We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Safari Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A luxury tented safari in a small and very friendly camp. We visited to celebrate a significant birthday but we are already planning when and how to return.
We saw loads of animals as well as flowers and other plants with the knowledgeable ranger Mike and tenacious tracker Tembe. Wild runs in the jeep as well as quiet, exciting walking safaris.We saw all the big animals on our 5 night stay, but we really enjoyed seeing the smaller animals, watching giraffes gambling about, tracking rhino, watching warthogs, spotting jackals and guinea fowl. I even held a chameleon. I'm not the best with spiders or scorpions but pythons and caterpillars are just as wonderful and exotic.
Loved the stopping for Rooibos tea on morning drives and gin and tonic on the evening drives with snacks.
In the camp, the cooking is managed enthusiastically by Orlando and Richard was hosting which made for fun evenings in the boma and then the bar. The tent was spacious and clean and the shower was open to the outside so we could look at the local gnu. Air co and heating were both needed as the weather varied. We had one day of spectacular thunder and lightning.
There are only 4 tents so there are max 8 guests which means you get to know everyone.
All in all, I'd recommend Sausage Tree Camp to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 701 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Sausage Tree Safari Camp is the best lodge in Kruger Park!

Both Sonja & James made us feel at home the moment we arrived.

The place was magnificent. The services was outstanding.

The people were genuine and delightful. The food was remarkable.

The trackers were awesome.... and the price was worth every penny!

I can only say, we definitely will return again... and again... and again...

Thank you both for making our 11th safari in South Africa unforgettable!

Sincerely,
Ru & Tu

Room Tip: Tent no. 2 was opposite the waterhole where many 4-legged creatures come to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranciscoAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

our visit to Sausage tree was fantastic, Sonia and James were the perfect hosts warm, funny and made us feel like we were home. our tent was so cute outside shower a must nice comfy beds and the deck overlooking the bush. animals galore at the watering hole. nothing beats having breakfast with the zebras. the food was delicious and dinner at the boma was magical. James our ranger was very informative and patient as we got to witness some of the best game viewing I've ever seen. big shout out to you guys, hope we will be able to return someday

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank free2bbeachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently took advantage of the 4 nights for the price of 3 at Sausage Tree and didn't want to leave when the time came. After reading all the reviews it seemed like it was almost too good to be true, but when we arrived it was clear to see it was all true! The lodge and accommodation was wonderful, the food amazing at every meal and 2 game drives every day which went above and beyond. The expert rangers and trackers made the drives fun and interesting and we had some incredible experiences being so close to the animals that you wouldn't get on larger tours in the Kruger. Sonja, James and all the staff were so welcoming and willing to make your stay extra special. They even helped my boyfriend set up a wonderful romantic setting by the river so we could get engaged! This was very special and we will be forever grateful for their help and kindness. Thanks again!
Sausage Tree is a truly magical place and your stay is made extra special from the minute you arrive until you sadly have to leave. We cannot wait to go back and do it all over again. If you are looking for an amazing place to stay and safari then look no further!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I had the best time EVER at Sausage Tree!! Management and staff are wonderful people that ensures that your visit will be unforgettable! The food is absolutely delicious and the tents you sleep in just georgious. The personal attention you get on game drives are priceless!! Beautiful animals, beautiful resort, beautiful people!! Will definitely return with our whole family next time and book out the whole place!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Leoma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our visit was less than 3 days but in that time I relaxed more than I have in a long time. The tents are simple but clean, and the view from our deck was serene. The service was superb, rangers knowledgable and food simple but delicious. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Where to start...from the moment you land at the airport you are on safari and in a world thousands of miles away. Richard greeted us at the front steps with nice cool glasses of juice and introduced us to the beautiful balcony we'd come to love. With only a few guests (8 max) you get a personalized experience and you really feel like you're part of that life, not just a guest. At every safari camp you're going to see the game; here you're gong to become part of the bush life.

Every morning began with "did you hear the lions last night?!" Accompanied by delicious homemade biscotti. The game drives with Mike and Timba are amazing! Mike is a dictionary of all of the animals, their tracks, habits, and environment, and Timba can spot a green chameleons on green branches in a huge bush...in the dark! If its there, these guys will show it to you!

As if the other guys weren't enough - the chef makes delicious food! Orlando can perfectly poach an egg, he makes delicious samosas, and his deserts are worth the trip to Africa!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenmsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,834 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,090 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $403 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing