We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Gracious hospitality, comfortable accommodations, magnificent food, pleasant and very helpful staff...not to mention the elephants and lions and zebras and giraffes and rhino and hippos and antelopes of many varieties and owls and eagles. The game drives were great. I'm having a tough time going through all my photos to pick my favorites. The camp was relaxing, attractive and quite comfortable. The hosts and staff were wonderful. The food was as good as or better than big city five star restaurants. I recommend Sausage Tree very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiCristofaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 722 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

very good price/service. completely renewed, good game, good food, baisically noting to complain about. tI canonly confirm that this is the cheapest offerto my kowlede in the area for this kind of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Speedy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were fresh off the 36 hour trip from Toronto when Sonia and James welcomed us into their abode. Couldn't have been any better for our first ever trip to Africa. It was like 4 days amongst friends except we didnt have to do any cooking! Loved the small size, the comfort, the food, the scenery and especially the animals. Only suggestion: please restrict smokers to a secluded area... perhaps outside the electric fence? (This is a problem in all of South Africa). We miss you all and cant wait to return.

Room Tip: All the "tents" are separate and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhojPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

At the end of a fantastic week's horse riding safari at Wait-a-Little in Karongwe Reserve, I needed somewhere to stay near Hoedspruit for 1 night before catching my flights back to the UK. STC was recommended by Wait-a-Little and what a great recommendation. Sat on my stoop re-adjusting, I felt like I was in the middle of the bush with no one else around and yet a short walk away and I was cooling off in a pool with a view - perfect. Delicious food, even for a non-meat eater like myself, clean, comfortable and very well fitted accommodation with every detail considered, friendly and with superb guiding by the young Liam Burroughs. Balule is a very well kept secret gem of a Reserve with such a variety and plethora of wildlife at every turn of the head and very few vehicles. Liam has obtuse facts about pretty much any bird, beast, bug or shrub that really make the game drives, filling in the gaps between excellent game sightings and is one of the most knowledgeable and passionate wildlife guides it has been my privilege to meet during numerous safaris across 6 African countries. All in all a perfect end to a wonderful week in my favourite continent, go if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Here we are home, safe and sound among the two legged creatures, ha ,I think sometimes we would have been safer in the wild. It has been only a day away from you and I miss you already, so you never know ,we might see you again or better still ,you might come our way.

I am no good with face book ,so I wanted to tell you what an AWESOME experience and time I had with you. Everything was perfect and your hospitality was the best of the best that I came across. I being a good cook . so they say, can voucher myself that we were looked after with great care and satisfaction. It all was amazing and so special, not only the taste of the lovely food , but it was done with so much passion and love.

Your Sausage Tree Camp was Amazing ,I felt Safe and content with everything you had to offer. I can say with all my heart that you both are amazing in organizing our trip to perfection and taking care off us all in our group and looking after our personal needs.

The safari was the best ever and you and your guides and trackers took us where we could have never gone and seen ,not only the big five of Africa, but the beautiful tiny unseen creatures that are there for our enjoyment. I have learned so much in such a short time. HMMMMM DO YOU THINK I WOULD MAKE A GOOD GUIDE ,or will the animals scatter and hide when they see me coming???? You never know, if I let down my long hair ,they might think I am a two legged Lioness the odd one out among their pack and I am sure they would chase me away or maybe eat me for dessert.

Thank you so much ,

Love Agnes Agili Artist. xx

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StephenPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hospitality provided by Sonia and James during our week could not have been better. Sonia and James made us feel so at home in such a far away place. The camp is extremely well run, the staff is excellent, and the facility is perfect. The food is unbelievably good. Orlando is an outstanding chef. The game drives were extremely well done. James as driver and Liam as spotter did a truly wonderful job. Our game drives could not have been better. We will always have fond memories of our great week.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My hubby and I spent several days at Sausage tree in mid October and the experience was truly world class! The tented accommodation lends an African Safari air to the stay but the accommodation is far from basic. Tents are on raised floors and contain a large, luxurious bathroom, great beds, lovely outside (but totally safe) shower and full electricity. James, as our driver for the game trips was faultless and funny, and had answers to every question that we asked him about not only the wildlife, but the flora and fauna. Food was decadent; cleanliness of the tents, flawless; the main lodge's décor was awesome! Thanks for an amazing experience, Sonja and James!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozwandererPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,896 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Naledi Game Lodges
Naledi Game Lodges
#3 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,102 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
769 reviews
22.3 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $477 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing