We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's hard to think how our stay at Sausage Tree could have been improved .. Food and service were excellent. Our rangers had a wealth of knowledge and made bush drives fascinating. A friendly environment I can very much recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ladyfordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Sausage Tree Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 662 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My best friend and I wanted to go on safari without paying the exorbitant fees charged by many of the other lodges or private game reserves. Safari Tree was perfect for us - we took advantage of the '4 nights for 3' deal on TripAdvisor and it was such great value for what we paid! Sonia and James were warm and welcoming, and by the time we left it felt as if we were saying goodbye to family. Everyone on staff, from the cooks to safari guides, is so friendly and genuinely wants you to have a wonderful safari experience. While we missed the elusive leopard and were unable to track down an elephant, we saw black rhino every day - which is incredibly rare - and saw lions twice, once at night and once in the late morning. Lots of buffalo too. The group also went for a couple of bush walks which were a nice way to mix things up. We got so close to the animals and both James and Mike were so knowledgeable about the flora and fauna surrounding us. As we were there in summer (December) there was also a lot of bird watching and I was impressed with how easily they could spot and name the various species.

Highlights of the stay include comfortable and well-appointed rooms ("safari tents"), complete with great smelling bath products; really delicious and comprehensive brunch; personable, friendly staff; and plenty of time on game drives with guides doing their best to find the "big 5." This place is really a gem and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdventureTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Dear Sonja
Dear Mike and James
Just a few worlds to thank you for our great stay at the sausage tree.
We had a wonderful time, everything was PERFECT!!!
For the first time ever the twins even cried when we left …. And wanted to come back to you instead of continuing our trip…..
All the rest of the trip they had their ‘sausage tree hat’ on their head J)
They also really enjoyed your hospitality, the great food, the animals (I suspect you didn’t show us the elephant to be sure that we will come back ;-))

We had the impression to stay with some good old friends and this is really what made the difference for us….
Now it’s back to reality, cold, rain and tones of e-mails …..

Thanks again and hope to see you soon again!

Edgard & Co

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've just spent 4 nights at Sausage Tree Safari Camp and this visit turned out to be one of our most memorable times ever.
The drives, the food, the tents are all of an exeptionally high standard, but what makes Sausage Tree such a special place is the passion, dedication and generosity of its people.
A visit to Sausage Tree is Food for the Soul and should feature on everyone's "Bucket List".
A big thank you to Sonja, James and their team; we'll be back!
Wim, Karen, Samantha and Brendon Schimmel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just got back from a night at Sausage Tree. We found the staff gracious, helpful and unobtrusive. We were hosted by Sonja and James who made the experience really memorable, James by his passion for the environment on the game drive, and Sonja by her kindness and bubbly personality. I will recommend this place to anyone who will listen!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been there for four nights in January 2013 and we had the best ever game safari with Mike and Temba. Temba is 20 years old and he can see a green butterfly on a green tree in the middle of the night. So if there is lion around he will find it an impressive precision. The lodge is just excellent the food is worth a two star restaurant and the owners Sonia and James are will treat their guests as family members. It is a small lodge nit more than people at a time so it is not industrial so they seat with you and talk etc. not to be missed and worth the price and more...

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Radik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed four nights at Sausage Tree Safari Camp in early December 2012, and had a marvellous time. Without being redundant about all the positive feedback here, we can highly recommend this place to anybody looking for a true Safari experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,753 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: $428 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing