couple from Tanzania--and we got to talk with/get to know all of these people at the meals and on the safari rides. Which brings us to the REAL highlight of this amazing place. As if the great hosts, tents, food, common-area/lodge, and fellow travelers were not enough--every day we had a morning safari and an evening safari where we were driven-around the game/nature reserve with our fellow-guests and we saw AMAZING wild-life every time. We saw elephants and lions and giraffe and everything else--often as close as 20 feet away from our safari vehicle--and occasionally even closer--it was AWESOME. Our kids loved it! I could go on and on but basically this place is truly truly a great place and we can not say enough good things about it. Thank-you James and Sonja and everyone else at Sausage Tree Safari Camp! The Sylvester Family.

Room Tip: There are only 5 tents--all of them basically the same and all of them great--nice beds, nice bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
152
297
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at The Sausage Tree for four nights at the end of May and it was the most amazing experience. Having never been on safari before we didn't know what to expect but were definitely not disappointed! Amanda was very helpful with the booking and was prompt with her replies as we headed to the camp with little preparation regarding directions.....so thank you for that! James and Sonja's hospitality was just right which gives the camp a comfortable, personal feel. The food was excellent and was presented with great pride by Orlando the chef, by the camp fire each evening. Having also ventured into the main part of Kruger we loved the quietness of Balule and you feel so much closer to the animals when there's no-one else around and you've done some fun 'off-roading' to find them! James, Liam and Temba are clearly passionate about (and unbelievably gifted at spotting) the wildlife, and it's not just the big stuff......we were just as interested to learn about the birds, plants and insects as we were the big 5. Speaking of 5's......5.30 am starts are not our 'thing' but having done it once, the prospect of watching the sun rise over the stunning scenery whilst sat in the open-toppped Land Cruiser could probably get us out of bed most days! So if you're considering a safari and more importantly considering The Sausage Tree, Clare & Nick say 'go for it!'

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareandNick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I just have to say, that while visiting South Africa on a Working Holiday, I was expecting to only be able to do a short visit up to Krugar, rush about and stay uncomfortably in hotels and get my safari on.

Sausage Tree Safari Camp, was like visiting a family friend and staying at their place with a personalised tour of the wild african lands. The Hotel was so clean, dressed amazingly, but had a family feel to it.

Liam, our Tour guide (eye candy alert) was absolutely awesome! He got us to see all of the big 5, and i honestly did not expect that in the 3 nights we were staying here. James and Sonya were more then helpful with everything.

All our meals were prepared at the highest of standards but were hearty and I loved how the chefs introduced the meals and got to chat with the guests. The Fire Pit and a glass of red under the winter stars was just the most amazing experience.

This is a place I will be visiting again, and suggesting to all my friends.

Room Tip: The Furthest room (#1) is right on the edge of the Hotel Land, so you could really feel like you wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmymayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Sausage Tree Safari Camp. Our tent was a wonderful mix of authentic and luxurious! The whole place has a family feel...Jame's woke us up each morning at 5:30 am by hollaring "good morning!" from the path outside our tent. The game drives were amazing and life changing. James is an expert and easily shares his knowledge in both english and french. The food was yummy! Sonya was attentive and kind and warm. I would recommend Sausage Tree to anyone wanting a safari experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank editha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for a couple of days prior to a riding safari, recommended by our travel company "In the Saddle". It proved to be a wonderful start to our adventure. Everyone was so welcoming, the food was excellent and the tented accommodation was spacious and comfortable.
Our guide, Liam was brilliant and we had plenty of exciting sightings of elephant, lion and much more.
This is a little gem of a place not to be overlooked.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rv_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have been to Sausage Tree a couple of times now. Its a great place for a first safari .. or for a long weekend. The lodge is small, intimate, and a family affair. Liam is a fantastic and enthusiastic ranger. Balule is a great reserve, with lots of diversity and a good opportunity to see the big 5. The rooms are very nice, and the food is good. The only downside is the long time before the morning and the afternoon drive .. I tend to get a bit bored, but lots of people I sure appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Scubabunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our stay at Sausage Tree by far exceeded all my expectations. The tour guides (shoutout to Liam) are so knowlegeable and make the game drives so much fun. The staff showed such hospitality and really made us all feel welcome and created a very homely atmosphere. The food....AMAZING! 5 star quality. Thank you so much to everyone at Sausage Tree for the memories and for the amazing time you gave us. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to go on a safari! By far the best accomodation I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamWhereat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
#4 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Property: Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing