We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finest ever safari camp family experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finest ever safari camp family experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Although I now live in Vancouver, Canada, I grew up in South Africa and Namibia... and what I've missed most (apart from family and friends) has been the bush -- its animals and birds, the aroma of braaivleis and smoke from a crackling hardwood fire, the chorus of frogs and insects beneath a deep black-velvet night canopy with diamond-stars shining impossibly bright; the frenzied chatter of monkeys after a deep-throated lion's roar, and the Woop-whoop! of a zebra in the night .

Sausage Tree had all that -- and so much more.

I recently had the privilege of spending a few days there, including attending my son's wedding. What more can I say than 'incredible'? Sonja and her staff took care of everything, with warmth and friendliness and an ease born of meticulous planning and professionalism. The decor was beautiful, with excellent attention to detail, and the gourmet meal was beautifully presented.

My grateful thanks go to each member of the staff who not only exceeded my expectations in terms of service delivery, but also made us all truly feel like family.

If you want an incredible South African bush experience, be it a corporate getaway, a romantic rendezvous or a unique wedding, look no further than Sausage Tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    36
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
158
315
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I am the brother of the groom and I also had an incredible time at the wedding. My wife and I flew out from the USA and were extremely impressed by the level of comfort provided by Sausage Tree. The game drives were also some of the best ones I've ever done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flashygreenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been back to Sausage Tree again and Sonia and James continue to think of ways to make what seemed perfect even better.
The facilities are great, the tents beautifully appointed and the drives fantastic but to be honest what makes Sausage Tree so special is the ambience. You are treated as a treasured friend, the atmosphere amongst the staff and guests is warm, lighthearted, friendly and enthusiastic. It is a breath of fresh air compared to some others.
It is tremendously good value and my only concern is that if I keep writing reviews telling people how good it is, there will never be space left for me! They like to keep it small and personal and they deserve to do brilliantly.

Room Tip: I have had cell reception in both tents I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCarla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I recently had our wedding ceremony at Sausage Tree and we honestly could not have asked for a better location and better people to arrange it all. It completely exceeded all expectations, with Sonja and the rest of the staff completely outdoing themselves.

Liaising remotely, we were able to give Sonja a good idea of what we required. She took it from there and basically acted as our personal wedding coordinator, using her extensive contacts in the surrounding area to arrange the most beautiful flowers and decor, wedding cake, an amazing pastor, and professional hair, nails, makeup and massage services....all in the comfort of our beautifully appointed safari style tent!

The attention to detail was exquisite, the food was phenomenal, game viewing was superb, staff were all incredibly friendly and knowledgable and the views simply breathtaking!

Every single member of staff went above and beyond to ensure that it was the most amazing day of our lives and we would encourage anyone wanting a bush wedding to have it at Sausage Tree - you simply cannot get any better!

Thank you Sonja, James, Mandy, Richard, Liam, Themba, Orlando - It was absolutely SUPERB!

Love Kyle & Bianca

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farr1ngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, Mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I flew directed into Hoedspruit from Johannesberg & was promptly picked up by Sausage Tree staff. On the 40 minute drive to the lodge we had a mini-safari with giraffee, elephant, warthog, etc. Sausage Tree is in the middle of the bush and is fantastic! It has a rustic feel with all the amenities. The permanent tents are roomy and comfortable. The bathrooms are great and you can watch the wildlife as you shower and prepare from your day. The food was absolutely delicous. The staff is well-trained and friendly. Immediately you feel right at home. The splash pool is delightful for lounging about mid-day. The Guide/Tracker is marvelous and the safaris were amazing. We saw 8 lion cubs, a total of 13 lion as well as The Big 5. The game viewing never ended. The owners have many years of experience and are brilliant; they make you feel like part of the family. I highly recommend Sausage Tree for an excellent African adventure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We (4 friends)had the most spectacular time at sausage tree, thanks to the most amazing staff, the wild life and scenery! The camp exceeded all our expectations, the tented accommodation(seriously glamping in style!) the spectacular food, the best game drive I could ever imagine and what wonderful sites we saw- 3 of the big 5 not back for 2 days(plus all of the other lovely animals)! Richard,Mandy and the whole team could not have been more welcoming and friendly and informative. My only regret is not staying longer- we will be back. Thank you again guys!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissfelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

From: Fanie en Nicolien Stander <27824685411@vodamail.co.za>
Date: 28 December 2013 07:12

To: Sausage Tree Safari Camp <info@sausagetree.co.za>

Hi all of You

Thanks again for a wonderful experience. To see the Big Five plus other animals in one drive is truly exceptional.
Even better was the knowledge shared with us on the next drive which covered trees, birds, crocs, hippos, snakes and even dung beetles.

The service rendered by everyone including the cook and his helpers was truly exceeding expectations but the cherry on the cake was the hospitality we received from James, Liam, Sonja and Amanda. With a team like this I see a shiny future for your Safari Camp.

Kind regards

Fanie and Nicolien Stander

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
#4 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Property: Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing